We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for the full Nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers
Ranked #176 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent base for the full Nice experience”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

These well equipped self-catering studios contain all you need to enjoy your time in Nice if you are staying for longer than a couple of days.

Reception does close at the times stated, so factor that in to your check in and out, and you do have to leave credit card details for a security deposit. No charge is made though.

We loved having the fridge for breakfast items, cold beers and nibbles on the balcony in the afternoons / early evening, and the 2 electric hobs heat quickly to make brunch or cook a meal. There was also a microwave / grill combo oven, although we did mostly eat out. The beds are pretty comfy (and the fold away design was remarked upon - means you don't have a full messy room, and have a sofa by day and bed by night).

The little swimming pool was cold, but the pool area has loungers and is a sun trap (with shady areas) all day long. The beautiful gardens are calm and we never saw anyone using them. There is a terrace with deckchairs, and other seats dotted around. There is a ping pong table, lots of tourist information, and a vending machine with hot drinks and cold drinks and snack items.

The bus 23 runs from Terminal 1 at the airport and stops at Fabron (Musée des Artes Naif). Then you walk up past Carrefour less than 10 mins. Buses 9 and 10 will take you into the Port, routing through the shopping areas and skimming the edge of the old town. Night buses 4 and 5 will get you back - they take slightly different routes, 4 follows the daytime route of 9 and 10, and 5 loops away from the main road but back down Rue Fabron towards the sea. All journeys are 1€ each (whether you buy a solo ticket or a 10 journey card).

Cannes and Monaco are also just bus rides away (200, or 201 express; and 100 or 101 express, respectively).

Less than 10 mins walk away (by the bus stop) Carrefour is open 08:00 - 22:00 (09:00 - 13:00 Sunday). There is a Casino 24h opoosite, which is a huge vending machine - everything from ready meals to sanitary items and rizla!

You can walk to the old town along the seafront (10 mins walk) (Blvd des Anglais / Quai de Etats Unis), although we saved our energy most times for exploring once we got there as the bus was so affordable.

Would recommend the Matisse museum, exploring and having a meal in the old town, nosing at the boats at the port, swimming in the beautiful clear sea, and lots and lots of ice-cream. Hazlenut, spiced bread, cherry, chilli chocolate! Fennochios is wonderful.

We can't wait to go back to Nice and explore further around the coast, and would certainly stay at Les Palmiers again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank iDLECHiLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    34
    43
    36
    24
See reviews for
63
51
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Will start with the ONLY negative: the Maeva Residence is located up a hill - but although it is not steep, would still hope your suitcase has wheels and would recommend comfortable shoes (no high heels!). It is only an eight minutes walk (probably less if you're younger and fitter than me!) down the hill to the supermarket and bus stop, but probably 10-12 minutes if you are pulling or carrying a heavy suitcase. When you go to the supermarket, if you have a small case with wheels, it's probably the best way to bring back your shopping and bottles of water. Although the supermarket isn't massive, it has everything you would need and is reasonably priced.

Anyway, starting at the beginning: if you arrive at Nice Airport, Terminal 2,
then you get a free short bus ride to Terminal 1, where you go to bus stop number 6 and get on bus number 23, getting off at Fabron. (Journey time can be between 15-25 minutes, depending on traffic.) There is a supermarket called Carrefour as you get off the bus. (The cost of the bus is one euro. In fact you can go on any bus in Nice, even changing buses, for the same one euro! It is one euro for up to a 72 minutes journey, but does not include a return journey.)

Anyway, keeping the supermarket (which is on a corner) to your left, you follow the road round, passing under a small bridge; then you will shortly pass a few shops on your left, then cross the road at the zebra crossing, continuing to walk up the same road. Very shortly you will see a sign-post pointing to the right which says Parc de I'Indochine, so you walk up there (it is for pedestrians only) and at the end you will see a sign for Maeva Residence pointing right, and you're almost there!

The room, which was very clean, had everything that you would need, which includes a small kitchen area with a microwave/grill, two ring electric hob, a fridge with small freezer department (remember to turn up the freezer compartment, as my ice-cream melted before I realized!), coffee-maker, and a dishwasher. There is a two seater sofa-bed, which opens up to two single beds, and there is a round dining table and three chairs. There is a shutter on the window and an electric shutter on the door to keep out the sunlight. There is also
air-conditioning. The rooms have a balcony with table and chairs.

I have never stayed in a self-catering apartment before, so did not know what to expect; so apologies if this is the norm; but all the kitchen equipment and utensils you would need are in the room: cups, plates, bowls, glasses, cutlery (including an array of carving and paring knives, serving spoons, spatula, potato peeler, etc), saucepans, frying pan, etc, etc. Bed linen and two kitchen wiping-up towels are also provided. I had taken my own towel, but they do hire out towels which includes one small and one large towel and one towel for the bathroom floor at a cost of 8 euros per person per week.

There is a fairly small but extremely pretty garden which I thoroughly enjoyed relaxing and reading in, and in a different area there is a swimming pool and sun-loungers if you'd prefer.

Madelaine who works in the Reception area is very helpful and speaks fluent
English as well as French. The Reception is open Monday-Friday from 9.00 a.m. to noon, then closes, re-opening at 4.00 p.m. until 7.00 p.m.. Saturday it is open from 8.00 a.m. until noon, then 2.00 p.m. until 8.00 p.m.; and on Sunday it is open from 9.00 a.m. until noon, then closed Sunday afternoon and evening. If you are arriving when the Reception is closed, call them and they will give you a code to enter the premises. (Their number is: 0033-493965347.)

They ask you for a 200 euros deposit (taking your credit card details) just in case there is any damage to your room on departure; however, of course no money is taken if your room is as you found it on arrival.

Also, there is a 90 cents per person per night government tax.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay: if you want to relax, then the garden is a
wonderful place to just sit and read. If you also want to get out and about,
then it's just a short walk back to the bus stop. Also, when you get back to the
supermarket you can see the beach and the sea, which are just across another road. (The beach at Nice is all pebbles.)

Hope you enjoy yourself as much as I did.

PS: Just to re-iterate, this is not an hotel - so there is no restaurant - nor people to come and make your bed and/or tidy your room, so you clean up your own mess!! :)

Room Tip: The top floor (third floor) you can see the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank LindaBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Clean and adequate accomodation in a good location at a reasonable price. Close to supermarket, beautiful beach and bus stops to city centre and airports. Extremely helpful, friendly and informative reception staff. Apartments are at the top of a hill which was not a problem for us but may be difficult for families with very young children. It is not necessary to have a car as the apartments are so close to bus stops with excellent and regular buses to the city centre and airports for just 1euro per person per trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lou186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This lodging is adequate if you're willing to put up with limited opening of the reception desk (WARNING: you will NOT be able to check in if you arrive outside their working hours!), a very poorly designed parking garage, cleaning up your own room, really weird appliances and a 200 Euro deposit (not standard at any other hotel I've stayed in). We couldn't get the air conditioning to work and it turned out you had to shut the patio door BEFORE turning it on or it didn't work -- no instructions, no help, etc. and the staff seemed really surprised that someone wouldn't just somehow figure this out. So we had one very miserable night in which no one got much sleep in 80-degree weather. God forbid they should leave a note that actually tells you how to work it -- particularly as there will be no one to ask for 13 hours between the reception closing at night and opening the next morning! ... There is no staff around at night so woe to you if you are locked out by the coded gates (the place is locked up like Fort Knox) or can't get your toilet to flush, etc. The place has been renovated, but one wonders what it was like BEFORE as it is just about the level of a bad dorm room now, right down to the cheap mattresses and the curious smell which I think emanates from the strange, hemp-like floor covering. It does have a nice garden but it is too far from either the beach or downtown Nice to walk with comfort (at least with young kids -- the beach is about a half mile away and it's uphill on the way back and across a busy road). It has the smallest hotel pool I have ever seen. So if you're going to go to the lovely Cote d'Azur, either pick a family-friendly place that offers a bit more or find a place closer to the beach and the city center. I would just avoid Maeva properties unless there are no other options.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scotcitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Many thanks for posting your review. We do apologise for the inconvinience caused by the early arrival to our residence. Our website and brochure do state the reception opening times and we do encourage guests to schedule their arrival around this to prevent any inconvinience. We apologise if this information was not clear at the booking stage and will look into this further. We do also require a deposit and provide an additional cleaning service if customers wish to pay for it. Again, this information is clearly stated in both our brochure and website. Many air conditioning systems do require all doors and windows to be shut before they begin and we will look into providing clear instructions for those who are not aware of this. Again, the exact distance from the beach to the property is also listed on our website for customers to analyse before they book. We are sorry if this information was not clear enough. We apologise if some of the furnishings and on-site facilties were not to your high standards. The residence is scheduled for a review and your comments have been passed on and logged with head office. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

everywhere...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

=============================================================
THE BAD:
Very poorly signposted. Very few staff. Not open out-of-hours. €200 demanded upon arrival - REFUSE WITH GUSTER!. You have to clean your own room, and PAY for towels etc. NO Street parking - had my hire car smacked badly in adjacent road!
=============================================================
THE GOOD:
Location within 1km of beach and 2km of airport. Beautiful garden - ask for view of garden when (if) booking - we would not go again. Self contained. Balcony. Cooking impliments.
=============================================================

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank garyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredensborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

We stayed at Maeva in august 2007.

The location is a little outside central Nice, just a few kilometers from the airport. Maeva is 5 min. walk from the beach and since it is a little away from central nice the beach is not too crowded.

There is a 30-40 min. walk from the appartment to central nice.

The rooms at Maeva are very small - we had a 4 person apartment and the kids had to sleep in the in bunk beds in the appartment entry.

The biggest problem was that the bathroom had a very unpleaseant odour - smelling damp and moldy.

The place is pretty worn but there is a lovely garden and a very tiny swimmingpool.

  • Liked — The garden and the location
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank VildPingvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_PV, Responsable de la communication en ligne at Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers, responded to this review, 15 May 2008
Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments via Tripadvisor.
We have carefully considered your feedback on the Maeva Residence Les Palmiers. This Maeva residence is part of P&V Holidays, the leading provider of self-catering accommodation in France.

We are pleased to announce that this Residence, Nice Les Palmiers, was entirely refurbished in the end of 2007. We certainly hope that the improved standards will meet your requirements.

We are sorry that your stay was not entirely satisfactory and hope that you will choose to holiday in one of our residences or villages again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2006

Maeva Residence Orion Les Palmiers

For;

Balcony
Mini Golf nearby
Beach not too far too walk
SPAR a 5 minute walk
Swimming Pool (was covered for our duration though?)
Very clean & nice surroundings (garden, view etc)
The price is fine for what you get

Against;

200 EUR deposit (didn't expect it to be too high)
Reception not open great hours and only one member of staff that was English speaking
Were not very helpful or welcoming - didn't give much guidance or promote the city enough
About 40 minutes walk from the main shops
Rooms very small
Tennis courts ?

The studio is fine if you are on a budget holiday and won't be spending too much time indoors.

Nice is a truly lovely place and well worth the visit.

  • Liked — Price of stay
  • Disliked — Unhelpful reception & distance from city centre
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank AngelCabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nice
Pierre & Vacances Residence Heli...
#3 of 6 in St-Laurent du Var
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Azur
#170 of 204 in Nice
30 reviews
Arenas / Airport
Park Inn by Radisson Nice Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers
Address: 52 B avenue de Fabron, 06200 Nice, France (Formerly Maeva Residence)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence with swimming pool and comfortable air-conditioned apartments with a balcony.Good location just 500m from the shops, 800m from the beach and near to bus stops to Nice city centre.Restaurant and bar on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Nice Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence Les Palmiers Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing