We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated”
Review of Hotel Albert 1er

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Albert 1er
Ranked #37 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Great location near beach and old city; but too high priced for quality of the furnishings. Room was too loud as it was at front of hotel on very busy boulevard. Do not be fooled by the photo on website....up close it is drab and out-dated...needs major renovation.

Room Tip: ask for room facing rear of hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Albert 1er
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Very tired room and somewhat depressing. Cheap. Great location on edge of old town and a block from water. Cheap. Lack of electrical outlets. Did I mention it was the cheapest hotel in area? My room had a musty smell. Cheap. Towels were like postage stamps. I had to change my reservation in Nice several days before arrival and had few options. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We paid to upgrade to rooms on 5th floor having read bad reviews of rooms on other floors.Our rooms were clean and comfortable.Fridges were provided in both rooms and safes were free.Staff in reception were very helpful and gracious.Location excellent,close to beach restaurants shops public transport.

Room Tip: Book superior room on 5th or 6th floor as these rooms have been renovated and are very comfortable
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The hotel is good for its service and location. It is just 2 min walk from promenade de angle, and 5 min walk to old town where you can enjoy breakfast of dinner. It is also close to beached, shopping and all the staff you need in nice. The rooms are big (normally in french hotels whe rooms are very tiny, so you can harly walk in these rooms), they made our room daily, the bathroom was also clean and nice. I recommend this hotel in Nice. The only dissapainting this was wifi - it was hardly working.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking place massena are very good, Don't buy breakfast in hotel. It is 15 euro...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

As long as you don't care about cleanliness, this hotel is fine. They also claim to have free wifi which was not the case in my room. Sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't. Everything is extremely old, the bathroom tiles are falling off the wall and the locks to the door do not feel safe. I had to jiggle the key for a very long time to get it locked. I refused to eat the breakfast because the food looked disgusting, which is such a shame in this part of the world. Also, there are steps to get up to the lobby, which is not easy with a suitcase. Seems pretty easy that they could add a ramp, especially for handicap travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galapagos16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Ideal location, the hotel is old and is in dire need of refurbishment but the hotel is clean, the breakfast is a typical French affair just a few croissants, ham and plastic cheese. If you are disabled check whether the lift works because I have stayed here twice and the lift has never been operational but the engineers are always coming to fix it tomorrow!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Although this hotel is rated as a 3-star hotel, I question how this rating was established.

The lobby area was unlike any place I have been in my entire life, leaving something to be desired from the very beginning of our visit. It was very messy, cluttered and dirty.

Despite the fact that they advertise renovated rooms on their website, this is in fact not the case for the vast majority of this hotel. This would not have been a problem had the room itself been clean and tidy. Tiles were missing from the shower/tub surround, a thick layer of dust covered vertical surface areas, other larger pieces of dust were visible in open spaces/holes in the ceilings. There was a smell of mold/dirty carpets throughout the hotel and the room.

In addition to the cleanliness of this hotel, safety was a significant concern for us. The doors into the room are not at all substantial, made of thin hollow wood, and the locks did not feel secure. Having to leave the key to the room at the front desk whenever you leave the hotel was not at all desirable either.

We had prepaid for our room but found it to be so horrible that we spent approximately 2-hours in the room locating another hotel and forfeited the nearly $500 CAD (approx. 360 euro) we had paid and went on our way.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here, there are far nicer hotels in the area for the same money.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel West End
#39 of 204 in Nice
1,173 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Royal
#120 of 204 in Nice
667 reviews
Le Meridien Nice
#81 of 204 in Nice
2,113 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albert 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albert 1er

Address: 4 avenue des Phoceens, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £75 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albert 1er 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera-style 6-story Hotel located in city, across from gardens & beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Albert 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1er Nice
Albert 1er Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing