We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good pasta”
Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Antares
Ranked #87 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great location, good pasta”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Being located within 150m of the train station was a major plus for me. 20min walk to the beach could be cut short by the tram for €1,50 per ride or a day pass for €5.

Rooms were quite serviceable. Mine had large cages under the beds for secure storage, with locks available from the front desk for a deposit. Bathroom was a little grungy, but not too bad.

They offer spaghetti nights often (every other night?) for 3 euro, great value and a great way to meet fellow travelers.

One problem: when I was assigned a room upon checking in, I wasn't assigned a bed. I just took one. But everyone else seemed to have a bed number assigned. Overall, the staff doesn't really seem to care that much. There are posted signs all over the lobby telling us that we should leave our keys at reception while we're out of the hostel. However, nobody ever actually asked me to do so, and the one time I did it anyway, on return they just gave me the room key without any verification of who I was or what room I was in. So, lock up your stuff in those great cages, because security at the desk is quite lax.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    83
    40
    15
    19
See reviews for
8
31
66
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great location, service, rooms and facilities. Evening events were nice and a good way to meet other young travellers around the world. Only minus is that the kitchen was really crowded at the evenings and there were pretty many kitchen supplies unavailable (such as food processor, olive oil, oven, whisk and sieve). All in all a great place to stay and would stay again. Recommend especially to young people!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vilma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spend 6 nights at this hotel which was quite enough I would say.

The staff is very friendly and they know all about Nice and activities.

The room for two people was big and with air conditioning wich was a plus for us. Also, it was very quiet from the outside... The inside well... you're in a hostel so there is a lot of students and young people partying.

The worst part of this hotel is that when we checked in I was wondering why there were so many people sitting in the stairs near the lobby. The answer was there is no wifi in the room. I was surprise by the receptionnist response when I complained about no WIFI in the room:

''Well me, I can see it is working properly from here -.-

Our room was very dirty, there was HAIR, hair and hair everywhere!!! In the bed, on the floor, in the toilet, that was the most disgusting part.

Good luck if you stay there. I,m sure there is better place around for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PositiveTravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Hostel is very clean and organised . Service is very kind, nice and helpful .location is great! Train station just 2 min walk. I will be definitely back there with my friends if I will be back to France again !:)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angggellla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I really have good time in this hostel. Great people and good staff. The hostel is very central to all places. Not far from Old town and beach. Hostel is for the people who love to party alot. The common area is big and nice. I really recommend the hostel for young party people :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

A good hostel with friendly staff, good facilities and clean. A bit of a walk to the beach but it's through the main shopping centre and the tram is right there anyway. Would stay again and recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geneva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Fun spaghetti parties were hosted in the evenings for a cheap price. I enjoyed meeting loads of people! I think, compared to other hostels I've been to, it was too big and therefore a bit clicky, but all in all it was easy to make friends. The cleaning staff were quick, efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Belle Meuniere
#131 of 204 in Nice
133 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#95 of 204 in Nice
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Comte de Nice
#133 of 204 in Nice
735 reviews
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#91 of 204 in Nice
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Property: Hotel Antares
Address: 5 avenue Thiers, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Antares 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing