We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Ranked #3 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, but....”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is an excellent hotel in a perfect location for exploring all that Nice has to offer. The hotel staff are all very welcoming, polite and eager to please. Most of them speak perfect English (among many other languages indicated by flags on their name badges) so trying out our basic French was overtaken by their linguistic talents. We had booked a "Queen Room", but we were upgraded to a "King Room" on check-in. Possibly the only difference was the size of the bed, but we're not sure. The room was very comfortable with everything you would need: comfortable bed, crisp fresh bed linen, extra pillows, large thick towels, bathrobes & slippers. Air conditioning/heating fully controllable from within the room, and a heated towel rail in the bathroom, also controllable by the guest. Substantial sized bathroom with bath and a large shower cubicle, also a separate toilet. There was a large balcony with table and chairs - we overlooked the back and could see the mountains over the roof tops. There's a lovely pool and a well equipped gym, with plenty of towels available for using these facilities. Our only criticism would be the breakfast 'procedure': it's very much a self-service operation apart from being served with tea or coffee, which comes in substantially large enough pots, but we would have to hunt for a jug of milk to go with our tea and coffee - it wasn't obvious where they were kept; then we had to ask for tea spoons. It would be more convenient if these were all served at the same time. Also on two out of our three breakfasts, we found the coffee mugs, already on the set tables, were not clean, and had to ask for them to be replaced. In a hotel of this standard, one would expect clean crockery. The ambiance in the breakfast room was, overall, chaotic. However, this wouldn't put us off staying there again, or recommending it to others. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following to your 3 nights stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We are very pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that you especially enjoyed our indoor and outdoor swimming pool, our fitness and the comfort of your spacious king room with city view. The main differences between the queen room and the king room are the type of bed, the surface area (27 square meters for the queen room compared to 35 square meters for the king room) and the balcony for the king room.

Nevertheless, we are absolutely sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the breakfast service. Please be assured that we pay all our attention to your feedback and that we take the necessary measures to improve your experience.

We hope to welcome you back very soon at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée during your future stay in Nice.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,834
    725
    215
    70
    43
See reviews for
533
1,476
131
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Well maintained, modern hotel across from the ocean. Five minutes from the TGV train station. Walking district with restaurants around the corner. Indoor and outdoor pool and access to the beach. Excellent concierge and front desk. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TopDoc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your recommendation and review on TripAdvisor, following to your family stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We were very pleased to welcome you in our property. That is a real pleasure to hear that you had a very good stay and that you especially enjoyed our central location and the easy access from the train station and the international airport, our outdoor and indoor swimming pool heated all year long and our Concierges and Front Desk.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back during your future stay in France and on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingolstadt
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at the Hotel for four nights and we had a really excellent experience from our arrivals until our depart. An agreable (standard!) room with an vice view on the beach and the Promenade d`Anglais, but also quiet. The decor of the Hotel is modern and could be a 5*Hotel at any other place of the world, but rooms and facilities are very comfortable and agreable (much better than most of "typically" French Hotels in this category I know.

But the best experience we made about the hospitality at this place. Starting with the check-in that was perfect an in a very friendly way fromthe Concierge, the Valet-Parking-Service, the room-service and the service at bars and restaurants was always really perfect and in an enormous friendly way. Yes, I know, if I stay at a 5*Hotel I expect beeing treated in this way. But my expectation an reality are often very different. This time there was really nothing to criticise. Only a small for service was the Check-out: The doorman brought the car, but we were astonished that nobody took our luggage until we were told that it is already stored in the car.
Many thanks to the complete staff, that made us such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterbayern1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, following to your last stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

That is a pleasure to hear that you had a perfect stay and that you really enjoyed the quality of the service from your check-in to the Concierges and valet service through our Bar and Restaurant. We pay all our attention to your feedback concerning the check-out and your luggages: please be assured that we take the necessary measures in order to improve your 5* experience.

We thank you for your recommendation and will be very pleased to welcome you back at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée during your future stay in Nice and on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had an excllent stay at the Hyatt Nice in late February. The service was fantastic, especially when my husband and I fell ill at the same time! The hotel organised a doctor, picked up our medication at the pharmacy, made us special food, and prolonged our stay at the same rate we had already booked at several months in advance.
Yes, it is not cheap, but we had a fantastic stay (also before we fell ill).

Room Tip: The "partial sea view" were great, with a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaturneBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to welcome you at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée and that is a pleasure to hear that you really enjoyed the professionnalism and attention of our staff. Your comfort and satisfaction are our main preoccupations.

We hope to welcome you back very during your future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Good points:
Right on the promenade with sea views.
Easy journey on the 98 bus from the airport which drops you right outside the hotel.
We paid for a city view room, but we ended up in a side room which had both city mountains and sea view - bonus!
Good club sandwich on the terrace restaurant.
Lovely bright, modern room and very comfy bed.
Lovely viewpoint for the Carnival which runs along the promenade Feb/March.

Bad points:
British Airways didn't include breakfast in our deal (much to our surprise as we were told at check in we did) and breakfast in the hotel seemed expensive so we went elsewhere to Sarao which was nice.
The room had no tea and coffee making facilities which was annoying as we had a lovely balcony where we could have enjoyed this.
Slow service on the floor 3 restaurant bar terrace. Lovely place to sit but a long wait to get anything.
Lifts in the hotel were very slow to arrive and no staircase alternative.
Wardrobe and bedroom middle door seemed to annoyingly overlap and so you couldn't get into the wardrobe without shutting the dividing door.

Room Tip: Side room with both city and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betheball1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

That was a pleasure to welcome you at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée and we are very pleased to hear that you really enjoyed our central position on the Promenade des Anglais, the city and mountain view from your room and your club sandwich on our sea view terrace.

Concerning your booking with British Airways, indeed it does not include breakfast. The international buffet breakfast served in our Madison room and on our terrace with sea view is at 28€ per person.
Concerning tea and coffee making facilities and the service in our restaurant and bar, we thank you for your feedback. Please be assured that we pay all our attention to your comment and that we are working in improving our 5* experience.
Finally, stairs are at your disposal if you do not want to take the elevators.

We thank you for your feedback and will be very pleased to welcome you back at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée during your future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel is right on the Promenade des Anglaise and a short walk to the old town. Check in was smooth and quick. The room was quite spacious, clean if a bit tired, with a good size bathroom and separate toilet all equipped to the standard you would expect from a 5 star hotel, however there was nothing exceptional about the accommodation. Staff were friendly.
Breakfast was, for some reason, served in a hall above the casino. The variety and choice were limiting and quite disappointing and even though there weren’t many guests around some foods ran out quickly and were not replenished.
We chose the hotel because of the good reviews. We knew it was refurbished but hadn’t appreciated that none of its original features remained which made it look just like another hotel. Would have preferred La Negresco down the road for a lot more charm and atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavJo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following to your stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and our professional staff. Concerning the breakfast, indeed it was served in the Azur room during New Year’s Eve holidays in order to offer you a comfortable breakfast with sea view.

Concerning the choice in the breakfast buffet, we pay all our attention to your feedback: please be assured that your satisfaction is our main preoccupation and taht we are working in improving your 5* experience.

Finally, we are absolutely to hear that about your disappointment concerning the Art Deco atmosphere of our property.

We hope to keep your confidence and to welcome you back during a future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Our 3rd Christmas at the Palais. A wonderful way to spend a few days in Nice. Usual good weather at this time replaced by storms off the sea. Great to watch if not walk. Hotel is so easy to use, and great concierges. Their advice is always worth taking. Change to Hyatt meant deals not so good as before. Christmas Eve dinner much improved though. Sea view remains our favourite room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Strawb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediapalais, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your recommendation and feedback, following to your third stay during Christmas at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

That is a pleasure to welcome you every time and we are very pleased to hear that you had a beautiful stay and Christmas Eve dinner. We thank you for your recommendation concerning our Concierges. Your comfort and satisfaction are our main preoccupations.

We sincerely thank you for your confidence. We will be very pleased to welcome you at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée during your future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Negresco
#16 of 205 in Nice
2,257 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Le Meridien Nice
#74 of 205 in Nice
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Property: Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Address: 13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nice
#1 Business Hotel in Nice
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#2 Green Hotel in Nice
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel Nice
Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel
Palais De La Mediterranee Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing