We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, excellent location, but don't take breakfast!”
Review of Massenet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Massenet Hotel
Ranked #106 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Only 50 yards from the Promenade des Anglais, and just off the busy and touristy Rue Massena and Rue de France, this is a little gem of a hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful and despite our early arrival at 1pm, our room was ready waiting and available.

Despite its proximity to one of the main tourist and restaurant drags, it is very tranquil. My wife and I had a double superior room (107) which was very modern, super clean and well appointed, unlike so many older French hotels. Nice features included the roller shutter operated by remote control, wall-mounted flat screen TV, and a very simple to use and effective modern air conditioning unit. The bathroom was a good size and very clean and modern. Wifi internet is available, although a nominal charge of 3 euros for 24 hours is levied.

There is also a great restaurant just paces away in Rue Massenet (Restaurant Franchin) which we always go to for a special meal. Not cheap, but top-notch food, and way better than the endless tourist traps touting for business on the main drag just around the corner. Also a couple of nice looking restaurants opposite the hotel on the small and quiet Rue de la Paix.

The hotel is also very handy for Nice airport. Just take the 98 airport bus to/from Albert 1er just a block away for 4 euros. It is also a 10-15 minute easy walk from the main Gare Nice-Ville if you're travelling by train.

One caveat: do NOT take breakfast here. It's just coco-pops or cornflakes plus a horrible defrosted roll or croissant with the usual dreadful plastic tubs of jam-like gloop. No cold cuts, fruit, or hot food. Stupidly we forgot it wasn't included in the room price and then ended up with a bill for 32 euros for four breakfasts. Ouch. We did wonder why we never saw anybody else at breakfast! For the same money and probably less, just walk out the hotel and have a proper breakfast in any one of the nearby local eateries.

If we were going back to Nice, we would choose this hotel every time. We've tried a few over the years, and this is the best we've found. Perhaps not a budget price, but it's in a perfect location and we couldn't have been more comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GilbertTheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is an unpretentious hotel, but a real gem for a long break.
We spent four nights here and found it to be a most convenient hotel for many reasons.
First of all, the bus from the airport ( No.98 ) stopped just around the corner, so absolutely no need for an expensive taxi.
The reception staff were so welcoming, spoke perfect english, and found rooms for us even though we were quite early.
The rooms seemed to have been recently refurbished, were spotlessly clean, and were totally adequate for our needs. Admittedly there was no spectacular view from the bedroom, but the Promenade des Anglais was just metres away from the front door.
We decided to have breakfast, which was pretty basic, but sufficient to start the day .
The position of the hotel is so convenient for shopping. restaurants, promenade, Information Centre and for public transport.
We used the " Hop-on, Hop-off " bus which was a great way to see the town, and it too stopped very close to the hotel.
Just a note to say that you must take the bus ( No. 100 ) to Monaco ( Monte Carlo ). A great day out and it only costs 1 euro each way !
The only down side to Nice is the cost of eating out, and a round of ordinary drinks can look ridiculous when the bill arrives.
This did not spoil our stay which we all thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Don't bother upgrading to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blisterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Exactly what we where expecting. The decor was a bit dated but we the bathroom had recently been redone.
The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.
The location was perfect - close to the beach and old Nice.
We also had a huge and very private terrace.
We would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

You need to take the tram to get from train station to hotel. Be careful when getting directions to hotel--there is a Massena Hotel and this one, Massenet. Clean hotel and safe area were my top two criteria. The Massenet satisfies both. Breakfast was not included in our stay, so we ate at restaurants around us. There is a lot of shopping and restaurants all around. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfreels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We have stayed for 2 nights in a basic room and you absolutely get value for your money. The prices for the hotel are not that expensive. The hotel is very clean and the bed is comfortable. Within a few walking minutes you can either be at the beach, at a nice restaurant or get in your car to explore other cities around (Monaco, Èze, etc). We did not have breakfast at the hotel (10 EUR p.p.), but had breakfasts in one of the many nice places just next to the hotel. I would also recommend others to do so. Staff was very friendly as well. Car parking 10 EUR per night which is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiMa06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Knowing how indifferent hotels can be in this area, we booked the Hotel Massenet after a great deal of research and with the knowledge of some excellent Trip Advisor reviews. It is not the most luxurious hotel, but as far as French three star hotels go in this price range, it does an excellent job. The added bonus is that it is about 70m from the Promenade de Anglais (city centre end).

From the reservation a few weeks ago, to the welcome we received when we got there, everything went smoothly. We were checked in quickly and courteously, with the gentleman refusing my offer of a credit card swipe for our five day stay. When we arrived in our room, we were delighted by its size, cleanliness and most of all the very large terrace. We'd heard about the purple carpet (we think it is grey!), and the hard bed. They were fine!

The bathroom was spacious and spotlessly clean, and our request for a non slip bath mat was met with an immediate and firendly response as one was handed over. The room maids are polite and efficient, carefully avoiding noise when you do not wnat to be disturbed, and all the recepption staff we met (all four of them) were unfailingly helpful and courteous, helping our limited French with their good command of English.

All in all very enjoyable. Would we stay there again? Most certainly yes. Thanks to the positive Trip Adisor comments that were fully justified during our holiday.

Room Tip: Although more expensive, book a Terrace Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulausTirol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Our expectations were high based on the reviews here and also couple of friends had recommended this. Sadly our experience was disappointing.

First of all the check-in was a bit rude. No "Welcome" or any info about the hotel or surroundings, he just handed us the key and told (in French) were the room was. Other staff members later on were friendly but our first impression of the place wasn't great.

Our double room was above the hotel's entrance and it had a small balcony. Room was big, but lacked personality. There was wall-to-wall carpet, small fridge, television, writing desk and 2 chairs. Bathroom and toilet were in separate spaces. Room was kept clean but on the second night we noticed some ants in our room and they stayed there for the whole time.

We didn't try hotel's breakfast. There were plenty of nice cafes for breakfast nearby.

The location is the best thing in this place. It's close to the sea and pedestrian street Rue Massena. It's easy to reach from/to the airport by bus number 98.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel de la Fontaine
#7 of 203 in Nice
489 reviews
Hotel Esprit d'Azur
#103 of 203 in Nice
245 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massenet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massenet Hotel

Address: 11 rue Massenet, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £59 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Massenet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massenet Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing