We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some Positives and Some Negatives”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #144 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Some Positives and Some Negatives”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We booked Hotel Rex based on the Trip Advisor reviews and would best summarise our 2 night stay as follows:-

Positives
1. Excellent location and is central to the old town, restaurants, bars, shopping, beachside promenade, with the railway station and other public transport also within easy walking distance
2. Owners are excellent hosts and go out of their way to make you feel welcome i.e. help with luggage, provide a map / instructions on Nice and will readily assist with any query one may have
3. Room (we were in room number 3) was a satisfactory size (by French standards), clean, had free wifi and was adequately furnished
4. Price (85euro’s – breakfast not provided) was extremely good for a double room in relation to the general cost of accommodation in Nice

Negatives
1. There is no hotel parking available which causes problems with the dropping off of luggage in particular. Parking is available at one of the nearby parking stations at a cost of 23euro’s per day, although if checking out early (and not on a weekend), it is possible to drive the car to the hotel entrance to load luggage
2. To get to the hotel reception, you need to access two flights of stairs and dependent upon where your room is located, there could be a further flight of narrow stairs to climb. Carriage of luggage could present problems
3. Bathroom was incredibly small
4. Air-conditioning in room did not work adequately
5. Floor boards in room squeaked when walking
6. Bed was hard and the pillow provided little support

In conclusion, it’s really a matter of weighing up your needs and expectations, as if you are looking for an inexpensive centrally located hotel (without any frills) and do not have an aversion to stairs or issues with the car parking, then this would probably suit. Personally, I would consider paying a little more for a hotel which provided slightly better quality amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for larger sized room with good sized bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    125
    36
    20
    16
See reviews for
29
166
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We have just came back from a stay at Hotel Rex. This hotel was a fantastic find in Nice. There is so much to see and do in Nice that we needed somewhere convenient to lay our heads, which is exactly what you get with this hotel . You could not ask for a better location in Nice, close to the old town, the beach, bars, restaurants, shops etc. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful with anything we asked them . There is no fridge in the room but the owner offered to chill our wine in his fridge and supplied us with a 'make-shift' wine bucket and glasses. We had room number 4, the room was air conditioned and the bed was very comfortable so made for a good nights sleep. The rooms are full of character and decorated in a traditional French style. Despite being set in the middle of a residential area, we did not notice any outside noise. The only negative comment we could give is that the shower temperature is very inconsistent which can be annoying if in a hurry to get ready. We definitely recommend this hotel to travelers who want a real hotel built from passion and not just a soulless hotel chain.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Just returned from 2 nights at Hotel Rex and thought this was a fantastic place to stay! The place has got lots of character,the staff could not be more helpful and the location is perfect for everything in Nice..beach, transport links, bars, restaurants shops all right on the doorstep. The rooms have everything you need and are clean...
In response to other peoples negative reviews..what do they expect?..and I don't mean this because I have low expectations. If you want to pay more in a mundane, characterless chain hotel then feel free..I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edz2136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We ended up not staying at this hotel as we had just come from Monte-Carlo and my boyfriend had a culture shock. The hotel is really a 1-star but it looks more like a youth hostel. It is located in an area with NO car access and it is very, very difficult to find the nearest parking garage (place Massena). The staff at the hotel is super helpful and they offered to carry our luggage from the nearest parking garage to the hotel.

There are several flights of stairs and the last one is very narrow and steep so very difficult to climb with luggage.

The staff is very, very nice and they helped up find another hotel for the night.

We would not stay here as it is not our speed, too much like a youth hostel but if you are looking for a cheap hotel in the middle of everything and you are carrying very little luggage and your expectations are not of a 5-star hotel, then stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobaltblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Pros:
- well-located in Place Massena with lots of shops and restaurants, as well as the beach, in the surrounding area
- owners are quite nice and helpful
- free wifi

Cons:
- located on a pedestrian street, so NO parking - do not even stay here if you have a car
- thin walls, can hear people up in the morning and coming in at night
- reception open 8am-8pm; no one is around to answer questions or resolve concerns outside of this time
- the hotel is located on the 3rd floor, so you have to carry your bags up three staircases (the last of which is winding and steep)
- bathroom door is a sliding louvered door, which offers absolutely NO sound insulation whatsoever... bring some speakers and an MP3 player to avoid awkward #2 moments because believe me, they WILL happen
- there IS a hairdryer in the room but it looks like a central vac tube, bring your own if you require one!
- rooms and bathroom are small
- two nights in a row woke up with bug bites, in tell-tale bed-bug clusters/rows... not saying for sure it was bed bugs because that is the kiss of death for a hotel, but it definitely left me wondering...

I would definitely consider paying a few more Euros/night for a more traditional "hotel" with appropriate services and amenities. Like a real bathroom door.

The owners really are very, very nice but unfortunately that doesn't make up for some of the significant shortcomings of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K-STARR_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We booked this hotel based on the high rating given on Trip Advisor, but we would be hard pressed to recommend it to others. The bathroom was so small that drying off after a shower required opening the door (which, by the way, was a louvered sliding door). Any "bathroom activities" had to be shared by anyone else in the room (even after 23 years of marriage, there are some things that just don't need to be shared). Because the hotel is situated in an apartment building, we were constantly subjected to the very strong smell of cooking at all hours of the day and night. BUT, the owners of the hotel were absolutely darling . . . always smiling. When I asked for the location of the closest laundromat, the owner very kindly offered to do our laundry free of charge. The location (next to the tram stop and plaza, and very close to the beach) can't be beat, nor can the price. I guess we might recommend the hotel after all, but with serious warnings.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingEms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Please dont be put off by the entrance leading to the hotel because as soon as you enter the hotel reception you are greeted by didier who greeted us by our first names and told us all about the hotel the surounding area transport options.
We were staying for 5 nights so we were given a large room to the back,it had no view but this didnt reflect on our stay.Individually decorated,very clean and the bed comforable,only negative if you need to blow dry your hair take your own dryer.My husband had a fall and didier was very concerned and helped as much as he could.
Airport bus no 98 4euros all other destinations 1euro each.The flower market area has plenty of good restaurants and pubs plenty of happy hours.
The hotel Rex is in a great position right in the middle of everything.We will use this hotel again and reccomend it to friends. mercie Didier wendyand Brendon

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyhand75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Acanthe
Hotel Acanthe
#155 of 204 in Nice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#80 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel le Petit Trianon
Hotel le Petit Trianon
#120 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#38 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#82 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Centre
Hotel de Verdun
Hotel de Verdun
#97 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: 3 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rex 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing