We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique experience & bang for your buck!”
Review of Hotel les Cigales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel les Cigales
Ranked #47 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Hotel les Cigales is a perfect hotel for any traveler who likes to spend most of their time seeing the sights but also have a safe & clean home base to come back to.

Pros:
very clean, especially the bathrooms as they look like they have been recently retiled, clean grout, etc...
quiet - this part of town is much quieter than the tight streets in old town or even some of the busier areas in the city
location - the location is really great... as others have noted, its 5 minutes from the row of all the public and private beaches in Nice, 5-10 minute walking to any bus or train transportation (if you wanted to take a day trip outside the city), and a 10 minute walk to just about any great restaurant or shopping in the city. There is also a very clean grocery store right across the street and several small cafes close by where you can get your morning croissant and cafe o'le.
staff - the staff was incredibly helpful and the woman who worked during the day has great English. She booked a rental car for us through a car service that was 30-40 Euros / day cheaper than the bigger companies
accommodations - there is a lovely (and sort of hidden) outdoor patio at the hotel where you can go have a coffee, do some morning yoga, or have a sunset bottle of wine. We loved using this space

Cons:
space - this is not the hotel for you if you want to hang out in your room all day. The space is quite small and the beds are quite average, but it does the trick if you plan to explore during most of your stay

Room Tip: As for a room on a high up floor, not on street side. The court yard is very quiet so if you could f...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carlycreighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for Hotel les Cigales
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our first hotel on our first trip to France. Selected by using Trip Advisor. The staff ( especially Elaine!) was courteous and met our every request including an adaptor for electricity and a corkscrew so we could have a bottle of rosé on their small but relaxing terrace. Easy walking distance to most places we wanted to visit. Breakfast at 11€ was not a good value.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our well appointed room had everything a traveller could want. The staff were extremely welcoming and the breakfast set us up for the day. We specifically liked the roof sun terrace, where after a manic day of site seeing, we could unwind with a bottle of chchampagne.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Room was basic but sufficient, it's on the small side but clean. Hotel close to rue Massena and promenade des anglais, just a short walk away so you have no lack of food choices. A little further from old town. Quite a walk there but nonetheless copeable. room was not completely soundproof, some slight noises could be heard but not loud enough to disturb us greatly.

We spent 4 nights here and actually enjoyed good service. The man on the afternoon shift (11am to 7pm) was very helpful. We asked him for help regarding our parking fine and he helped us through it and actually post the fine for us as well. The lady we encountered during the morning shift and another man during the night were also friendly and helpful.

All in all, would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devil-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We arrived in NIce early in the morning and after taking the bus from the airport along the 'prom' we found the hotel easily, however we were so very early for checking in. I went in and the first thing that I noticed was that the lobby/reception area was clean light and so cool in comparison with outside. The lady on reception could not have been more accommodating of taking our luggage, checking us in, or my very rusty french!!!! She was lovely, really was, as she rightly assessed we didn't have a clue as to where we were in relation to centre/sights etc, promptly got out a map and began to show us where to go what was there etc etc etc. The room when we came back from looking around Nice was clean and the hotel had accommodated our needs perfectly. Everywhere was clean, and although not the largest of rooms after a third bed had been put in for us was adequate in size for what we needed it for..........Sleeping and changing! The lady on reception showed us up to the roof terrace which was an absolute sun trap a pool up there would have been just bliss!!! The bathroom was clean and functional, lots of hot water, good shower and small bath of which I wondered its relevance initially but had both shower and bath every day!!! There was a mini bar/fridge in the room that was stocked with all the necessary bits and bobs if needed. Only one slight thing let this hotel down, the air-con in the room was really quite poor........For me the lizard, I was fine, however sharing with 2 others it did get stuffy and even with windows and curtains closed fan on setting 3 it still did not cool the room down to the level it should have been. Do not let the air-con/fan thing turn you off of this hotel its positives far outweigh the 1 negative I could find.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Have just got back from a 2 night stay in Nice and stayed at Les Cigales due to reading some good reviews. We were not disappointed we arrived at the hotel 1 hour before check in time and the lady on reception could not be more helpful,she pre checked us in and took our bags so we could walk round without the baggage. We arrived back some 3 hours later and were shown to our room which was spotless and very comfortable. The hotel is ideally placed on a quiet street not 5 minutes from the promenade or the busy centre which had all the restaurants and bars. For the price paid and the purpose of our trip I cannot praise this hotel and the staff enough and would reccomend it to anyone. Thanks to all at Hotel Les Cigales for making our trip extremely comfortable,this was our first trip to Nice an we will be back

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

It's very well located. 5m walking both to the beach and the touristic streets and 10-15m to the train station and old city

Room and bathroom size are ok, but the bed and furniture are too basic,old and and cheap.
For some reason they say the rooms are sound proofed which is not true. You hear the other rooms loud and clear from morning to night including their bathroom. The doors are really old and noisy to open and lock

As an anecdote, they also lie with the TV, it's not 52 and don't have Satellite reception with English channels. Not sure why they don't just omit this in the web

Overall, the feeling is of a cheap outdated vacation hotel in the beach, which at this cost is not what you would expect. There are better options in Nice at this price level

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FGE04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
445 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#56 of 204 in Nice
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#78 of 204 in Nice
105 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#11 of 204 in Nice
835 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Cigales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Cigales

Address: 16 rue Dalpozzo | 16 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Nice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £89 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Cigales 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a recently renovated white façade, the privately-owned hotel is located in the esteemed neighbourhood of the "Carré d'Or". It welcomes you year-round in the heart of the city, just a few blocks away from the famous "Promenade des Anglais" with its pebble beaches, and from the pedestrian streets with their many shops and restaurants. The hotel is also within walking distance of the Place Masséna and its tram stop, the old town, and the city's main train station. Hotel les Cigales offers a welcoming and relaxing environment with 19 spacious and comfortable rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, an individual safe and free Wifi access. A private terrace is also available, where customers can relax and peacefully enjoy the sunny weather of the Côte d'Azur. You will appreciate the availability of the hotel's staff, as well as the discretion and serenity of this family hotel. It would be our pleasure to help guide you in working out the details of your stay and suggest the best places to visit in the city. Whether you are in Nice for business or pleasure, you will love how quiet the hotel is and will appreciate its rooms with courtyard room and rooftop views. And feel free to use the terrace to relax between two escapades in the capital of the French Riviera. With many of the city's most valued assets nearby, Hotel les Cigales is also ideally located if you wish to visit neighbouring towns such as Cannes, Monaco or Menton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel les Cigales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cigales Hotel
Les Cigales Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing