We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March 2014”
Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Antares
Ranked #89 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“March 2014”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great position around 200 metres from Gare Nice Ville, great showers and beds, good security, friendly staff and most of all fantastic atmosphere, had a ball for 4 days, wil be back. The wifi is not great but ok, on Friday evening they supply snacks and drinks, kitchen is effective but not flash

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trisail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    83
    40
    15
    19
See reviews for
8
31
66
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avignon, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The staff in this hostel/hotel were so friendly, welcoming and helpful. We were in a large group, they were very accommodating, they even reimbursed us when two of girls had to leave unexpected due to illness.

Free degustation of wine, olives and nuts in the evening was such a bonus!

Great hostel, lovely staff and well worth the money. Good location too, a little far from Vieux Nice but the walk there is so lovely anyway that there is nothing to complain about!

Room Tip: The bigger rooms have a fridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed in this hostel for two weeks over the summer. On my first night, I made a huge amount of new friends because in the downstairs common areas (complete with a row of pubic computers, full-use kitchen, tables, chairs, couches and an outdoor patio) are basically used as party rooms. Any given night over the summer I could walk downstairs and be surrounded by many young backpackers exploring Europe. That's where I should say this place is not really for older folk; it is great for twenty-somethings.

There is free wifi throughout the hostel and if you don't leave anything on your bed, they'll change the sheets for you and leave you a fresh towel. They have pasta nights every few days where for 2 or 3 euros you can have a huge serving of delicious pasta and champagne. They also have champagne nights where free champagne is served and they play music.

The hostel is a few minutes' walk from the train station and a block away from the tram line, although I usually walked to the old town and beaches (20-25 minutes). I never had any problems walking around the area by myself any time of day. When I booked, I accidentally set the date a day short, so I was booted out of my room because management thought I had checked out. When I explained that I needed an extra night, they gave me a bed in a nicer room for the same price.

I had a great experience at Hotel Antares. Thank you for a wonderful 2 weeks!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eugeniaz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rognes, France
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel staff here are extremely kind and helpful and extend far beyond their duties in terms of creating a positive environment. We received all kinds of lovely extras here that we had not at all expected. The rooms were clean and simple with well sized and clean bathrooms. This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14Mazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

It was a bless to stay here. The room was good, everything was neat and clean, the wifi was very fast. I found it nice that it was both a hostel and a hotel at the same time, because the rooms were like in any other hotel, but it had the hostel athmosphere, which i personally love. The staff went above our expectations, giving us advice of what theres to see and do in Nice and the surrounding villages among other things. With having the knowledge of everything that was around Nice, it was very nice having the hotel of the opposite side of the main train station in Nice.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was good, not to close to the common areas, and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked in a 8 bed dorm for 3 nights, and when we arrived they gave us a private room for the same price. The room was big, quiet and had TV and private bathroom. The common areas are great : the kitchen is big and really clean, the computer room is really useful, and the courtyard is nice. The staff was really nice with us : they gave us coffee for free every morning of our stay and were really helpful to give us informations about the city. I really recommend this hostel to everyone !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pietra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Such a great Hostel! Almost looks like a hotel and the rooms were very clean with comfortable beds offering good sleep. The price is great for all the accomodations. The owner of the hostel held FREE apperetif almost every other night with free chips and snacks along with wine and other mixed drinks going out of his way to ensure all guests enjoyed their stay! On the other nights there was a huge Spaghetti Party offered for a low price of several euros that included all you could eat pasta dish with wine. A very great ad fun way to meet many people from all over! The location is perfect close to everything you want to be next too and not far from the beach. The train station is across the street making access to other locations very easy. The workers at this hostel were extremely helpful and nice and a lot of help giving information. Overall this hostel was perfect and I would highly recommend it while staying in Nice!!! I loved the outdoor area/patio where you could have your breakfast outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zomuchlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Belle Meuniere
#132 of 204 in Nice
135 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#96 of 204 in Nice
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Comte de Nice
#139 of 204 in Nice
744 reviews
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#92 of 204 in Nice
569 reviews
Star Hotel
#71 of 204 in Nice
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Property: Hotel Antares
Address: 5 avenue Thiers, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Antares 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing