We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location”
Review of Hotel Acanthe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Acanthe
Ranked #154 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value, great location”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in July 2013. Best location in centre of Nice. Good value for money. Room was simple, but clean. I think this is a great place to stay if you are looking for a budget hotel. I would recommend it any time. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    76
    74
    35
    30
See reviews for
29
99
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here a while ago when it was rated a 1 star hotel on the booking site.

Glad to see it's been upgraded to a 2 star in that time - definitely more reflective of the experience, and that's not a criticism.

Hotel is basic, adequate, could do with a little modernisation in decor. Walls were thin so a little noisier than we'd expected. Breakfast was included, again basic: croissants and black coffee.

It was clean, staff were friendly, reasonable location (10 - 15 minute walk from the main shops and restaurants).

Would recommend this for short stays and those on very right budgets. All aspects were sufficient, no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JutteVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed here with some friends while studying abroad. We were only here for one night, and just needed the room to shower and sleep. The location is very convenient. It does get hot and noisy at night, but given that we were waking up early anyhow for our flight, nobody really minded. I'd stay here again and would recommend it to others looking for an inexpensive but convenient place to stay in Nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Went to Nice with my girlfriend back in July, and we loved it. Great price and we only really needed the room for sleeping. Excellent location so close to transport and right near the beach was perfect. The staff were friendly and helpful and was great atmosphere. I would 100% recommend this to anyone on a get away not bothered about the luxury rooms. Saying this it comes with a decent bed, good shower and depending on your room an ok size unless you start running around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank price225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Hotel have a very friendly atmosphere, the staff is very helpful. Its very near to all, but therefor its coud be noise at night. I stayed in rotonde-room i 4 days. It was nice, but curtains should be washed and colors not mach.. Its enough plads and very nice bathrum. But WC board was broken.
It was construction in front of hotel, so it will be good view( I beliv).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lashe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The only plus of this hotel is location. It is located right on Kassebaum square within walking distance to the beach, shops and railway station. But the quality of the hotel is very average. For sure if you always stayed at hostels, you may find this hotel good. But the room was too small. If you would place your suitcase on the floor, you will not have enough place to move. The bed was ok, but still something was wrong with it. The shower was really to small. There was not enough space to move in the shower. And the water as on the floor. The breakfast was 10 euro and it was just a jam will roll. If to compare you can go out of hotel and have great breakfast with eggs for 10-12 euro. And the last but not the least. The hotel is a bit dirty. Well, it looks like being clean, but you understand that it needs serious renovation. For 100 euro per night you would definitely find better place to stay at nice.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Everything you need in Nice is within walking distance of this lovely hotel. The beach, the old town, the train station. We were even lucky enough to have a Jazz festival minutes away from us during our stay. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean and cosy, if not a little on the small and hot side, but there are fans and a lovely little balcony. We will definitely return and i would highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#76 of 205 in Nice
181 reviews
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#97 of 205 in Nice
241 reviews
Centre
Hotel H33
Hotel H33
#158 of 205 in Nice
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#72 of 205 in Nice
131 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#147 of 205 in Nice
348 reviews
Centre
Hotel Amaryllis
Hotel Amaryllis
#109 of 205 in Nice
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acanthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acanthe

Property: Hotel Acanthe
Address: 2 rue Chauvain, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acanthe 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Acanthe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanthe Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing