We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short stop”
Review of Hotel Trocadero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Trocadero
Ranked #95 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here recently and had a good stop, it is a bit of a 'Upmarket backpacker come budget hotel' but not bad for an overnight stop.

Location: Okay, next to train station and tram stop which is very handy for getting into the tourist area, it is a bit of a walk (15 mins) though on foot. General surrounding area is a little bit poor. Tram is 1.50Euro for 1 trip or 5 euro for 24hrs.

Room: Not bad if a bit small, toilet was very small and bed was very hard however not to bad for an overnight stop considering you only really expect to spend a few hours awake in it.

Restaurant: No restaurant, eating options locally a bit limited, best to go into tourist area. Supermarket around the corner though.

Service: Desk staff very helpful, internet readily available.

Overall: A good overnighter, not the best location of rooms but at the price cant really complain, next time I would try to go a little more central if spending more than a night or two.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonBclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for two nights during a stay in Nice. The room was clean, but the bathroom had an unfortunate scent all the time.

Reception staff was very good and spoke good english. The area around the hotel was a bit dodgy at night, but very good location if you're traveling by train (Nice Ville).

All in all best for short stays. A place to sleep, with very affordable prices.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mariuskavli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I could leave a good review for this hotel if it wasnt that expensive...i think for that price they should make an effort if its not on the size of the rooms maybe on the services...

soooo overpriced
the room is really small and the bathroom tiny (you can almost pee and brush your teeth at the same time)
There is a smell in the room, cant really say where it comes from but its def not nice
Cigaret burn on the bed sheets
The staff is rude and dont even look at you when you ask something
You have to leave the key card at the reception everytime you leave the hotel (I personally dont like it)
Its true that the remote of the aircon isnt in the room, you have to go ask for it
The location is not really good
Oh and you know when the people upstairs are going to the toilets because you hear the water flushing (like really loud)

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Matamelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Location excellent on a fairly quiet street just a moments walk from Nice-ville train station and connecting bus services with the airport. Area had a reputation for being a bit dodgy at night but didn't have any problems, there's just some youths who hang about at the local convenience stores but all was fine. The staff were pleasant, very friendly, and helpful for local information, maps and keeping bags out of hours. Not sure that the room could possibly be any smaller but it does the job if you plan to spend all of your time out and about. We used this hotel as a cost-effective option for the Monaco Grand Prix 2014 and would use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back alley for cool air and zero noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1journeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First of all, we are welcomed by a not quite nice staff, I would not say he is rude but he is not helpful and always disappeared from the counter. This was quite inconvenience as the hotel required the guest to return the keys as they left the hotel and request the cards again when they come back.

The toilet was not renovated, do not trust the professional photos as shown in the booking websites as I thought they only showed the picture of the renovated rooms. There was no ventilation in the toilet and so you must close the toilet door after you used it. Towels provided were also unacceptable, they were grey in colour and looked very old, even they changed everyday, all the towels we received in the 5 days stay still looked the same.

The rooms also has a bad smell, possibly came from the carpet. Also, there were limited facilities, e.g. no kettle and no toiletries provided. Although they said the room is air-conditioned, the remote control was kept in the reception and only provided when you requested it.

Last but not least, the breakfast which charged at EUR8 each was overpriced. The French buffet breakfast only included 2 croissants, some cereals and unlimited white breads.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and i and another couple who are friends of ours stayed for 5 nights in gp week. we usually stay just down the road in a international brand hotel , but when i tried to book in october this was full so i tried Trocadero as we had walked past in previous years and caught a glimpse of this. our room was on the 3rd floor and we had a shower as opposed to a bath which we preferred. room was more than good enough with a nice balcony. Helpfull staff and just a nice feeling greeted us everyday. Next year we will be certainly booking this again . Railway to monaco is within 100yds and also a main shopping road. yes you do get groups of youths about at night but not once did we feel threatened. The seafront is 20 mins walk away and we did venture there one night to visit the Hardrock cafe but being late at night we taxied back. Very convienient for the return to the airport by bus No99 at 12 euros each. we did not have breakfast here as there are numerous cafes just round the corner. see you next may guys and thank you to hotel trocadero for making our trip very pleasant.

Room Tip: wifi can be a bit hit and miss sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights. My expectations were not high as this hotel was relatively good value. Ahead of our stay I wrote to the hotel on two occasions to verify a couple of points. I received a timely response on both occasions. Hotel was good, needed extra pillows etc which were delivered promptly. Highlight of our stay was the service received, particularly from Thomas. He was always cheerful, incredibly helpful with perfect spoken English. He even taught us some new French words to help us at the station. During our stay there way a train strike and he was able to offer us alternative transport options should we need them. He is a great ambassador for the hotel and left a positive impression on us all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rookka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Comte de Nice
#152 of 203 in Nice
773 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#93 of 203 in Nice
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#114 of 203 in Nice
249 reviews
Hotel Parisien
#94 of 203 in Nice
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trocadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trocadero

Address: 7 rue de Belgique, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £34 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Trocadero 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Trocadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trocadero Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing