We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Antares
Ranked #91 of 204 Hotels in Nice
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in a double room, rather than the dormitory. It was clean, spacious, everything worked and it had a goodish view. The staff were friendly, and there was a meal organised for everyone who wanted to be sociable. We found it a relief to stay somewhere with a kitchen and courtyard to eat in at our leisure, rather than having to find a restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h123452014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    79
    38
    15
    19
See reviews for
8
31
62
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hostel was clean and small, so everyone hung out in the common area which was fun and great to meet a group of people for going out in the evenings. The location was ideal as it was right next to the train station, so trips to Monaco and Cannes are easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Really basic but ok to stay if you aren't after any luxury. Does the job and staff are friendly enough. Location is pretty good but would mostly recommend this place to young backpackers. .................................................,...............,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,.,;:,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,.......................

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denisel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with 3 friends, had to share a double bed which we didn't want to do,
Helpful staff and good location opposite the station however the room was quite dirty and bathroom didn't have a lock. The wifi was terrible might as well have not had any. The lounge area downstairs was good to watch TV and socialise

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesRed29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Being located within 150m of the train station was a major plus for me. 20min walk to the beach could be cut short by the tram for €1,50 per ride or a day pass for €5.

Rooms were quite serviceable. Mine had large cages under the beds for secure storage, with locks available from the front desk for a deposit. Bathroom was a little grungy, but not too bad.

They offer spaghetti nights often (every other night?) for 3 euro, great value and a great way to meet fellow travelers.

One problem: when I was assigned a room upon checking in, I wasn't assigned a bed. I just took one. But everyone else seemed to have a bed number assigned. Overall, the staff doesn't really seem to care that much. There are posted signs all over the lobby telling us that we should leave our keys at reception while we're out of the hostel. However, nobody ever actually asked me to do so, and the one time I did it anyway, on return they just gave me the room key without any verification of who I was or what room I was in. So, lock up your stuff in those great cages, because security at the desk is quite lax.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great location, service, rooms and facilities. Evening events were nice and a good way to meet other young travellers around the world. Only minus is that the kitchen was really crowded at the evenings and there were pretty many kitchen supplies unavailable (such as food processor, olive oil, oven, whisk and sieve). All in all a great place to stay and would stay again. Recommend especially to young people!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vilma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spend 6 nights at this hotel which was quite enough I would say.

The staff is very friendly and they know all about Nice and activities.

The room for two people was big and with air conditioning wich was a plus for us. Also, it was very quiet from the outside... The inside well... you're in a hostel so there is a lot of students and young people partying.

The worst part of this hotel is that when we checked in I was wondering why there were so many people sitting in the stairs near the lobby. The answer was there is no wifi in the room. I was surprise by the receptionnist response when I complained about no WIFI in the room:

''Well me, I can see it is working properly from here -.-

Our room was very dirty, there was HAIR, hair and hair everywhere!!! In the bed, on the floor, in the toilet, that was the most disgusting part.

Good luck if you stay there. I,m sure there is better place around for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PositiveTravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#98 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#83 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#150 of 204 in Nice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Property: Hotel Antares
Address: 5 avenue Thiers, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Antares 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing