We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Amaryllis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amaryllis
Ranked #102 of 204 Hotels in Nice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

It's nice, small rooms, everything that you may need, wonderful location to walk everywhere. English speaking, very helpful stuff, clean. They arrange a last minute inexpensive night tour with very knowledgeable driver. Overall very nice experience

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    88
    68
    20
    9
See reviews for
25
89
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ENGLANDERS IN N. IRELAND
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Have just returned from a ten day break in Nice. We travel a lot but had never had a holiday in the South of France, but Easyjet had some attractive flight prices so I decided to do some research on availability and cost of hotels in Nice. As you have probably already noticed the cost in this area is very,very expensive but after trawling the internet for several hours I found the Amayllis, although only a 2 star it had good reviews and was very reasonable in price, so thought I would give it a try. I must say I am very glad I did.
From the outside it may not be the most impressive looking hotel, but on booking in felt comfortable straight away, check in was extremely efficient and very, very friendly. We were given a room on the third floor which overlooked the street below, although not the most luxurious it was cleaned to perfection and bedding and towels were brilliant white, in fact both the towels and sheets were changed EVERY DAY !!!!,you don't get that in 4 and 5 star hotels.
The high standard of cleanliness was maintained throughout our stay. Breakfast was included in the price we paid which consisted of bread which you could toast, french bread, croissants, cereals, cheese spread,jams, juice and beverages which was served in a small room by reception and gave a good start to the day without having to go out and spending a fortune on breakfast as food is very expensive in Nice.
We found EVERY member of staff to be extremely friendly and helpful and the owners of the hotel should be very proud of them.
The hotel is well positioned, just round the corner from the main shopping area, 5 minutes walk from the train station and 10-15 minutes walk to the beach.
If you are happy to have good basic accommodation in a small friendly, very clean hotel than this hotel will be fine for you. I do not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HAPPYTRAVELLERS55_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

A nice hotel in nice, perfect for getting around and on the door stop to the train station! Here you hand your key in as you leave... Which is great as reduces the risk of getting lost! Everyday the room was cleaned with plenty of additional soap and shower gel left! Can't take food up to the room for some reason! But wasn't a problem! Great place for a short break!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank SRobson049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Just returned from 3 day stay in the Hotel Amaryllis, and it is all positive 5 minutes walk from Airport bus drop off at the train station, central for all of the transport facilities including the wonderful Space Age Tram. The hotel is budget in a quiet location and looks a little tired in places however it is clean, warm, has a lift and open 24 hours with night security and the staff are welcoming and helpful. Our room was of a good size on the second floor with Shower etc. the room was serviced each day with clean towels provided. Breakfast is taken on the ground floor near the Reception and is help your self buffet style, with fruit juice, croissants, French bread, tea coffee etc. more than adequate. I am looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

i booked this hotel for my 6 day trip to nice with my partner, i knew before i went that it was budget accomodation and didnt expect glamour and luxury. once there you realise what you pay for. but saying that , the hotel suited all our requirements. it was very close to the train station and well served by buses too. the shops and eateries also just around the corner. the beach was a 10 minute walk away.(i dont like walking but it fine by me). the hotel room view was just a view facing the opposite side of the road with a view of someone elses house windows. the breakfast was basic but filling. croissants,toast,jams,marmalades,cereals,tea,coffee and orange juice. you could get as much as you could eat. the staff were friendly and helpful. the room was basic with dated decor and the bed i found was very comfy. hot water constantly for the shower and taps. the only thing i could not give 5 stars for was the very little niggle of there being plaster missing from around the plug socket. to sum it all up.....if you want luxury and bacon and egg breakfast then go elsewhere, but if you want a hotel within a small budget and are happy enough to just use the hotel to shower and sleep then you can't go wrong. i was happy with what i paid for. by the way....fresh clean towels every day ! would i stay at the amaryllis again ? the simple answer is........yes definately. it suited my budget perfectly and we slept well. i would recommend certainly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel is ideally placed for getting around Nice and surrounding areas being close to the train station and the tram line.The hotel is surrounded by lots of lovely restaurants of all nationalities and is close to main shopping area. The beach and the picturesque old town are just a 10 minute walk away. Our room was spacious and generally clean. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Just one little gripe, there aren't enough dining tables so if you decide to go to breakfast at a popular time, you may have to wait for a table!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This Hotel has a very good central location. Only 10 minutes from train station
and just by the central shopping avenue of Nice. The building is very old.
The room was big, the bathroom small. Staff helpfull. They have offered us a
special reduction ticket for the parking in the train station. Wi-Fi only in the reception.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarantos_Chal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#53 of 204 in Nice
114 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#149 of 204 in Nice
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#91 of 204 in Nice
569 reviews
Hotel Saint Gothard
#123 of 204 in Nice
330 reviews
Centre
Hotel d'Ostende
Hotel d'Ostende
#146 of 204 in Nice
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amaryllis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amaryllis

Property: Hotel Amaryllis
Address: 5 rue d Alsace Lorraine, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amaryllis 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amaryllis is located in the center of Nice and just a 10-minute walk to the beach. It offers air-conditioned, rooms with private bathrooms with satellite TV. Wi-Fi internet access is available in the hotel and in some of the guest rooms and is free of charge. The entire Hotel Amaryllis is serviced by an elevator and the front desk offers 24-hour service. Hotel Amaryllis located few steps from the train station with direct shuttles from the international airport from Nice and the shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amaryllis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaryllis Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing