We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Ranked #3 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montigny-le-Bretonneux, France
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!!”
Reviewed 3 May 2009

I was expecting 'Palais de la Méditerranée' to be a business hotel without charm. I was dead wrong! It does belong to the 'luxury' category, with a perfect location and very good value considering cost of accomodation in the 'Côte d'Azur'. The hotel is 20 minutes away from the airport (30 to 35 minutes if heavy traffic), it's around 30 Eur by taxi.

Usually, when speaking about upgrades, I am not very lucky. But for our first stay at this hotel we had a 4-category upgrade (from deluxe room => executive room city view => executive room sea view => business suite => ocean junior suite). We had made our booking through Amex FHR Program and we had the usual benefits (early check-in / late check-out / breakfast included).

The room was very nice, bright, modern, with windows on three sides with a view over the 'Promenade des Anglais' and the beach, and a balcony over the hotel pool. Large bathroom with natural light, double sink, bath and separate shower with Annick Goutal products. Despite the heavy traffic there is no noise inside thanks to a very good isolation.

Staff is pleasant & smiling, but a little more people at the reception and at the hotel entrance to help you with your luggage would be better.

Restaurant is ok, good cuisine with high quality products, service is not perfect (I guess there are many trainees) but having lunch there was nice. We had our breakfast served on the balcony, it was the best way to finish our stay before coming back to Paris!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cedric&Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,879
    745
    219
    77
    45
See reviews for
569
1,504
134
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

great rooms we had a superior one overlooking sea
No tea and coffee making facilites when you just wanted to chill in room ( room service expensive)
Breakfast wasnt included ans was 27 euros each , we went in cafes for 7/10 eurosa few steps away from hotel
Casino joined onto hotel handy
Staff lovely very helpful

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

This is a fantastic hotel and should be the number one ranked hotel in Nice. The location is the best. The hotel is beautiful with large rooms, comfortable bed and large bathrooms. The hotel facilities are great, with fantastic gym and pools. The concierge is incredibly knowlegable and very helpful with restaurant recommendations etc. High speed internet is availble in the rooms with NO EXTRA CHARGE. Room service is also great with reasonable prices compared with the rest of the French Riviera. I would definitely recommend this hote and I would love to go back to Nice again just to stay at this magnificent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We couldn't decide if to stay here or at the Meridien further along the Promenade but in the end plumped for the Palais. It wasn't very atmospheric, a large hotel with lots of marble with not a very good view. The rather odd way its built means you only get to see bits of the Mediterranean and not a full sea view as you would at the Meridien. That said it was in a great location on the Promenade des Anglais and you could walk most places in a couple of minutes. The staff at reception were friendly, although I wouldn't say the same in the restaurant at breakfast. The rooms were on the small side but perfectly fine. It was a modern, efficient hotel but with little personal service.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brill95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Overall our stay at the hotel met our expectations. We knew that we had to pay over the odds to get a sea view room and we had not planned to eat in the hotel. The sea view is slightly blocked by the front of the building but it was still ok. The food in the hotel was very expensive (£23 for a BLT sandwich) but in keeping with a 5* hotel. Location was great near the old town and great restaurants. Room was spacious and very clean. Service was excellent throughout our stay. Pool was an added bonus. Overall a great hotel to stay at for a special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

This hotel would be great for business or if you have had enough culture and just want corporate safe rooms and service. It really lacked character (except the outside of the building). The seaview rooms with balconies all had obstructed views through pillars of the hotel and lots of loud traffic outside. It didnt have the authentic France experience we were hoping for. In hindsight, maybe it wouldve been smarter to stay in one of the hotels outside of nice built into the cliff.. 10 min away!

All the being said, the staff of the Palais were wonderful. The conceirge Vincent especially was so helpful. The breakfast was great. The rooms super clean (although oddly no in room movies and they charge a fortune to use their internet).

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

My wife and I stayed there for 3 days at the end of March 2009. It got a good review here at Trip Advisor, but I have to say I was not prepared for just how beautiful this hotel is. The lobby and the amenities are wonderful and the room itself was truly fabulous (we had room 711). It had a sea view and a small terrace. Finally the hotel staff, especially the concierges, were extremely helpful and spoke nearly fluent English, which helped considering our limited French. And the hotel is very conveniently located right on the Promenade, across from the beach, and very close walking distance to the shops of New Town and to Old Town Nice. I highly recommend the hotel. It may be a bit pricey, but if you have the extra funds it's worth it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel Negresco
#18 of 204 in Nice
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#80 of 204 in Nice
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Property: Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Address: 13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nice
#1 Business Hotel in Nice
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#2 Green Hotel in Nice
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel Nice
Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel
Palais De La Mediterranee Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing