We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location”
Review of Massenet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Massenet Hotel
Ranked #93 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value, great location”
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We had a very nice 6 day stay at the end of October. Can only echo what everyone else has said: good location - near to Promenade des Anglais and Old Town, with lots of shops and restaurants close by. Very clean (including the carpet) and looked recently painted. Fridge in room was very useful - it is NOT a mini-bar but a proper small fridge.

We did not have breakfast as it didn't really look much, but at 10 euros was probably less than you would pay in a local cafe for the same. There are lots of restaurants offering breakfasts within a short walk, but it is not cheap to eat out in Nice.

Local buses can be taken to and from the airport and to all local destinations for 1 euro (yes, 1 euro for all journeys, even to Monaco and Cannes) The bus station is about 10 - 15 minutes walk from hotel.

Reception staff helpful with good English

Would love to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    154
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
32
184
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pambula, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

My sister and I stayed at the Hotel Massenet for 5 nights mid October. Fantastic location just half a block from the beach, excellent staff who went out of their way to be helpful and very quite at night.
On our arrival we were met by Desi who explained the room and hotel amenities (which were spotlessly clean) and suggested a wonderful restaurant for our first night in Nice......wow she was spot on!
No problem extending our stay an extra night when our flight to Paris Orly was cancelled due to the baggage handlers strike, staff very quick to sort out our room and allowed us to stay where we were even at such short notice.
If I am ever lucky enough to return to Nice I will certainly return to the Hotel Massenet.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Hotel Massenet is perfectly situated between the beach and Rue Massena (which offers good shopping and many restaurants). Even though the hotel is centrally located it is extremely quiet. We stayed for a full week and got a large and comfortable room (double superior) with a nice and clean bathroom and a small balcony facing the street. The air-conditioning was fully working and higgly efficient. The staff were extremely helpful (especially the night portier, who helped us with valuable tips and answered all our questions about trains and buses that made our little trips so much easier). We would also like to recommend the café in the corner that serves great french breakfast that are cheaper and better than the breakfast at the hotel. We will definitely stay at Hotel Massenet again! Great three stars hotel with good value for the money. No complaints whatsoever!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swedishBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I checked into this hotel, and the first room was really not big enough. I am 6'5" tall travelling through Europe. The second room was absolutely fine. There was a large restroom, and the bed was the usual french rock hard, and the french doors were lovely and super dangerous. I am not sure if it was the water, or just the hotel, but it truly had a strong smell, sort of like sulfur.
I did not complain, I just kept my bags zipped closed..... YES, it was that strong!
The gent working as a baggage handler and the car valet was a lovely man who ought to be in a much more important role at that hotel. The location of this hotel is absolutely second to none!
The only thing to beware of is the artwork of Marilyn Monroe and Grace Kelly, and those of the like truly super super tacky!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houstonwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Great location, just off the Promenade and off the pedestrian area. Right near Old town.
I had arranged for parking on site. We just pulled up, reception came out, we gave our name and were shown the garage. Only bring a small car, tight fit of course. 10 euro for very safe and secure parking in Nice.
Staff was very nice. We came up from the parking garage and was handed our key. We received a map with our "vous etes ici" dot and given plenty of laughs. Went for a run in the morning and left the key. Upon walking in, the key was immediately handed back. Small touches like smiles and friendly go the extra mile.
Our room was brown and blue. Brown shag but not like the crud from my childhood home, nice soft and plush. Nice furniture in the room. Bathroom was nicely appointed, with real hair dryer and lots of towels. Only wish I had more time to spend here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
215 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

The hotel is near the best part of town, which is the old town (viuxe nice). The service in the reception was great, but the housekeeper forget to refill paper and toiletrys. 100 metres to the beach. Breakfast is expensive, much cheaper in the lokal cafe´s. The room was very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jörgen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Would really recommend this hotel. The rooms and bathroom were large and its very close the main front in Nice but without the traffic noise. A/C worked perfectly for us also.

Reception were incredibly friendly and spoke excellent English.

There are no views from the hotel as it is tucked into a back street but it did not bother us. Also a very strange purple shag pile carpert in the room but hey-ho!

Great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Club Inn
#122 of 205 in Nice
10 reviews
Hotel Solara
#108 of 205 in Nice
235 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#79 of 205 in Nice
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 205 in Nice
402 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#54 of 205 in Nice
493 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#87 of 205 in Nice
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massenet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massenet Hotel

Property: Massenet Hotel
Address: 11 rue Massenet, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Massenet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massenet Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing