We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff but dated rooms”
Review of Massenet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Massenet Hotel
Ranked #107 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Based on other Trip Advisor comments we booked here. The location is awesome; one minute from the beach and from the Visitors Information Centre. Pretty much everything is within an easy walking distance and there are some great cafés very near by. The hotel staff were very friendly and the lobby area is very nice. Parking is pretty easy compared with many places we have stayed.
We booked a room with a balcony and the first floor room had a huge balcony, basically the same size as the room. Unfortunately it is surrounded by the back end of other large buildings with broken shutters, drain pipes, and no view or sun. The bathroom is modern and nicely laid out. The room was clean and tidy, but apart from the bathroom the rest of the room is very dated; stucco plaster walls and a dated looking shag pile carpet. When we first checked in to the room, the sliding door to the balcony was wide open. I tried closing and locking it but it would not close. I immediately advised the person on the front desk, and he undertook to fix it straight away. We returned to the hotel six hours later (10pm), to find the door still was open. If we had been on the 10th floor I would have felt happier, but given that we were on the first floor, it made me uncomfortable from a security perspective. I used the bedside cabinet to prevent the sliding door from opening overnight.
Overall, great location, but very dated, not what I expected from a balcony room, and an insecure room means an average rating is the best I can give the Massenet Hotel. It is unlikely that I would choose to stay here, or recommend it to friends.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jscindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel is situated close to Promenade Des Anglais, approximately 10 minutes walk from the old town. Great customer service from all hotel staff who were courteous and helpful - reception staff speak english. Breakfast is fairly basic (croissant, bread, limited cereals etc) and costs 8 euros but there are plenty nearby cafés and restaurants if you want something more substantial. Noise from the street or other rooms isn't a problem, presumably it is well insulated. Rooms are nicely decorated and are cleaned daily.

We used an airport taxi on our arrival which cost 35 euros, we both feel that this is quite expensive given the distance travelled. On our departure we used a bus from the stop not far from the hotel (no 98) which cost 12 euros - the buses run every 20 minutes so are a viable alternative to taxis.

We would recommend the hotel - it's not the Negresco but it's great value.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eternaloptimist58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We applied to this hotel following reading the TA's reviews and were not disappointed !
We have just returned from our first visit to nice We found the Massenet hotel to be perfect base. Me and my wife stayed at the Massenet for seven nights. The hotel is in a great location, ideal base for touring Nice and Cote d' Azur. Locates in a quiet lane (which gives you lots of quietness) just three minutes walk to the Promenade des Anglais, close to the tourist information and all bus stops and tram, close to the pedestrian road with all the shops and restaurants, Massena Place and within walking distance of the Old Town (Vieille Ville).
Our room was big enough fore two people. It has an excellent A/C, a small fridge, flat TV, The bathroom was nice and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Free WiFi which worked perfectly for us during our stay.
We shall come again !
Above all, this is a comfortable hotel with friendly, helpful staff (who speak good English).Many thanks to you Matthieu, George, Daizy, Ghani in the reception, for you welcoming and your family treatment. You gave us feeling at home !

Room Tip: We enjoed very much our room #203 and we are sure that the rest of the rooms enjoy the same quietnes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ofi451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have been to Nice many times, but this was our first time at this hotel. From the minute we entered the hotel to check-out everything was great. The hotel staff are the most caring and wonderful people. They made sure that our every request was catered to swiftly. We had booked the superior room and it was quite big by french standards and was very clean. There was a small balcony facing the front of the hotel. There was zero noise at night inspite of being less than 100mn from the promenade. The hotel is in a very quiet street and is 2mins away from many restaurants and cafes. The room itself was very comfortable. We took our travel boiler along, and it was very useful in having teas and boiling water for our newborn. We had requested a cot for the baby by calling them a few days in advance. Probably they can change the mattress in the cot to something slightly softer. Overall, we loved the hotel and will be back very soon. Thank you for the previous reviews to allow us to find this gem of a place.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms where we stayed were quite big. Superior room with a small balcony. All rooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choudhurylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is a comfortable hotel with friendly, helpful staff who spoke good English. Hotel is in a great location, very close to the Promenade des Anglais, plus the cafes and bars one road back, and within walking distance of the Old Town (Vieille Ville).



Genuine Hotels.com guest review

Room Tip: We were in room 204 on the 2nd floor. The view from the window is just the backs of other buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaVB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife & I stayed 5 nights could find little to complain about . The staff were all very helpful specially at reception, they went out their way to make us comfortable which helps to make a good holiday. We had continental breakfast there every morning adequate for us anyway, although there were plenty of cafes close by. It was Ideal for us & would not hesitate in going back again.
J & J

Room Tip: If you like to make a cup of tea take a small electric kettle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack281031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

100m far from the "promenade des Anglais" and the sea shore, the hotel is closed to the very center of the town where most of the restaurants and shops are located. The hotel is quiet and clean.
An underground and closed parking is available at the hoteland wifi is working well.
I didn't try the breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcM788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nice
4.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Galaxie
Comfort Hotel Galaxie
#5 of 7 in St-Laurent du Var
131 reviews
11.5 mi away
La Marjolaine
La Marjolaine
#25 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
107 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Castel Enchante
Le Castel Enchante
#115 of 203 in Nice
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Chambord
Hotel Chambord
#16 of 30 in Menton
191 reviews
10.7 mi away
Modern Hotel
Modern Hotel
#46 of 87 in Antibes
61 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Nice Cap 3000 Aeroport
Mercure Nice Cap 3000 Aeroport
#4 of 7 in St-Laurent du Var
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massenet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massenet Hotel

Address: 11 rue Massenet, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £98 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Massenet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massenet Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing