We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”
Review of Massenet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Massenet Hotel
Ranked #103 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights, and were amazed to get such a central location for 130 euros/night. Other hotels around us seemed to go for much higher. Also, they have private parking for 10 euros/day, which is very cheap for Nice.

The hotel is on a dead end street, and a little back from it, so it is as quiet as you can possibly get smack in the center of Nice. It is literally steps away from the happening Rue Massena (some of the nicest restaurants and shops in town), as well as gorgeous Place Massena. We walked almost everywhere. Staff speaks English - some ARE English.

The room is large and the bathroom is huge. Furniture is a bit tired and sparse, but there are touches of glam: remote-controlled blinds and a balcony. Wifi is 3 euros for 24 hours. The only bad thing was the so-called A/C. As far as we could tell, it was simply ventilating air, without actually cooling it. It got too hot during the day, though it was reasonable at night. We avoided the room until late evening - but that's kind of the point in Nice, isn't it?

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megajo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2009

Excellent location, very close to the Promenade des Angalis but still in a very quiet place. We had a double room with a nice terrace. One of the reasons why we choosed this hotel was because of the private parking underneight the hotel (€10). The staff was very helpful and friendly. You can´t find a hotel with this location to a better price.
We will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

I found this hotel to be excellent for my overnight stay in Nice last month. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful both before and during my stay. The hotel is very well located, a block from the Promenade/beach and near unlimited shops and cafes. As a woman traveling alone, I felt very safe there. Do take the bus from the airport -- if I can figure it out, you can. Get off at the Congres stop (the stop names are noted on the bus stop kiosks along the way, and there is a route map on the bus itself -- it's quite simple) and walk a block to Rue Massenet (you can pick up a city map at the information desk at the airport). The bus is not suited for luggage (regular city bus), so it is pretty cramped, but it's much cheaper than a taxi. The carpet is odd, but it looked totally clean to me -- just bring some socks. The room was quiet (in spite of a noisy neighborhood and noisy hotel neighbors-- excellent soundproofing) and very clean. If you think the air conditioning isn't working, ask them to check it right away before the hotel fills up and it's too late to change rooms. There is a safe in the room, and my room was as large as a typical American hotel room. If you don't need or want to pay for an ocean view room, I would highly recommend the Massenet.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yocaArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Hotel room was big with cool A/C! We had a balcony and an electronic shutter. We also had a shower/tub combo which was nice. Hotel is ideally located-one block off the ocean and right next to all the restaurants and shops. This was ranked high according to trip advisor and definitely lived up to my expectations. Purple shag carpet- yeah baby!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerry7mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Let me start the review with probably something I'm sure you want to know about any hotel in Europe during summer: The A/C was not working in the first room I got, then I changed rooms and voila !...Although noisy it did its job.

Now to the details:

* Location is fantastic. Very close of old Nice and the best part of the beach if you want to relax (left part). If you have small kids the left end of the beach is where you should stay (no waves, crystal clear water). That light blue color of the water in the middle or right end is actually biological 'suspension', which gives this nice color but detracts from visibility

* Staff was extremely helpful: Gave pointers on old Nice, changed my room when complained about A/C, etc

* Parking: It is self-park at 10Eu. Although this sounds good for Nice in summer, be prepared for extremely tight maneuvers.

* Room: Very basic. Bed was okay, TV had a good selection of channels although many in French. There is a mini-fridge but as with anything in Europe that has to do with refrigeration, it did not work well.

* It has an elevator. I know, it might surprise you that I put this here but there are many hotels that when you get there you face dozens of steps.

* Wireless Internet: This is my view is the Hotel weakest feature. Coverage was spotty, speed was sub par.

Tips:

* Summer: Even if your A/C is working (for Europe standards) if your room is facing sunset it will get warm.

* Be careful when entering/leaving the garage. The wall marks speak for themselves

* Breakfast is very, very basic. You should just get out of the hotel, turn left (and if needed then right) and start looking for a Bistro that can serve you breakfast.

* Walk through old Nice, try to remember some of the scenes where the movie 'Ronin' took place

* Make sure you walk up the hill where Nice Chateau was located. The views are incredible. Bring food up since up there is very expensive and not very good.

* You can sit in the hallway to get better Wireless Internet reception.

I'm giving this Hotel 'very good' mainly because of the staff'. I hope they keep up.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

booked this hotel after reading trip advisor reviews and could not have been more impressed.just 100metres to the beach and all restaurants and shops virtually right at the doorstep and close to all public transport.all the staff were very helpful and spoke reasonably good english.rooms were of good size and very comfortable with shutters that opened up to a balcony.the ONLY downside was the carprt as stated in previous reviews was a bit disturbing as there is definately something living in it and no tea,coffee making facility in room.we didn't use the restaurant as there were plenty of options available,again as reading trip advisor reviews.internet connection available in all rooms if you had lap top at 3euro per 24hours.stayed 4 nites from 11th july and would definately stay again if in nice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimiUnanderra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We decided to book this hotel as all the reviews on TA for this hotel were very good, Im so glad we booked this hotel. The room was very spacious and clean. Fantastic location for the bars and beach, Staff were lovely and very helpful and had a good sense of humour which is always good. When we arrived at 10am we asked if we could leave our bags as check in wasnt until later, they checked our room and said it was ready so we checked in then which was great. We had a problem with the AC in our room, we called reception and he came straight up to our room and said he would move us immediately to another room and couldnt apologise enough, we were upgraded to another room but to be honest both rooms were geat. Would highly recommend this hotel and we are definately going to go back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladymuck32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#76 of 203 in Nice
109 reviews
Club Inn
#78 of 203 in Nice
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#7 of 203 in Nice
483 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massenet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massenet Hotel

Address: 11 rue Massenet, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £59 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Massenet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massenet Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing