We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great small hotel, perfectly located”
Review of Massenet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Massenet Hotel
Ranked #103 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just back from five days in Nice at this comfortable, friendly little hotel. After experiencing the best and worst of four and five star places in Italy, Nice's prices made us opt for a three star; however, despite the lack of flashy toiletries, designer interiors and smug staff, this place offered us five comfortable, quiet and cool nights sleep, right in the centre of things, with helpful touches like an empty fridge (as non drinkers, we never use the mini bar, but always need to chill water!) and plenty of closet space, blackout blinds and functioning air conditioning. Basic but very clean and comfortable, with a super staff of ever-helpful and smiley people. Completely recommend.

Room Tip: We would ordinarily ask for a back room, for quiet; however our first floor front room was very peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hotel Massenet offers clean and comfortable – if basic – rooms at a reasonable price and in an excellent location. Staff was friendly and helpful. A block off the beach and adjacent to the old city. Easy walk to cafes, restaurants and shops. No views, no luxuries. AC didn't work on high speed; that was OK in May, but not sure it would be in July. Has a small underground parking garage for those with cars. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmh1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you consider the price and location I don't think you can do much better for nice. It does not look too impressive from the outside but inside it is very satisfactory. 1 block form the Promenade des Anglais about half way along, so 10 minutes walk to the old town. The area of the hotel is great lots of restaurants and shops the the walking streets just around the corner. The room feels a little dated but is clean. We were happy with the staff and the breakfast. Only issue we had was when driving there the GPS tried to get us to enter from the rear street, which is walking only! This was on a brand new french hire car with built in GPS, I had my own GPS it was doing the same. So the only way to get there is via the Promenade des Anglais, turn right at the Hard Rock Cafe (heading away from Monaco)

Room Tip: room 111 face the front, it had good metal shutter so very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is nicely located in the second row from the beach. It has its own parking place just next to the hotel which is a great thing if you are coming by car. The price was very reasonable for Nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IIM612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked a classic double room and had a room on the 4th floor. On our first night, it was quite warm and the air conditioner did not work. When we asked about the air in the morning, we were told that it had not been turned on yet but they would take care of it right away. True to their promise, when we returned to our room that day, the air conditioner was working beautifully.

The room reminded me of rooms in the 70's with shag carpeting and no frills nature. However, although basic, it was a decent size and quite comfortable. Upon reading other reviews on Trip Advisor, we asked for a separate flat sheet for under the duvet and that worked out well.

We chose not to eat the breakfast at the hotel as it was an added cost and we wanted to try other places. The hotel is in a great location with restaurants, shops and the water all very close by. The bus that goes to the airport has a stop just a few minutes from the hotel and we found everything very convenient. Because the hotel is recessed back from the main thoroughfare, we found it very quiet.

We had only one complaint and that was we were unable to use our own hair dryers in the bathroom. The outlet provided would only work for very low voltage razors. The dryer provided in the bathroom was a hose type dryer and did not work very well. Other than that, we enjoyed staying at Hotel Massenet and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CO92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We booked this hotel as it was less expensive than the "with view" or waterfront and still seemed to have the small boutique look.

Registration was reasonably smooth although we had to wait a fair while until the receptionist finished her phone call with a seemingly grumpy customer. Our room was quite dark with one smaller sliding glass door, but it was large, and it had a separate toilet from the bathroom. It was very clean and the housemaids obliged us by giving us a flat sheet for under the duvet. The room was also air conditioned.

Breakfast consisted off a basket of bread and pastries, cereals, and toast. Coffee and tea came via a large push button machine. The first two mornings there was a lovely chap cleaning up and looking after people, but on our third morning he was not working and the receptionist was trying to do her job and look after the guests at breakfast. She may have coped apart from the fact that the coffee machine had broken down and she was trying to fix it. Most used plates on all the tables had not been cleared away and she was very frustrated at the broken machine, so much so that she vented at me quite crossly when I asked if they had an electric jug for boiling water.
No room in the accommodation industry for this sort of behaviour.

As we had caught up with old friends we decided to accept their invitation to stay the night and forgo our last nights accommodation.

We would still recommend the accommodation for those who are looking for a less expensive option, but from touring UK it was still expensive. But when in Cote D'Azur you just have to accept the market prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with larger front sliding doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilycoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is on a side street just off the promenade and close to streets with lots of restaurants with patios for outdoor eating. A couple of minutes walk and you are on the promenade along the Mediterranean and the view is spectacular. A bus from the Nice airport stops pretty much at the corner (Hard Rock Cafe is a landmark). It is easy to walk everywhere in the old town from this location. Check-in was easy. Matthieu at the desk was very helpful with information about Nice and getting to Monaco.

The room was a good size with a large bathroom complete with tub/shower. The WC was in a separate room. Linens and the bed were good. There was a wall safe in the closet. The room also held a desk, bar fridge and flat screen TV. WiFi was included. Breakfast was available for 8 Euros per person. This price turned out to be very reasonable compared to local restaurants and the hotel breakfast there were more options and all you can eat.

Because the of the proximity to restaurants and patios, it was noisy at night. However, the room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johann806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#76 of 203 in Nice
109 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#7 of 203 in Nice
483 reviews
Club Inn
#78 of 203 in Nice
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massenet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massenet Hotel

Address: 11 rue Massenet, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £59 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Massenet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massenet Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing