We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with all the basics”
Review of Hotel Albert 1er

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Albert 1er
Ranked #41 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with all the basics”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This hotel in Nice is right on the promenade, we were surprised that the bus from the airport dropped us right outside the Hotel door!
It has all the basics the rooms are well kept with excellent room service. Breakfast is not included in the tarif however 12euros is a great price for if and when we had breakfast.
The hotel is so central! its location allowed us to walk on the beach (which is across) and shop on the main street right behind it!... The tram stop is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and takes you to the SNCF station (2 stops away) - you can go to Monaco and Cannes and Ventimil (italy from there)...
The hotel has wi-fi and the option to leave your luggage incase you have to check-out and your flight is in the evening.
My suggestion would be to ask for a room with a sea view on a higher floor. The hotel staff is polite too...

On our way back - we took the bus stop in front of the Le MEridien (which is a minutes walk across from the hotel and took route 98)... Other than this - the hotel provides all sorts of information on where to go and how to...

this is a definite recommendation!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    247
    124
    42
    51
See reviews for
100
273
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The Albert !er is on the bus route from Nice airport to the old town and also on the tram line from the railway station. You stop at Albert 1er and the hotel is right there. How convenient is that?
To return to the airport you cross over the park in front of the hotel ( the roads are one way) and there is the bus stop to take you back to the airport.

The rooms are clean and functional but basic. The shower had a powerful blast and there was a good TV. You are a few minutes walk from the Cours Saleya. We did not have breakfast there at the hotel - at 12 euros it is quite expensive. The shops/cafes around the hotel do not open until 9am so, because we had an early start, we had breakfast at the airport.

We stayed 1 night but I would not want to have to stay for more than a couple of nights.

Room Tip: I have no idea of how to choose a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharine186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We arrived at the Hotel via the 98 bus direct from the airport, the journey took only 15mins and the bus stop couldn't be handier, it is only two doors away from the hotel. We had a compact room which had double doors looking out over the park and a smaller window to the side which gave us a sea view. The room had a small fridge and there was a hair drier in the bathroom (bring your own as the wall hairdrier was worse than useless). The bathroom had one of those small baths with high sides which could be difficult to access if you were in any way unfit.
The Albert is currently being redecorated, the walls in the bedrooms have a 1980's ragroll effect which is ghastly but at least they are doing something about it.
The location of this hotel is perfect for transport, proximity to the old town restaurants, markets and shops or the beach and promenade. Be prepared to walk as you will meander through all the narrow streets of the old town, each corner you turn throws up something new. There are loads of little shops and cafes old churches, street theatre and music.
If the weather is fine you might be tempted to swim but be warned the beach is covered in stones so bring beach shoes.
There is a daily flower and veg market around the corner of the hotel at the Opera which is well worth a visit, on Mondays the produce changes to jewellery and bric a brac you could browse all day and spend lots of euro.
I really enjoyed my visit and hope you do too.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed there with my friends for 4 nights. We booked 2 rooms in this hotel and we were very happy with choice !
LOCATION - It is in perfect location - its near the beach (1 minute away ! ), Promenade des Anglais ( 5 min) , all restaurants and clubs, main shopping street ,bus to the airport, bus to Cannes and Monaco is also around 2 minutes away (Cost 1 euro one way ). So its very close to everything . we didnt need to take any transport as everything was within walking distance .
ROOM -its simple but clean and in good condition , there is no noice from the street at night so you can have a good sleep. Worth taking a sea view room as its a lovely room. Basically I can not say anything bad about this hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. So if you looking for something simple , not too expensive and in perfect location I would recommend this hotel. For people who want something posh - I suggest look for something else.

Room Tip: Sea view is a good choise !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aiste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We found this hotel to be perfectly good value for money. The location is excellent. The rooms are clean and are a reasonable size. The breakfast is perfectly adequate for a 3* hotel. Our only criticism was that you are expected to pay 4 euros a day for a key to the room safe.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeWells90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is marketed as 3* but for UK standards it is 2*, however, this is more than made up for by the location which is fantastic for Nice. The hotel is only a couple of 100 meters from the waterfront and also the main square and tram stop. The airport can be reached for €4 from the bus stop outsifde of the Ruhl Casino which is across the square and takes you too and from either terminal at the airport. The bus routes are 99 and 98 with the former going direct to the railway station from where you can get a tram for €1 down to the main square if you dont want to travel along the 7km waterfront,
Flower market is a 5min walk and through the market you arrive at base of the hill at the end of the waterfront which is definately worth climbing.
Breakfast is offered at €12 but we did not take this as there are more than enough places to eat in Nice outside of any hotel.
The rooms are tired with evidence of a few atempts to upgrade that side i would stop here again purely for the location.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are futher from the traffic but you will not escape the city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Worst Hotel I've ever stayed in...Staff were rude, ill-trained and behaved as if they were doing us a favour by letting us stay with them. Location was good which helped get away from the hotel quickly during the day. the hotel is outdated..the standard room we stayed in was tiny...overlooking the road...even though it was sold as overlooking the garden( the garden they are referring to is the one across the road and belongs to another hotel or is a public park).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biji m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 205 in Nice
407 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#47 of 205 in Nice
1,103 reviews
Le Meridien Nice
#74 of 205 in Nice
2,001 reviews
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#76 of 205 in Nice
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albert 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albert 1er

Property: Hotel Albert 1er
Address: 4 avenue des Phoceens, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albert 1er 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera-style 6-story Hotel located in city, across from gardens & beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Albert 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1er Nice
Albert 1er Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing