We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit to Hotel Villa la Tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa La Tour
Ranked #128 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Second visit to Hotel Villa la Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Having stayed here 5 years ago we decided that for our last 2 nights in France, in Nice, we would return to the same hotel. Noticed a few changes and realised that there were new owners - lovely lovely couple who go all out to make you so welcome - on arrival we were offered an aperitif of our choice before going out for dinner. Our room was very tiny but delightfully decorated and clean. The breakfast was a little more costly than we had usually paid thru France but it catered for all tastes and nationalities and well worth the cost and certainly was not the usual croissant and coffee. One of our friends traveling with us had a birthday while we were there and a complimentary bottle of French champagne and nibbles were delivered to us on the beautiful little roof top terrace to celebrate. This little hotel in the heart of the old town is a gem which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    154
    60
    27
    31
See reviews for
35
212
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. We paid extra to have a superior room with balcony. The room was big enough, good size bathroom altho the hose on the shower needed repairing, the shower was powerful enough. Comfy beds and the carpet looked new. We found the staff very helpful and as we had a late evening flight they let us keep the room till it was time to leave for the airport bus which we were grateful for. On the down side, as mentioned before the carpets in the corridors and stairs need replacing. I know they have been renovating, but the carpets are badly stained and in some areas splashed with paint and do not give a good impression on first arriving. The reception area has been renovated, but personally I prefered it before, now it has lost its quirky french charm. Would we stay again? Probably not as I thought the prices were too expensive.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChimeneBNice, Propriétaire at Hotel Villa La Tour, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour Monsieur,
je vous remercie de votre commentaire.
Comme vous l'avez bien remarqué, nous agrandissons la réception de l'hôtel et y ajoutons un bar et plus d'espace au lobby.
Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez bien noté ces changements, car maintenant l'hôtel reflète plus nos gouts, notre siècle, une bonne qualité, un excellent service, des matériaux et mobiliers neufs, tout en gardant le charme typiquement français et celui du Vieux Nice.
Fort heureusement, nos clients réguliers ainsi que les nouveaux apprécient l'amélioration que nous faisons au fur et à mesure. Ils partagent ces bons moments de bonheur avec nous chaque jour et nous espérons que comme nous, vous trouverez le bonheur dans un hôtel qui conviendra mieux à vos attentes.
Quand à nous, nous cheminons dans une direction qui nous est propre.
Bien Cordialement,
La Direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Nice little hotel in the Old Town but close to the trams. As I recall 17 rooms of which we had a small one with a view not to the Mediteranean but to the backyard. But it was quiet and the facilities were allright, tv, beautiful "mosquito net" over the bed which was really good. The shower was not suitable for people with a BMI beyond 30. But that corresponds perfect with the staircase which was very narrow, but with charming paintings on the wall. We did not have the breakfast, but saw that it was served "in the doorway" and outside. Quite friendly English-speaking mostly young personnel, although one of them did not know the closest airport bus pick-up place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrotherTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We travel quite frequently and stay in various standards of hotels. This is the first time we are very let down by reviews on trip advisor and misleading photos.
We chose this hotel for my husband's 50th birthday. It basically ruined all the joy of our holiday.
First of all, yes staff is friendly enough and the location is fine. However these are NOT enough for a pleasant stay.
This hotel is shockingly overpriced for what it is.
The rooms are tiny, horribly furnished with dirty, cheap and flimsy furniture. There is only a little, shabby window facing a wall. Room walls are covered with some hideous fabric which is torn in some places.
Paper (!!!) bedside lamps are broken and hang over your head when you lay down in bed.
Bathroom (without a fan) stinks and ammenities are broken. Shower is tiny and full of mould.
There is not enough storage for putting your luggage in.
The carpet is VERY stained and the whole room is covered with dust.
Hotel corridors have awful, dirty carpet and hideous wall decorations. It is dingy and depressing!
The hotel terrace they talk about is just big enough for 2 people to sit next to each other.
Do you get the picture? I promise we are not over fussy or mean people, it is just that bad! Please take time to see the actual pictures.
I have been in many hotels in even lower ranking however never seen such disgrace! We didn't expect squeaky clean marble bathroom or super modern furniture however we expected some simple hygiene rules!
Also I should mention this room is classified as a "Superior Double"!! We talked to the receptionist to find out what possibly this room was superior to, we were told it is superior because it is on the first floor!! What a criteria!
We even thought of losing all the money we paid and tried to find another hotel during our stay because it was a special occasion for us, however told it was not possible.
The worst bit of all, the room is located right above a garbage, where industrial size of rubish is dumped all though the night which is very noisy. We were attacked by many mosquitos obviously love hanging around in this filthy environment.
For the prices they charge people to stay in this dump, they can surely afford to paint this place, give people some basics such as clean curtains, fresh carpets and working bed side lights.
Do not fall for the misleading pictures. It is a big waste of your hard earned money. I should also add the sad looking hotel breakfast which they charge 12 euro for! I think these people lost the connection with reality.
We felt so uncomfortable that we wanted to cut our holiday short and go back home. I am speechless about how they got rated 3 stars but it is a big shame...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Countmypearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChimeneBNice, Propriétaire at Hotel Villa La Tour, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Sir,
First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your visit.
We feel very sorry that you did not like your stay either in our hotel nor did you like the charm of the old town of Nice. Indeed our rooms are not too big, but we are in a protected site, building of the 18th century, and our rooms are full of charm and we do respect the architecture of the area.
For your kind information, we have changed all the beds, mattresses of all the 17 rooms very recently, last May 2013.
The little road at the back is a charming little one, just at the bottom of the famous tower of the Franciscans, and here also, we cannot and are not allowed to touch them. In the room in wihch you stayed, the curtains are new as well as the bed. Soon, the wall and the carpet will be done, as we are refurbishing all the rooms.
We have superior rooms on each of our 3 floors!
Our breakfast is a full buffet with hot and cold, ham, eggs, cheese, fresh fruits, juice, yogurts, cereals, cakes, a selection of breads inlcuding famous olive breads from the South & french pastries etc..We do serve breakfast inside or outside on our private terrasse
We deeply regret that you have not shared your disapointments with us when you were here, as it would have guven us to find some solutions for you.
We nevertheless hope that you did appreciate our little attentins during your stay.
Thanking you for having spent some time with us, and we do invite you for a next stay to experienceour 'Art de Vivre': another room and our restaurant which will open very shortly.
Best Regards,
Hotel Villa La Tour ***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Nice hotel at a perfect location in the old town and also close to city centre and the beach.
Bus and train stop is only a few minutes walk from the hotel.
Personnell at the hotel was very friendly and helpful.
We had a mini suite (room 103) and the only thing I missed was a balcony. However, I would surely go back and stay at this hotel when I make my next trip to Nice.
Rooms are small but normally you only use the room for sleeping. For me that's ok.

Overall we had a very good stay at this hotel. Recommended by me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raywes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Good position in" old town" Nice. Staff friendly, continental breakfast plentiful. The décor rather "tired" in places and the room very small. No parking available and expensive in public car park opposite Hotel. Satisfactory for a short stay, if disabled, there is no lift !! Generally clean ie; linen and" on suite" facility. Renovation in progress on our visit but not a problem, hopefully when alterations complete, negative comments will cease.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

A nice little hotel ideal for a couple of nights. Lovely staff and a complementary drink on arrival. The room was clean but small with small amount of hanging space. No lift, so a large heavy case would be difficult to drag up the steep stairs. I would assume the 100 euros a night price was because of the good area, as breakfast is not included in the price. Not really good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony as the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peach44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#102 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Hotel Albert 1er
#42 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa La Tour

Property: Hotel Villa La Tour
Address: 4 rue de la Tour, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Old Town / Vieux Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa La Tour 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel where you will be staying during your visit to Nice is conveniently located, din the historic section of Old Nice, between Place Masséna and Place Garibaldi, bordering the Promenade du Paillon, which stretches as far as the beaches, and within walking distance from the various points of interest in the heart of town. Crowned by the Saint-François Tower (built in the 18th century to provide a steeple to the Franciscan monastery, then in the 19th-c., the City of Nice added a clock, now the tallest building in the city), Hôtel Villa La Tour is a charming spot with a stunning intimate setting designed to make you feel right at home. At Villa La Tour, you'll meet lovers, businessmen, athletes and actors, all here to seek out the charms of Southern France and Old Nice, the nearby seaside, nature, shops, outstanding restaurants, Theatres, Opera Convention venues (Acropolis), des museums (MAMAC, Chagall, Matisse and more). Here, you're at the centre of it all! This cosy boutique hotel has only 17 guestrooms, which are often full, so it is indispensable to book as early as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Tour
La Tour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing