We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for young people to spend cheap holidays in Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belle Meuniere
Ranked #136 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place for young people to spend cheap holidays in Nice”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I visited this hotel in July 2013 and was enchanted of the warm welcome and the hospitality of the owners and the staff. The hotel is mainly occupied by young people which is a great opportunity to meat nice persons from all around the world. the rooms are equiped with all the necessary that you will need for a vacation - bath, toilets, small garden and a brekafast. And all that only for 30 euro per night which is quite rare for Nice. It is not a luxury hotel but it's clean, calm and the staff is really helpfull and whatever you need they will help you.

I will come back for sure next year.

Thanks to the hotel staff for your smiles and hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nataliya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    28
    23
    26
    15
See reviews for
12
42
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This hotel is recommended by Rick Steves' book "Provence & The French Riviera".
We have booked a room on our way from Italy to Nice and confirmed reservation with a credit card. Upon arrival, we were asked to pay 78 euros up front without even seeing a room. Big mistake!!!
Room #8 was just unbelievable, very small with a low ceiling made of particle board. Two styrofoam boxes were night tables. Part of the room was a bathroom, tiny box made out of a cardboard.. On the top of it there was no warm water.
When we complained about luck of warm water, we were told by the owner that the water was WARM!
Since we have paid already and they had our credit card number ,we felt trapped and stayed one night. Would never,ever stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zenon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpahbm_2011, Gérant at Hotel Belle Meuniere, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
My hotel is renown for its very high ceilings and your comment is a hindrance to my business.
The ceiling you have mentioned as low is actually 3.57 meters high ( 11,71 feet ) therefore I find your words defamatory, and the room is 13 m2 (340 x 381) or 139,93 p2 which is considered quite big around here.
Each room is different in size but the height on the ground floor and first level is very good, the rooms at the front comes with large tall windows, and with this room a view looking out to the garden with trees.
We pride ourselves in providing clean and bright rooms. The hotel is an old converted mansion with very high ceilings as with all old buildings here in Nice.
The bathroom is a square made of proper walls made of a solid material to comply with tough French legal regulation's of 147 x 153 with 2.46 high. The walls of the bathroom are not made of cardboard - this would be ridiculous. Again I do not understand your comment made here.
Also we of course have hot water at any time, the boiler is recent and the pipes ancient, sometimes you have to wait a little while for it to run through the pipes before it becomes piping hot.
The room is 67 euro and 5.50 euro per breakfast so for 2 persons 78 euro that is correct. For the price in the centre of Nice this is very competitive considering the convenient location, near the train station ideal for day trips and walking distance to the beach, night life, bars and shops etc.
The night tables are uniques they were made specially by a Canadian artist for the hotel couple of years ago. Most people enjoy the quirky features of our hotel which may not have brand new furnishings in every room, but does have a lot of charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Sunny Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My friend and I booked into the Hotel Belle Meuniere as an emergency measure during Monaco Grand Prix weekend after our original hotel refused to honour our booking at the price agreed. We found it to be clean and well run, the staff friendly and professional. The beds we had were good and the room airy.
The location was great for us with the train station so close because we used that every day to head into Monaco. Yes I did bang my head on the ceiling because we were on the top floor but that's part of the charm of the place.
A minor issue for some may be that there is only one shower and one WC on the floor we were on (top). Also we did not think that much of the breakfast.

However I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Had a great stay! Very welcoming and with a good atmosphere, i'll be back for my next stay on the Côte d'Azur
Ideal hotel to stay close to everything and yet affordable
Calm and serene so ggod for peacefull nights

Jim

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim0ntheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I first discovered Hotel Belle Meunière when I was looking for a place to store my luggage, which they did for €3. Then I came back for one night in their dorm room.

The dorm room is basically a left over room with low ceilings that they stuffed 4 beds into. It was very damp and smelled horribly of body odor. That's my number one memory from staying at this place. The price was €21 for a bed, which I suppose is reasonable for Europe. It included breakfast, but only if you didn't book through Hostelworld. The bathroom was down the hall, but was very clean and well maintained. The Internet was not working in the rooms, and only downstairs. Best part about the hotel was the location - a 3 minute walk to the train station, about 15 minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderlustV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Strictly for young folks. Not too clean, the mattress was just exchanged to a new one, doors banging at night where a party was in progress, a lot of traffic noise. The best feature of the hotel is the train station near by.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailingSooke_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is a very basic hotel - nothing fancy about it at all. It definitely caters to the backpacking crowd. It was clean and we loved it. Beware, some rooms do not have their own bathroom so you must share but it is not really a problem. The building was a present from Napoleon to his mistress. It is quite beautiful. The best thing...it is literally just down the block from the train station. When we stayed here, we arrived late but the desk clerk helped us get everything up to our room and allowed us to keep our ginormous bike boxes (big, heavy duty plastic boxes) locked up in his office for the night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#88 of 205 in Nice
243 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Hotel Saint Gothard
#123 of 205 in Nice
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#103 of 205 in Nice
239 reviews
Hotel Comte de Nice
#128 of 205 in Nice
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Meuniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Meuniere

Property: Hotel Belle Meuniere
Address: 21 avenue Durante, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Belle Meuniere 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly English speaking staff will welcome you to his charming historical mansion, touting a great tree-studded garden, situated in the hart of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Belle Meuniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Belle Meuniere Nice
La Belle Meuniere Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing