We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price & location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Paradis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Paradis
Ranked #154 of 204 Hotels in Nice
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great price & location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days in October 2013 and had a great experience. Room was clean and cheap; the receptionist was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location is pretty amazing just a short walk from the beach and the old town. Definitely recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    52
    36
    26
    39
See reviews for
24
45
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in September 2013. The location of the hotel is fantastic - within walking distance of everything - the promenade, old town, shopping district, etc.....
Room was basic but comfy - for what we paid I was impressed. Fridge in the room was very handy.
Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
Fantastic base for touring - visited Cannes, Monte Carlo, Eze and Villefranche sur Mer whilst there. Amazing scenery!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMcG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My first impression of this hostel (I stayed in the dorm rooms, not the hotel part of the place) was that it was a dream come true. No bunks, bar fridge in the room, lovely bathroom, all looked very clean and the girl at reception was lovely.
Sadly when it came to sleeping, it turned nightmarish when I woke up to get a glass of water and discovered bed bugs crawling all over me and the sheets.
When we told the man at reception the next day he seemed very panicked about it and was actually quite rude to me, though I think that was just because he was stressed. They asked us to leave the room for 20 minutes to look over the room but we didn't hear back after that. On a second look at the room, the sheets had obvious bed bug stains (the black dots).
If they get a proper fumigation it would be a lovely place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaK1, Responsable réception at Hotel Paradis, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello, thanks you for rating your stay with us and leaving a review. We are very sorry to hear your experience at the Meyerbeer Hostel hadn't been as good as we wish. Please be sure that our rooms are daily checked, and we particularly pay attention on cleanliness. Unfortunately bugs are a difficult issue to prevent from happening, as they are brought by travellers.
This may happen in every hotel & hostel, and we take all precautions for this not to happen as hard to handle it can be. Whenever this happens we immediately take the right measures, having the room desinfected by a professional and we block the room for a few days to repeat the treatment. We are really trying to do our best concerning this common problem. Thank you for the understanding, Sophia, Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Invercargill
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very difficult to find this hotel...our gps kept taking us right past it and being on a one way system was difficult to get back to. Nice street frontage and office but really Fawlty towers layout in the second floor.....we were up two floors down one step, up one and around the corner and down another step....very odd and spongy flooring. Room was tiny with thin walls....shower not very good but we did have a little balcony overlooking a very nice street and were able to listen to a man play Moon River over and over again for both nights we were there. It is close to the beach but car parking is an issue.....we wished we had stayed in San Remo and travelled rather than stay in Nice. Walking distance to train station which is good and plenty of restaurants close by. Hotel has an elevator with metal closing doors and a circular staircase which could have been quite attractive if it was cleaned...but it was covered in dust. Staff were quite good but I don't think it warranted the recommendation from Lonely Planet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Very cheap ( 25 euro per bed) very clean, fantastic location, very friendly stuff. Room got small fridge, towels ,soap, ketlle, tea and coffe to make, electric fan,tv, and WiFi
Me and my boyfriend stay just one night. We were lucky to find this hotel in a peak season in this price :)
Check out 11 am however you can leave bags in reception :)

Thank you
Anna and Slawek from Poland

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaAndSlawek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Good location, sufficient basics however, certain minor improvements may enhance its desirability. Centrally located to good beaches and provided beach towels and umbrellas. Walk from the bus station was not too long but did need some clearer directions. Staff were friendly however, wifi did not work in rooms

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicTam85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Hotel Paradis is not a true paradise. However, for the price and location it really cannot be beat!

SHORT AND SWEET
PRO: Great location! btwn near main walking street and beach, inexpensive, nice staff, clean
CON: Not luxurious- more like a hostel, amenities missing, not very comfortable bed, walls are thin

After arriving at the train station I walked with my boyfriend to the hotel. It was a manageable walk that took about 20-30 minutes. A previous post mentioned that this walk takes you through a "bad" neighborhood but I beg to differ. The area directly adjacent to the train station (as per usual anywhere) was a bit run -down but it does not feel unsafe.

We were greeted by the staff cordially and given our the key to our room.. We mentioned we wanted to go to the beach and she happily gave us the directions, towels to use and a few less touristy restaurant ideas.

I have no qualms about the cleanliness of our room. The bed however was not the most comfortable and at the time we were there, the air conditioning was not functioning to its full potential. The ceiling was slanted and thus being tall people, the two of us had to be careful. This is normal in a European buildings. We had to check out very early in the morning when the reception wasn't even open yet. They were easily able to accomodate our needs.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#181 of 204 in Nice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel le Petit Trianon
Hotel le Petit Trianon
#105 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#91 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#86 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#80 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Hotel Albert 1er
#39 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradis

Property: Hotel Paradis
Address: 1 rue Paradis, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Paradis 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Paradis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradis Hotel Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing