We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great help from from friendly and helpful staff.”
Review of Hotel Acanthe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Acanthe
Ranked #146 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Acanthe has been newly done up and is now an even more pleasant place to visit. Our 7th time there, so we like it !!

We had a rather odd problem there, neither ours nor the hotels, but the staff really helped us to get home and to rectify a rather tricky situation. French computer keyboards are rather different to UK, made it more tricky !

Thanks again to the staff, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neville W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Perfect location, close to tram, shopping, restaurants, old town and Promenade des Anglais and other points of interest. Helpful people at the desk. The room is barely adequate in size but would never accommodate anyone who is large. I am slender and barely able to use shower/toilet. Anyone large could not fit. The room was clean and adequate. The mattress was well worn with big sag in the middle. There is no AC and our room was on alley so opening the window meant listening to garbage collections and traffic noises all night long. A fan was provided but all that does is circulate hot air. Even though it was just coincidence that we were there during Grand Prix, we were charged prime rates for that. We did not use their breakfast service as many restaurants near by. Internet service was very spotty and not reliable. We took a taxi from airport which cost 17 Euros, although we were told that was high. Took the tram/metro to train station. Very inexpensive-maybe 1.50 euros. Convenient for day trips to Monaco or Cannes by train or point in between..

Room Tip: It appeared all rooms are on the street or alley so guessing they are all noisy if you have to open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZUSAScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hptel is near the NEW park and the main shoppingstreet. About 15 minutes walk from the trainstation. 10 minutes walk to the Theater. Basic room and a small elevator. For this price you cant have luxery. Rooms are complete with shower and toilet, no aico.

Room Tip: As high as possible far away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erikdefotograaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is near the old town, very near the airport, buses, near everything. The hotel has not got any luxery, but it is clean and for a good price. The staff is friendly and helpfull, even helping to find a good restaurant.

Room Tip: Very central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cornelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

+ Ideal location
+ Nice staff
+ Basc small rooms
+ Price

- No air-condition, room was hot
- only one croisant, one toast and coffee for a breakfast
- Very noisy!
- Had to change our room during the stay because they gave us wrong room

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juusofin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed there twice in 2013 - June and December.
The location is as good as can be. Close to everywhere, specially if you are a heavy shopper and need to take your bags to hotel, when enjoying the shopping street.
The breakfast is always the same, so if you are staying for more then 4 days, it would become boring.
In June the room was nice and cool. Not much space, but everything needed was there.
Guess next time will also stay there.

Room Tip: If possible then to the east side of the building - less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in July 2013. Best location in centre of Nice. Good value for money. Room was simple, but clean. I think this is a great place to stay if you are looking for a budget hotel. I would recommend it any time. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#113 of 203 in Nice
247 reviews
Hotel Parisien
#93 of 203 in Nice
138 reviews
Hotel Belle Meuniere
#139 of 203 in Nice
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Azur
#174 of 203 in Nice
30 reviews
Centre
Hotel H33
Hotel H33
#156 of 203 in Nice
198 reviews
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#68 of 203 in Nice
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acanthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acanthe

Address: 2 rue Chauvain, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £37 - £572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acanthe 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Acanthe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanthe Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing