We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good sized suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Goldstar Resort & Suites
Ranked #49 of 205 Hotels in Nice
London UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good sized suite”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Booked a 29 sq metre room on a good off-season deal. Room was large, and indeed had a separate bedroom, small kitchen with everything, and a large bathroom.
Pool on the roof is a bit odd. There is a proper 5 ft deep pool, but next to it is another large 'pool' only about 30cm deep... I guess for kids? There are some exercise machines next to the pool reception desk - sort of like working out in someone's office. Never saw anyone use them.
Breakfast was nothing spectacular, but was alright. Short 10-15 min. walk to the train station or one of the main shopping streets, and less than 10 mins. to the seafront.
Train to Monaco is quick (about 22 mins) and inexpensive - great for a day trip. City bus takes longer (almost an hour) but you get some lovely views. Suggest take the bus there and train back as we did.

Room Tip: Seems like all the rooms are suites?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Here4Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    267
    110
    32
    22
See reviews for
256
244
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for four nights, it was great! Central, large rooms, good facilities. Would stay here again anytime!

(Next comment is no reflection on hotel) what is it with the French and their filthy dogs!! Everywhere we went, one month over the whole country, there was dog crap everywhere! Spent most of my time scraping it off my shoes. A nice country wrecked by selfish, dirty, smelly, ignorant dogs and their self indulgent owners! Filthy place to walk

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mörfelden-Walldorf, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here for a short off-season winter-sun break! For what we needed as a family it worked really well. In the end our suite was really more a self-catering apartment. The kitchen was actually usable, with a microwave/grill, 2 hotplates, fridge and a dish-washer (yeah!). The kids loved the roof-top swimming pool which provided a welcome tonic after a days sightseeing.

Just down the street from the hotel is a Carrefour City shop, so if you don't have breakfast in your booking, or fancy a cheap evening meal, then you have a good alternative.

As others have written there was a problem with the wi-fi. In fact I think there were two (authentication and session limits) which I believe were down to the fact the wi-fi network was built with cheap consumer-grade devices. Still at least there was a wi-fi access point device directly in our room, so signal strength was not a problem.

Finally I see from the reviews that some people were disappointed with the hotel. If you are expecting a luxury hotel, then I can understand you may be disappointed, but considering price/value we can't complain.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

With suites of 50 m2 ,it is the best place for families.There was even a living room inside the 4 bed room.Not to mention the pretty perfect heated swimming pool in the 7 th floor.We had problem with the kids ,didnt want to get out.Try to avoid the 1st floor rooms.A bit noisy.

Room Tip: Avoid the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thanasis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Based on reviews, I thought this could be a nice stay. Stayed here September 2012 for three nights. It was okay, far from great. Mind you we like the Fairmont and B&B's. We were checked in promptly. The room was very dated, circa 1980's. Sand on the floor. Kitchenette but not well stocked. Bed was low to the ground with soft spots in mattress. Just okay. Probably best for a large group or family who plans to stay a while and use the kitchen. Pool upstairs was kind of funky. Breakfast room was strangely decorated, reminded me of an old disco but the breakfast was good and great views! We were given complimentary meal tickets because our room was dirty upon check-in. Would I go back? No. Would I recommend it? No.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissIvNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VDNIce, Responsable relations clients at Goldstar Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Sir,

It always is a disappointing surprise for us to discover that one of our guests did not fully enjoy his time in our Establishment, as we constantly strive for your satisfaction.

The Establishment is recently built and we constantly renovate it in order to keep it looking new and welcoming to our guests. We really are sorry to hear that the contemporary and minimalist decoration was not up to your likings as the use of granite and wood usually appeals to most of our guests.


We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Hotel's central location and the breakfast at the restaurant. We sincerely hope that you keep good memories of your stay in Nice

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Booked after looking at many Nice properties, and it was better than we expected.
We stayed for 2 nights in a Consul suite.

Very friendly welcome, shown to our suite and various useful things were pointed out to us. I can honestly say the service we experienced at Goldstar was better than the service I'd experienced in the days before while working/satying at the 5* deluxe Hermitage in Monte-Carlo!

Suite was very clean, well equipped and spacious. Large corner bath and good shower and very comfortable bed - great couple of nights sleep :0) We only used the kitchen to make a cup of tea, not sure that you could really cook in it if you were staying for longer - but for breakfast and snacks would be fine. Everyhting was fully functionsl, microwave, fidge, hot plates etc.

We found the location great only a few minutes walk to the seafront and about a 10 min stroll to the main shopping centre and old town.

We only had a short stay and didn't get time to use the roof top pool, but popped up to have a look and stuck my hand in the water - nice and warm. Imagine it would be fab in the summer with the roof retracted!

Would have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

3 of us stayed in one of the apartments in the hotel and from the friendly greeting, efficient check-in and superb room we had a thoroughly good stay. The room was excellent, spacious, we'll fitted and comfortable. Enormous bathroom was a treat. Kitchen function but a bit cramped although perfectly ok for snacks and meals that are easy to prepare.

Location was convenient and quiet, being a couple of blocks back from the promenade and also a 15 minute walk from the station.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank UK_Traveller10145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Le Meridien Nice
#74 of 205 in Nice
1,998 reviews
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#51 of 205 in Nice
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#19 of 205 in Nice
1,003 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
AC Hotel Nice
#28 of 205 in Nice
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldstar Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldstar Resort & Suites

Property: Goldstar Resort & Suites
Address: 45 rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Nice
#20 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#28 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldstar Resort & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldstar Resort & Suites is a 4-star resort in the centre of Nice, just 250 metres from the Promenade des Anglais. It features a rooftop heated pool with solarium. The Goldstar Resort and Suites offers spacious soundproofed suites with modern design. Each air-conditioned room has a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms have a luxurious living room and a kitchenette. Free WiFi access is available in the entire hotel. For your comfort and wellness, the Goldstar offers free access to the sauna, heated swimming pool solarium on the rooftop from 8:30 to 20:00. Guests can have a drink at the rooftop terrace while enjoying a panoramic view of old Nice. Just 350 metres from the beach, the Goldstar is an ideal base to explore the French Riviera. There is shuttle service available at an additional cost to Nice-Cote d'Azur Airport, 5.6 Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Goldstar Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldstar Resort And Suites
Goldstar Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing