We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a nice hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Ranked #3 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Overall a nice hotel....”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Options for luxury in Nice is somewhat limited, but his is a good alternative. I would rate it as a 4-star hotel truly though.

The lobby was nice, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our rooms did not have an ocean view, but looked inward towards the city instead (which was not the best view). This hotel was purchased recently by Hyatt, so I know it's about to undergo major renovations. It needs it, at least the rooms do. They aren't terrible, but they are due. We did have nice big balconies which were out of the wind, so that aspect was perfect!

We had breakfast at the hotel on Sunday morning, which was buffet style. It was very nice, as we ate outside looking at an amazing view of the ocean.

The "beach" is just rocks. If you want sand on your beach, head over to Cannes!

The area restaurants were great (head North and Northwest). We had the best Pizza ever at a place behind the flower market...

Overall a nice hotel in a great location for walking to shops, restaurants, markets (and even the train station for a bit more of a walk)...

Room Tip: An ocean view is beautiful, but if the weather is crisp, the patio will be windy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmjones9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediapalais, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

That was a pleasure to welcome you at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditérranée and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the professionalism and attentiveness of our staff and our central location. Indeed, our location is perfect to discover Nice and the French Riviera from Cannes to Monaco.

Concerning the buffet breakfast, it is always a wonderful moment to have a breakfast facing the sea to start a beautiful day in Nice.

We are absolutely sorry to hear about your disappointment concerning the decoration of your room with city view. Please be assured that we pay all our attention to your feedback and that we are working in improving your experience.

We hope to welcome you back at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée during your future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,814
    717
    211
    68
    43
See reviews for
522
1,459
129
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed here twice and both time I had an excellent experience. I recommend it for its position and its qualities. The position is marvellous, it is just on the Promenade des Anglais and it also has a great Casino.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauroBrandani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediapalais, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to sincerely thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

That is always a pleasure to welcome you at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée. We are very pleased to hear that you had a very good stay and that you especially enjoyed our quality of service and our central location. Indeed, our hotel is located just a few steps away from the old town and the shopping area: our location on the Promenade des Anglais is perfect to discover and the French Riviera.

We thank you for your recommendation and will be very pleased to welcome you back at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée during your future stay in Nice and on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop Notts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

First the positives. This is truly a lovely hotel, the welcome we received and the quality and attentiveness of the staff was superb. The room was spotless and a really comfortable bed. All of which should be expected for the price per night. The location is also spot on.
What was a bit of a disappointment was that for two of our days there was also a conference in the hotel that meant the facilities (pool, bar , restaurant) were not always available. I would be surprised if the conference had not been booked months in advance and to be only told the day before this via a note through the door was not the method of communication I would expect. We did not pay the extra for a sea view as we did not plan to use the balcony much but what view we did have was not great.
The positives did outweigh the negatives and as I tend not to let things bother me it was still a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveM1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediapalais, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, following to your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

That was a pleasure to welcome you and we are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel and that you especially enjoyed the attentiveness of our staff, the quality of service and the comfort of your room.

Nevertheless, we are absolutely sorry to hear about your disappointment concerning the organization of a conference in the hotel during your stay and the view from your room. Please be assured that we pay all our attention to your feedback in order to improve your experience. Indeed, there was a medical congress taking place at the hotel on these dates, and the access to the swimming pool has been closed during the cocktail at the beginning of the evening, as we informed on the signage in front of the swimming pool.

We will be very pleased to welcome you back very soon at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Met with a smile
Found a room even though we arrived early
The room was lovely and overlooked the internal courtyard with sea views
The food and view in the courtyard cafe was lovely and really good value for hotel food
( fresh local dish of the day excellent)
Couldn't fault the place ;) def going back for a second stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onlydovescry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediapalais, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to sincerely thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, following to your stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We are very pleased to learn that you really enjoyed our restaurant, the comfort of our room and its wonderful sea view. Concerning our Restaurant Le 3e, our Chef Cyril CHEYPE offers a Mediterranean cuisine: local seasonal products are carefully selected to highlight delicious and Mediterranean gastronomy. It is always a pleasure to have a delicious lunch or dinner on our terrace with sea view!

We thank you for your recommendation. That will be a pleasure to welcome you back at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée during your future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We are actually here on our honeymoon and this hotel is exactly below the par for service and maintenance.... when we arrived on Sunday we had 4 pieces of luggage and there were no doormen or anyone to welcome us or assist us with our luggage. The lobby was empty, so I'm not sure what the staff was busy doing. The room is not a 4 or 5 star room, the bed looked like someone made it carelessly. The is major stains on the carpet, the chair fabric needs a change, the towels are rough and need to be replaced, the rooms are 2 out of 10. The bathroom does not have a soap holder....why??? So they leave it on a paper pad....the then gets the soap papery instead soapy!! The pool is lovely and the concierge is amazing, great personalities. I would say they could use some upgrading in the rooms and the door staff really need to show up!

Room Tip: Water view rooms are for sure great but we could not even get upgraded to pay for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shahrouz a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

That was a pleasure to welcome you at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée. We are very pleased to hear that you really enjoyed our indoor and outdoor swimming pool, which is heated all year long, and the recommendations and personalities of our Concierges.

Nevertheless, we are absolutely sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction concerning your arrival, your room and bathroom. Please be assured that we pay all our attention to your feedback: we have noted your comment and we are making researches in order to improve your experience. Concerning the soap holder, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced: unfortunately this might be an error as this is a standard in all our bathrooms.

We hope to welcome you back during your future stay on the French Riviera and in Nice. Please be assured that your comfort and satisfaction are our main preoccupations.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hyatt for 3 nights in late May. While the location was first rate, nothing else met the same standard. We paid for "ocean view" and had a courtyard pool view facing the sea. Don't pay a premium for room 923. Though we were on the 9th floor, columns blocked our view of the beach. I understand the historical significance of the original architecture. However, guests should not be penalized, and certainly shouldn't pay a premium for an obstructed view. Balconies afforded little privacy and were always filled with smokers. The shower stalls were tiny and the faucets needed constant temperature adjustment. We had just arrived from a cruise and our shipboard showers were more comfortable and efficient.
Plan to live out of your suitcase as there are few drawers for your clothes.
The staff walked around looking busy. However, they were not very helpful. It took 3 requests to get our coffee at breakfast one morning. By the way, breakfast was mediocre at best. Our rate included breakfast. But, the host/hostess questioned our status on the 3 mornings - we had to argue our case each day. It is a shame that a hotel at such an ideal location doesn't deliver the goods. We will return to Nice - but, never return to the Hyatt.

Room Tip: Don't pay for ocean view. You will face the sea, but not have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review and feedback on TripAdvisor.

That was a real pleasure to welcome you recently at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location, which is ideal to discover Nice and the French Riviera from Cannes to Monaco.

Nevertheless, we are absolutely sorry to learn about your dissatisfaction concerning your room and the equipment of your bathroom. Your room 923 is a sea view room. Located on the 9th floor, the view is over the top of our façade. Consequently, this room is totally facing the sea and you can have a view on the beach through the columns of our Art Deco façade. The terrace and swimming pool of the hotel are located on the third floor.
Concerning your breakfast and the quality of service, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. Please be assured that we pay all our attention to your feedback in order to improve your experience.

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for a night while travelling through France.

We found the hotel to be clean, modern and spacious.

We were not happy with the pool being closed for renovations during January - isn't that something you should put on your website so we know that when we book?

We were also unhappy with the attitude of the doorman - again do I have to ask to have my car parked or seek assistance with my bags in a 5 star hotel? To be fair though, staff at the front desk were excellent, offering us a map, recommendations and even an umbrella. They were impressive.

The room itself was okay - not what we expected for a 5 star. WiFi was good and the breakfast was outstanding!

The location of the hotel itself is the best part - right in the heart of Nice.

Would we stay here again - not sure, it would depend on the price!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sydney1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, following to your stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée in January this year.

We are very pleased to hear that you really enjoyed our central location, the comfort of our hotel and the quality of your breakfast.

Concerning the pool, we are absolutely sorry to hear about your disappointment. The information about the closure of our swimming pool for annual maintenance was published on our website and our Reservation department sent to each of our guest following to their booking an email mentioning that the swimming pool will be closed during their stay.

Concerning the attitude of our doorman, we have noted your comment and do research in order to know what could happen.

We will be very pleased to welcome you back at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée. Please be assured that we will pay all our attention to your comfort and satisfaction.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Negresco
#14 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Property: Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Address: 13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#1 Family Hotel in Nice
#1 Business Hotel in Nice
#2 Green Hotel in Nice
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel Nice
Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel
Palais De La Mediterranee Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing