We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be very good if not for a few things”
Review of Massenet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Massenet Hotel
Ranked #107 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Location: Less than 200 meters from Promenade des Anglais, 10 mins to Place Massena
Hotel: Small building tucked in a lane, joined to other properties on the sides
Room: Big, well lit, big bathroom
Positives: Location, big room/bathroom, helpful staff, parking available, free internet
Negatives: noisy airconditioner, no system of multiple room cards
Ranking at time of writing: #18 of 213

This is one hotel regarding I was confused between 3 or 4 stars. The location is fantastic for the price. You can't get anything better. Less than 200m away from the beach (no view of the sea though), close to a plethora of restaurants. The reception is manned 24 hours and the staff is very helpful. They serve breakfast (extras) near the lobby. Parking is in a sheltered garage next door.

The room is quite big with a balcony, which unfortunately was not in the best of shape - dirty and had no view as there were trees around. There's a cupboard to store clothes, a locker affixed into the wall, a table, chair, enough room to walk around. The bathroom is big with a clothes heater and a shower + bathtub. They had free internet (apparently only for a short time as the new wifi network was patchy and hence they didn't want to charge for substandard services)

The downsides - the aircon in our room would vibrate very very loudly at the highest fan setting. What put me off is that the staff was very much aware of that!!! It was very annoying as the room wouldn't cool at a medium fan setting and one couldn't sleep at the higher fan setting. We were there on the Bastille Day weekend and hence no chance of having that fixed. The other downer was the card system. They could only issue 1 card per room, so if one of the occupants needs to go out whilst the other stays in to sleep, you are in trouble. And when we did a bit of an adjustment for the 2nd card, the card just wouldn't work. Nearly 1am at night, I couldn't enter the room, nor could I wake my wife up. Finally after going to the reception twice to reset the card, the receptionist had to come up and open the room with his master key.

Had it not been for these two issues, I would've certainly given a 4 start to this place, may be even a 5.

Room Tip: 1st floor south corner room had plenty of A/C noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a family run Hotel in a great location in a quiet street, between the Promenade des Anglaise and the main Street with lots of restaurants and bars. Facilities are excellent and it is spotlessly clean. Have breakfast in the Sal du The on the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of June. We loved the location and the friendly, helpful staff who spoke English fluently (and some spoke Spanish as well, which is a plus for us since we are from Argentina). The hotel is older but has been maintained well and is in a perfect location for exploring Nice. I preferred the area we were in to staying in the Old part of Nice, which was still easily walkable from our hotel. The room was quite and although small had a large bathroom and shower and plenty of closet space. The wi-fi was really weak in our room so we had to go down to the lobby for anything really productive on our computers. The shower in the room was not set up well and flooded every time we used it, which we felt bad about but couldn't really fix since the design was bad (no curtain, just a plastic shield that wasn't sealed properly and wasn't very large so water would go over the sides). All in all, it was a nice hotel and I would recommend it as a good budget option.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cbanberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Hotel Massenet is just a perfect hotel. We were there June 14-19, 2013. We have stayed at this hotel the last 6th times we have been in Nice and will continue to do so even in future. The location is perfect; close to everything like the beach, the shopping centre and the old City of Nice. The rooms at the hotel are clean and of good size. The reception staff are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosba43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Massenet Hotel from May 30-June 3, 2013. The hotel has a fantastic location 1 block from the Promenade de Anglais and it has a secure underground garage (for 10 euro per night) which was key for us since we had a rental car. It is one-half block from Rue Massena, a main east-west street that has a lot of energy with many restaurants, shops, street performers, etc. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Vieux Nice and a similar distance from the upscale Negresco Hotel (a great place for a nightcap) & Palais de la Mediterranee. Our rooms was a nice size & it was clean, albeit not luxurious. While it had a terrace, it had no view (however given this hotel's location, none of the views seem worth paying for - something you can check out on Google street view). Breakfast was average (juices, cafe, tea, hot chocolate, bread & pastries with butter & jams, cheese & fruit). The hotel staff was friendly, helpful and all spopke fluent English. If you're looking for a hotel in a great location in Nice ... and you don't need something ultra luxurious, the Massenet is a great value.

Room Tip: Chambre terrace room (101) was a good size and had a large terrace ... but no view. We'd recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Watchful26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We were allocated a room on the first floor immediately above the hotel entrance and opposite the lift which we feared might be more than a little noisy. Unfortunately the hotel was full and we were unable to change the room but were promised a different room next day. In the event our fears were not realised as we slept soundly all night and quite happily kept the same room for all five nights of our stay.
The room was itself was fairly large with a separate bathroom and toilet. There was tall wardrobe and a safe was positioned on the top shelf, which made it a bit inconvenient to reach.
There were automatic shutters on the windows which effectively cut out most outside noise.
The reception area was pleasant and contained a small lounge with a TV. Very few people took advantage of this.
There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but these could be purchased from a machine at reception. Breakfast was served in the recepion area and was simple but adequate.
Reception staff were very helpful at all times.
The hotel is conveniently situated, close to restaurants and shops and is recommended.

Room Tip: If I was to return, I would ask for a room at the rear. The front rooms have the potential to be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fifer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Spent a long weekend in Nice celebrating a landmark birthday. We were very impressed with Nice and had a really lovely few days.

The Massenet proved to be a great find. The location is perfect: very close to the shops, restaurants and bars of the newer part of town, a stones throw from the sea front and a pleasant and short stroll to the old town. We took a day trip to Monaco and the station is also not far away (15 mins max by foot)

We had a standard double which was a very good size for France with a lovely modern bathroom (bath and shower over) and practical separate toilet. We had a balcony with electric roller shutters albeit the view was only across the back of the hotel and other surrounding properties. The room had a flat screen TV with BBC 1 and 2 Scotland!!, a good sized wardrobe, safe and importantly a comfortable bed. We had no noise at night at all

The lady on reception was friendly, welcoming and helpful. We did not have breakfast so cannot comment but did have a cup of coffee and the receptionist did not charge us the published cost

I recommend this good value and well located Nice hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nice
4.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Galaxie
Comfort Hotel Galaxie
#5 of 7 in St-Laurent du Var
131 reviews
11.5 mi away
La Marjolaine
La Marjolaine
#25 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
107 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Castel Enchante
Le Castel Enchante
#115 of 203 in Nice
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Chambord
Hotel Chambord
#16 of 30 in Menton
191 reviews
10.7 mi away
Modern Hotel
Modern Hotel
#46 of 87 in Antibes
61 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Nice Cap 3000 Aeroport
Mercure Nice Cap 3000 Aeroport
#4 of 7 in St-Laurent du Var
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massenet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massenet Hotel

Address: 11 rue Massenet, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £97 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Massenet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massenet Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing