We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool and room -”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goldstar Resort & Suites
Ranked #50 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great pool and room -”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The room we had was a family one, and to have a seperate kitchen area was excellent, it made more of a Hotel / Self Catering experience which we enjoyed. The food was a bit restrited and expensive if you didn't have it included in the price, but the area that the hotel is located in has loads or bars / cafes / restaurants nearly anyway. The rooftop pool was excellent, the kids enjoyed themselves and it was covered as well with an openair terrace. The only drawback was the lift which is transparrent and attached to the outside of the hotel - no good if you are scared of heights!!

Room Tip: There are diffent types of family rooms - some have a dining table others have a larger bathroom or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    270
    111
    32
    24
See reviews for
260
245
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We didn't have a very good start at your hotel. The receptionist insisted we had entered the carpark by following in another car. This was not the case,we did enter the carpark because the door opened for us to do so. When we had parked we quickly realised we could not enter the lift to check in. The thing that was most rude was the porter running down to us not offering help, but interigating us as though we were criminals.This was not aprechiated after our six hour drive, or was the next set of events where your receptionist then acused us of lieing. If this is how you welcome your guests then we will not be staying with you again.We have stayed in eight hotels on our travels through Spain, Italy,France and Geneva and you are the only hotel that treated us so poorly, if you have a policy ensure it is clear for your guests to follow.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I enjoyed our stay at the Goldstar, on account of the location, despite there being a somewhat odd, very non-French feel about the place... but when, after leaving, I emailed them to report that I'd forgotten my charger and earphones, and they took four days to say that they would mail them to me in Paris, where I live, for ten times what it would normally cost, I say, odd indeed! (I'm off to purchase new ones!) We went to this strange hotel for the pool. If a pool isn't a major concern, Nice is a fantastic city and you might not regret staying somewhere with more local character!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Goldstar Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We are sincerely sorry that you did not find the local Provencal character you have been looking for in our Establishment. It is true that our Establishment has been designed with modernity and functionality in mind and not focusing on this local character.

Concerning the Postage fees of your charger and earphones, as we have to deal with such situation on a daily basis, we do work with a private company taking care of this and charging your credit card after your acceptation, the local Post office not enabling us to do so.

We hope that you will keep a good memories of your stay in Nice despite the esthetic disappointment you had in our Establishment.


Kind Regards,
Jerome Burgert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is an excellent stay- so convenient, roomy, clean and comfortable. Nothing was lacking in the room, nothing! Lovely fluffy robes, comfy slippers, 2 TVs- one in the bedroom, of course!-, desk for writing and work, access to internet, lots of good lighting, two sinks in the bathroom, separate toilet room, and large round table for eating. Note we did not have breakfast but brought this in the apartment, as there was plentiful kitchen facilities.
Warning - do not eat in the restaurant, as prices are exorbitant, and the food, though well presented, was so so.....

Room Tip: We had a higher up room and were upgraded as we stayed for 12 nights. Certainly worth while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

5 ladies of a certain age out for fun and good food in Provence. Hotel is very good for this type of group situation, rooms well equipped with robes and slippers and plenty of toilettries. Beds were ok although one of the rooms had a double duvet for two ladies and was changed to two single duvets as soon as requested. the sofa bed is not great, honestly, but ok for a young one or slim adult. Kitchen ok, microwave but no oven - cups are tiny tho if you like more than a breakfast espresso !! No problem to go outside to a great take-away 2 mins walk away for tea/coffee and croissants. Staff in hotel were very helpful, sharp and on the ball - language no problem. Roof terrace was very nice and pool looked great ( didn't use it) would like to experience this on a warm evening since it's open until 8 pm and drinks are available in the restaurant bar below.

Room Tip: above 4th floor would take you above other properties' roofline so improved view. corner suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Me and my mam stayed here for 4 nights in a consul suite on the 5th floor.After reading a few mixed reviews about the hotel i was a little worried but i shouldnt have been! We found the staff to all be very friendly and helpful,they could also all speak several different languages.We recieved fab service from everyone we met.
The room was amazing,it was huge with a big sunken bath,we had a living room and a little kitchen (with everything you would need) 2 big wadrobes and a view over the city! The bed was really comfy and we slept really well with the black out blinds and didnt hear any noise from the streets.It was also well thought out in that the my mam could access the bathroom from a different door to the one next to my room which meant neither of us had to disturb each other in the night.It was spotlessly clean every day.
The rooftop pool was great,the views over the city were great and although it was a little on the small side i was able to swim a few lengths,it was often quiet so a good place to chill out.We didnt take breakfast in the hotel (i thought it was a bit excessive at 20 euros pp) there were plenty of places to have breakfast locally (and a supermarket on the next block).
The location is just perfect, a few streets back from the front and the beach.The staff really couldnt do enough for us,they were fantastic.This might not be the cheapest place to stay in Nice,but to be honest if your after a cheap holiday Nice isnt the place to be however If your after a great hotel in a fantastic location this is the place to be!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spent 5 days here and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were extremely helpful and able to speak several different languages well. The rooms were well presented and equipped and kept very clean. The roof terrace and Pool were extremely useful after a day out and about on the cote d'azur. This is an ideal place to stay for exploring the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#45 of 204 in Nice
998 reviews
Le Meridien Nice
#78 of 204 in Nice
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#21 of 204 in Nice
1,014 reviews
AC Hotel Nice
#27 of 204 in Nice
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Goldstar Resort & Suites

Property: Goldstar Resort & Suites
Address: 45 rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Nice
#20 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#29 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldstar Resort & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldstar Resort & Suites is a 4-star resort in the centre of Nice, just 250 metres from the Promenade des Anglais. It features a rooftop heated pool with solarium. The Goldstar Resort and Suites offers spacious soundproofed suites with modern design. Each air-conditioned room has a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms have a luxurious living room and a kitchenette. Free WiFi access is available in the entire hotel. For your comfort and wellness, the Goldstar offers free access to the sauna, heated swimming pool solarium on the rooftop from 8:30 to 20:00. Guests can have a drink at the rooftop terrace while enjoying a panoramic view of old Nice. Just 350 metres from the beach, the Goldstar is an ideal base to explore the French Riviera. There is shuttle service available at an additional cost to Nice-Cote d'Azur Airport, 5.6 Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Goldstar Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldstar Resort And Suites
Goldstar Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing