We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable time, but ...”
Review of Hotel les Cigales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel les Cigales
Ranked #50 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Enjoyable time, but ...”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Second time around staying at this small, family run hotel. In a great location, with pleasant staff and spotlessly clean. The room was a decent size and the bed was comfortable, with a fully functional bathroom. No view unfortunately but that's a minor point. Free WiFi was patchy, although the staff did their best to fix the problem. Breakfast was decent and good value. Loved the location, close to the Prom as well as the old town and transport links. The only downside, and unfortunately it was quite a major one, was that the rooms are advertised as "soundproofed" which, in our case, was simply not the case. Every little noise travelled, especially from the bathroom. Whilst our fellow guests were not rowdy or noisy, there was a lot of disturbance as people went about their normal business. It's disconcerting to say the least to bear witness to every action taking place in surrounding rooms, if you get my drift!
Would love to return to this hotel, but only if the noise issue was resolved.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Coz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    203
    57
    9
    3
See reviews for
91
231
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Such a nice find only a couple of streets back from the Promenade des anglais in Nice. We arrived quite late in the evening from London, found our way easily with the excellent instructions sent by the hotel staff, and were shown to our small but very tidy and well-equipped rooms. The bathroom [with an interesting version of a hair dryer!] was spotless, and had all the toiletries necessary. Desk staff were very helpful, and welcoming. The train station was only a short walk away, which was a bonus for the trip into Monaco the next day. We will be back - should we need to come this way again!

Room Tip: We were both in centre rooms opposite the lift - though no life noise to bother us. The front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

As the title says, easy to find, great location with easy walk to promenade or train station and all places in between!

There is a good bakery just down the street on the corner for a nice coffee and pastry if one wants an alternative to the breakfast. Which leads to only slight negative point I have. Breakfast is quite basic.

Would stay here if back to Nice in future!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent 5 nights at Hotel les cigales over the Easter break.
We had a room on the top floor (room 18) which was very quiet but did have restricted head room in some parts - although not a problem to me at 5'1!
The hotel was exceptionally clean and staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was typical continental and ample.
Was well located and easy to find, within walking distance of the old town, train station, market and just off of the Promenade des Anglais. Good reasonably priced restaurants at the end of the street.
Would stay here again if I return to Nice.
Would recommend anyone staying in Nice to make the trip to Biot and visit the Les Verrerie de Biot and watch the glass being made, a real treat.

Room Tip: Top floor room 18 did have limited head room in some parts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife, 12 year old son and I just got back after a great trip to Nice.
Les Cigales, was a great find for us. We got in from the Nice Airport on Bus No 98 (6 Euros) which stops at Rue Congres on Promenade des Anglais. Its just a 10 min walk from here.
We had a nice (room 14) big ,clean room and bathroom which was cleaned every afternoon. It was quite and comfortable.
The English speaking staff were very helpful indeed.
There is a nice store opposite the hotel, which was very convenient since our hotel package did not include breakfast.
Very centrally located, just 10 min from the train station, 5 minutes away from Massena Square ,
and 15 min from the Old Town.Can get a better location.

Room Tip: We stayed in 14 , nice big room ,big modern bathroom (10 steps to get up to the room, not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Agree with all good reviews for this conveniently located hotel, close to the promenade, Maccena and public transportation. Very friendly staff. Our room (#5) on the first floor was very quiet, regular size/ceiling. Had a mini-bar, full of soft drinks and stuff, so not much room to add your own food. No coffee maker though. The bakery at the corner has an excellent selection of typical french goodies, and coffee. Utiles across the street has not-expensive dairy and fruits. Excellent Japanese restaurant (Ma yucca) around the corner as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane_st1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We are just back from a break of three nights in Nice. We had a three night reservation in this hotel that ended being just one. This is the first time I check out early from a hotel, and I would never expect it from one so well-valued in tripadvisor and booking, but I did, and though it is sad to write it, it was the right decision.

Let me start by saying that the staff were all really nice. We were greeted by a receptionist that gave us a map and told us what to see in Nice, she was polite, helpful and really nice.
Then we went to our room. It was in the first floor and it was small and nor very pretty.
However small, practical rooms are fine. The wifi worked, the bathroom was not very pretty but was well-equipped and we were happy.

When we came back later in the afternoon, we noticed that we could hear very well, too well, the conversation of our neighbours. It was not just that they were loud (and they were), we could actually hear their activities in the bathroom with a clarity that was a bit unsettling.
We were still happy. We went for dinner and then we came back.

Around 11, our neighbours went out after a very loud time in their room getting ready, with much laughter and overall noises, like banging doors and the like.
This weekend was uncommonly cold in Nice, and the bed was not very very confortable. I had some problems falling asleep. My problems were over when the neighbours came back. It was 4:15/4:30 in the morning and they were drunk and ready to continue the party. And so they did, until approximately 6:30!

The laughter, the noises, were ok; the sound of the vomiting though, clear as the day, was too much. I came down to the reception. The receptionist of the night was again, extremely nice, he was aware of the drunken guys. I asked for other possible rooms, but there were no other rooms free in the hotel. I came back to the room.

I could hear somebody complaining with the neighbours outside a couple of times, they continued laughing and shouting. At the second round of vomiting I booked another hotel. Then I came down, and checked out. I was not charged for the nights we did not use. Which is really very nice.

The receptionist was again extremely nice, he told me he had tried several times to make them shut up, he told me they usually do not have these guests, and I believe him. I had booked this hotel because we needed some rest and the opinions were in that line, something impossible if this kind of party is usually going on. However when they get this kind of guests, the lack of isolation makes it a hell.

And then, the new hotel was completely soundproof, with a much better bed, better pillows, with a much better bathroom, with a much nicer everything, and it was only 20 euros more expensive (in total) and with a similar rank in the reviews... So, the staff of this hotel is super nice and helpful, but you can actually get a much better experience for ~ the same price.

In summary:
The good: the people, the location, the wifi, the amenities.
The bad: the sound, the doors -that do not close/open super well-, the carpeted floor
The alternative: you can get a step up in quality (and in aesthetics) in Nice for roughly the same price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ec_grs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#18 of 205 in Nice
776 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 205 in Nice
407 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#39 of 205 in Nice
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Cigales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Cigales

Property: Hotel les Cigales
Address: 16 rue Dalpozzo | 16 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Nice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Cigales 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a recently renovated white façade, the privately-owned hotel is located in the esteemed neighbourhood of the "Carré d'Or". It welcomes you year-round in the heart of the city, just a few blocks away from the famous "Promenade des Anglais" with its pebble beaches, and from the pedestrian streets with their many shops and restaurants. The hotel is also within walking distance of the Place Masséna and its tram stop, the old town, and the city's main train station. Hotel les Cigales offers a welcoming and relaxing environment with 19 spacious and comfortable rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, an individual safe and free Wifi access. A private terrace is also available, where customers can relax and peacefully enjoy the sunny weather of the Côte d'Azur. You will appreciate the availability of the hotel's staff, as well as the discretion and serenity of this family hotel. It would be our pleasure to help guide you in working out the details of your stay and suggest the best places to visit in the city. Whether you are in Nice for business or pleasure, you will love how quiet the hotel is and will appreciate its rooms with courtyard room and rooftop views. And feel free to use the terrace to relax between two escapades in the capital of the French Riviera. With many of the city's most valued assets nearby, Hotel les Cigales is also ideally located if you wish to visit neighbouring towns such as Cannes, Monaco or Menton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel les Cigales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cigales Hotel
Les Cigales Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing