We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh god it needs a good clean!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Baccarat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Baccarat
Ranked #8 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Level Contributor
153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Oh god it needs a good clean!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I can't say enough about the staff, they are super friendly on arrival, organised and helpfull. Check in is a grease. The elevator has a sign on it saying out of order yet they were nice enough to let us put our bags in and send them up to the second floor. So I'm not sure what's really wrong with it or they just don't want people using it. Now I'm not sure wether it was just our room or if it's similar for other but the first thing we noticed was the smell. Grose, damp mouldy smell that stunk the whole room out. The rooms are small and dark, no bed lights, only one light for the whole room. A pulled open my towel to have a shower and a large clump of long black hair came out o I'm not sure wether the towel was actually clean all not. The bed my friend was going to choose had sheets on that had not been washed and some kind of body fluid on them. The bathroom walls are mouldy and same with the bath mat. The toilet and basin was reasonably clean and the rooms were pretty quiet. They also strangely had only three lockers for a 6bed dorm so you have to be in first. The kitchen is also a bit dirty, and doesn't have enough basic utensils like knifes and cups. The thing that made staying here enjoyable was the cool people you meet. On our last night there they had a pasta night where you pay three euro for pasta and wine, a great way to get people mixing and mingleing from a joining hostels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ainsley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    44
    31
    6
    13
See reviews for
3
29
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed here with 3 friends for 7 nights. Dan (the owner) was very friendly and accommodating throughout our stay. We were upgraded to a private 4 person room with private bathroom and TV, aircon for the same price as a dorm. The hostel is a great way to meet people and make friends. We went to two spaghetti parties for €3 with spaghetti and unlimited wine. Make sure you get there early or on time to get a good seat. Would highly recommend staying here. Thanks Dan !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annamaryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

It's been nearly 2mths since my bf and i started travelling. We read the reviews on trip asvisor about free champagne parties here and made a booking for 4 nights. Soooo glad we booked!

There's free champagne party with an awesome DJ every second night, alternate nights you pay €3 for all you can eat pasta and wine. Most nights we would all head out to hit the card and dance floor after the champagne parties and pasta nights.

This place was booked out during our stay, and everyone got to know and meet so many other fun partying travellers. There're so many common areas to hang out and talk to ppl, free wifi everywhere, outside courtyard and airconed common rooms as well as so many areas with desktop computers.

We stayed in a 8 bed dorm with a bathroom inside. The rooms were super clean. Every room has aircon.

Also loved the kitchen here, they have everything you need to cook your own meal if you're on a tight budget.

Location is the best, 1min walk from train station and bus stop around the corner. 10min walk to the beach. 1min walk to shops and supermarkets.

The staff here are also super friendly and accommodating. We wanted a drink last night but places nearby were shut, so they gave us a bottle if champagne for free to drink here! So generous!

Couldn't be happier with this place. Thank you for an amazing stay! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XiaoHoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

The hostel/hotel had all you can eat, all you can drink a few times a week for two euros! It was an awesom way to get to know the other guests and the people that worked there partied with us :) We spent the first night in a eight person mixed dorm which had no windows, but it was tidy and ok, though there was only one key to the room which was a little weird and you didn't feel very safe leaving your stuff in the room.
In the morning we went to the reception just to ask for a map and the owner happened to be at the reception and he - for whatever reason, I don't know - offered us a two-person hotel room on the top floor for the same price as the dorm!! We stayed two more nights and became good friends with the owner and the workers! :))

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaSofiaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iraq
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We arrived in Nice as we were passing through to Venice from the South of France. It was clean, tidy, there was free access to the internet and they had a pasta & wine party. Need I say more!? They were extremely friendly and accommodating and gave great advice about where to go and eat etc. Would definitely recommend them!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. I had train issues on my way to Nice and they kindly moved my reservation forward a day without any advanced notice. The rooms were old and noise from other rooms travelled easily. I normally have no trouble sleeping with ear plugs but this was an exception. No toilet paper in the bathroom and noisy water pipes right beside my bed. Very friendly staff and a free champagne party was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

this is so far the best hotel I have been around the world.
Staff is solo friendly that you immediately feel like a part of the family. They help you outside of their working hours and dont hesitate to help you to settle in the town if you looking for a long stay.
As for the hotel itself, there are FREE CHAMPAGNE PARTY every night starting half May, ending in September. Honestly, all champagne is free all the time. So while you socialising you meet so many people because the common room is obviously full when there is free drink. I personally made some truly wonderful friendships and I felt there like it was my second home.
Kitchen is really spacious and well equipped, rooms are clean and you get FREE TOWELS.
The hotel is located just 1 minute walk from the train station and walking distance to the historical centre and the beach. The best location actually as you often want to visit surrounding cities such as Cannes, Monaco etc...so train is just second away as well as supermarket where you can buy all you grocery and cook it in the hotel
I have no doubts to recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in Nice.
It is my number 1 hotel in the world so far.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skaly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#92 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#98 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#87 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baccarat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baccarat

Property: Hotel Baccarat
Address: 39 rue d Angleterre, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Baccarat 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Baccarat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing