We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hostel for backpackers!”
Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Antares
Ranked #92 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Nice was our first stop of the eurotrip and we couldn't expect a better beginning! The receptionist you meet in the hall is extremely kind and nice, ready to help you for whatever you need. We were very lucky cause it was given us a triple instead of a room to share with other people. Another interesting thing is that every night the hostel organizes something for dinner (we experienced the spaghetti party and it was really good: 3 euros for spaghetti and wine!!). In any case the hostel provides a kitchen for its hosts.
Antares hostel is also near to Nice-Ville railway station. You can also walk to the seaside and the city centre. I can surely claim it is the perfect solution for the people who travel by train!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Alice c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Don't get me wrong, this place is in a good location, about 2 minutes from nice vile station and 10 minutes from the beach.
But I found this hotel to be incredibly basic and the standard quite poor for the price we payed.
We arrived at 7pm and we're told that our room still wasn't ready which was quite hard to believe. When we eventually got to our room (a double en suite), we were underwhelmed. The bed was fine, the wardrobe was a hole in the wall and the only plug was for the TV which meant charging devices meant sacrificing TV!
The bathroom looked fine, but on closer inspection wasn't up to scratch. The sink didn't drain so our dirty water was left there and our shower wasn't sealed properly around the sides and flooded both the bathroom and part of our bedroom. It was clear that this problem had been there a while as it had eroded the bathroom door to a state where the door now didn't close. There were also only hand towels and none for full body use!
The hotel is quite basic and it is very much a hostel for young people. The guy behind reception did say we had access to a kitchen but we need to use it.
The only bonus about this hotel was that it had air conditioning that worked and you could control which was good as it was incredibly hot.
Overall I don't think this place is worth the money we paid, probably better for travellers who want a dorm experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Livvy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed staying here. Clean hostel rooms with wifi. The staff were very helpful with giving us directions and also helping us to print boarding passes for our flight. This is all you need of a hostel if staying for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

A really good hostle with friendly staff and nice rooms. The tradition of their "Pasta party" for 3€, price worthy , located across the street from the train station and cooking facility's makes it 5/5

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Fredrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This place was clean, the staff was friendly, they had a huge kitchen and hang-out area downstairs. They even gave us free wine and champagne on 3 of the 4 nights I stayed there! That was pretty awesome. A little too far away from the sea, though (about 15-20 minute walk). But really close to shopping and train station!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Corin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

After moving from another hostel in Nice, which was overcrowded and dirty, this was a refreshing change. The staff was wonderful and helpful, the room was lovely and clean, and it was affordable. The bathroom was outstanding in the room and there was a nice courtyard where people can gather and eat. Would definitely recommend this spot!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank slolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

the workers are nice and I can deposit my baggage after or before my check-in and after check-out, the room is nice but I cannot sit on the bed since the space between the two bed up and down is not big enough. But there is air condition in the room, it's nice. wifi is strong and useful. They even offered a drink at my last stay night. how sweet! Nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jin Fay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#109 of 203 in Nice
249 reviews
Hotel Belle Meuniere
#133 of 203 in Nice
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Comte de Nice
#150 of 203 in Nice
773 reviews
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#95 of 203 in Nice
592 reviews
Hotel Parisien
#94 of 203 in Nice
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Address: 5 avenue Thiers, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £22 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Antares 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing