We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Ranked #3 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Everything was just about perfect at this hotel. The staff are incredibly charming, friendly, and helpful. I've stayed in hotels all over the world and this one has to be one of the top two or three. Great location on beach in Nice. Easy walk to everything. Beautiful room, spacious by any standards. Excellent amenities such as heated indoor/outdoor pool, steam room, sauna, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalGalStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,827 - 1,833 of 3,084 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2010

A really smashing hotel! Every attention to detail- in fact when we mentioned that we were away on a break minus our children to celebrate our wedding anniversary they arrived with a sparkiling wine and fruit platter within minutes! fab views from room and loved the pool!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We stayed here for a long weekend in February. We have been to Nice many times and stayed in more expensive and more basic hotels, depending on the time of year, whether we have the kids with us, and our budget for that trip. However, this was our first stay at Le Palais, and what a joy. It combined the friendliness and approachability of staff in smaller concerns with an understated luxury that in my view nothing in Nice matches.

We had breakfast included in the price we paid, and this was well worth it (otherwise 27 euros per head). The pool and bar are fabulous, and the sea view from our balcony really made our trip special. Some of the other better class hotels in Nice are disappointing and well in need of refurbishment, but Le Palais sparkles at every turn. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristielili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

The location is perfect. There is a wonderful pool, the rooms are marvelous. The staff was nice. This hotel is really first class.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Srg_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Full disclosure: I'm a jaded hotel executive and we're adventurous but spoiled and demanding travelers. The Palais is one place where we're happy to go and pay the rate they have earned the right to ask. Seldom does one find a hotel of this modern style and youthful character in such a "classic", couldn't-be-better location. Not only do you have the Promenade at your front door, you have the entire ped zone, a quick traverse to the old city and harbor, and ethnic food heaven out the back door. Most importantly, this is still a "new" hotel by euro standards,. Its youthful, knowledgeable and enthusiastic staff has a knack for tuning in and helping you find exactly what you wish to encounter. Palais indeed, but no snobbery here, just a great experience in one of the best cities anywhere.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
5  Thank robhnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Great location on Promenade des Anglais which is easily accesible from the airport, right next to the beach and close to all the attractions of Nice. The Hotel is a refurbished old casino which is sensitively renovated and retains a sense of 1920s glamour- marbled reception with amazing flower arrangements and attentive staff. We had a room facing the hills with a balcony which was perfect for watching the sun go down. The room itself was clean and smartly done out with cleaners coming in twice a day. The amenities are also top notch- there is a pool on a raised varanda which means that you can swim underneath the amazing blue skies without interuption from the busy traffic that constantly clogs up the Promenade des Anglais. The restaurant is also very good (and considering that most restaurants are around 50 Euro per head in the city) reasonably priced for the standard. Both the turkish steam room and the sauna are immaculately clean and well-worth a pre-Evening sweat.

My holiday reading was F Scott Fitzgerald's classic Tender Is the Night (which is set in the decadent and glamorous 1920s South of France) - a perfect fit for this atmospheric hotel and city.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank testcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We booked this hotel based on the fantastic reviews on this site and 'wow', it not only lived up to expectation, it surpassed it too! It was also our first time in Nice, and we just fell in love with the place, it just offers everything we could possibly want for a romantic city break!

The location of the hotel is fantastic, right on the seafront, close to numerous restaurants (behind the hotel), and the most fantastic shopping. A short walk away is the port and the beautiful old part of town. The exterior of the hotel is quite something, the photos on here don't really give a feel for the immense size of the facade. The interior is chic, modern, and spotless.

What makes this hotel truly special is the staff. They are all incredibly friendly and helpful (genuinely), and obviously take great pride and pleasure in their work... without exception. Something we haven't experienced before, even in other 5* hotels where staff can be very snooty and false!

The bedroom was spacious, extremely comfortable, modern, quiet and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. We had a room on the 7th floor which faced away from the sea. The view we had was perfect... the mountains. To wake up and look straight out on that sight from our bed, we could open the balcony doors without noise of traffic from the promenade (which you would get with a sea view).

If you are able, search for a deal which includes breakfast. We were surprised and delighted that the hotel offers room service breakfast at no extra cost until midday. Normally 27euros per person, we had breakfast delivered to our bedroom and laid out for us beautifully on a table every morning. You can also request to have it laid out on the balcony. The selection of food and drinks on offer is excellent. For us this was one of the highlights of our weekend (insignificant as it may seem), but with the exchange rate the way it is at the moment, this was a great deal, as well as making our weekend all the more relaxing and luxurious.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one evening, which was no more expensive than some of the far inferior restaurants in town. We couldn't recommend it more. The staff and ambience were great, with live piano music coming from the bar. The food and wine was perfect (with the best scallops we have ever had).

We used the hotel pool, as well as the sauna and steam rooms. Again, all fantastic, as we had come to expect. The pool was particularly interesting as it is half inside and half outside... great in winter as we could get in the pool inside and swim outside under the stars without getting cold, the water heated to 26 degrees throughout. The outside part of the pool is set in the terrace behind the enormous facade of columns. Quite spectacular.

We've probably missed some things out, but what can we say more to emphasize that this hotel is just great. If you want chic, modern, luxurious, great value for money (in winter at least), and service that is second to none, this is for you!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cape-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Negresco
#16 of 203 in Nice
2,461 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Suisse
#9 of 203 in Nice
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Address: 13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nice
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#1 Family Hotel in Nice
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#2 Green Hotel in Nice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £132 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel Nice
Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel
Palais De La Mediterranee Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing