We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Peaceful respite in the heart of Nice.”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #159 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Kamloops, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet and Peaceful respite in the heart of Nice.”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had a wonderful time in NIce. Nice is a busy city with lots of foot traffic. There are multiple restaurants and stores and of course the Mediterranean. The Hotel Rex provided us with a place to escape to. It was clean, quiet and very peaceful. It is tucked away in the middle of an ancient building, a bit hidden, but once found, easy to access. The Staff were most helpful and friendly. Deder was full of info for us about the sights to see and transportation to get there.

Room Tip: It is my guess, all rooms are quiet. The street Hotel Rex is located on, has no car traffic, yet is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cogi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    125
    37
    20
    18
See reviews for
31
166
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Botwood NL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

I think the hotel is definitely over rated. The place is old, and the entrance through a courtyard and old steps does give a bad first impression. Though very clean, our room was small, the baseboards were peeling, the floor creaked. The bathroom was not much bigger than a broom closet. The toilet was placed in one corner, and one's knees touched the door when sitting on it. The door, by the way, was just a cupboard door made of slats, so talk about lack of privacy. The worst, though, was the fact that our door lock was loose and we were afraid to lock ourselves in, then the dead lock just broke and fell apart. Since the owner, or caretaker, leaves the hotel at night, we could not get help, and we were forced to just shut the door and block it with our suitcases. She seemed like a nice lady, so I feel bad making these comments, but such was our experience. I cannot recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We got a fantastic welcome from the owner when checking in at 12am. Was explained the location of the hotel, the house rules etc. It actually feels more like you are staying in an apartment in Nice, but with cleaning service! The location is just top for shopping, beach, old town and airport bus. They offer beach towels when you just mention you are heading to the beach. The breakfast is simple and typical french but the price is good and so is the coffee. The only negative is the bathroom doors as mentioned in previous reviews. They are not shutting properly and are open on the top, feels like a closet. We were a group of girlfriends and managed us though :)
Would reccommend Hotel Rex to people who do not bother spending too much on accommodation but still want a nice, central and clean place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 252Lill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

It's not the place for you if you are looking for 24-hr concierge and typical hotel facility. But if you are looking for a cozy room with friendly staff at a great location, you've come to the right place. Hotel Rex is just off the Plaza Massena, one of the landmarks in Nice. The tram station is at the doorstep and train station is a couple of blocks away. Once the booking was done, a detailed email with information on how to get to the hotel was sent to me. From the airport you can take a bus which costs EUR 4 then walk towards the hotel.

The hotel is located centrally among restaurants and shops yet because it's inside a courtyard, it's very quiet both during the day and at night. It feels more like staying at a real apartment in France rather than at a hotel, which makes the experience rather interesting. The room is simple but cozy. Wifi works pretty well. Note that there is no staff around at night but there is an emergency number.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelMontage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This hotel for the price is in an excellent location! For the price of it, you can't beat it.
I have read some of the other reviews and I saw that some of the people were complaining about all the stairs????? The smell???? There might of been a slight old smell, but the building is old!, nothing to bother us. When travelling you are expected to live the way they live in which ever country you are going too. If you are expecting to stay in a lavish hotel then go to a lavish hotel! Like I said this was in an excellent location, yes there is a few sets of stairs but it was all worth it! Small rooms, but very nice and clean, small bathrooms but fine. You only sleep in the room, so for me and my family it was great, we had 2 rooms, my son, wife and 1 year old granddaughter in one room and my husband and myself in another, it was perfectly fine! We got a taxi from airport, which was 40 euros and well worth it! If you get the train it is much cheaper but you may have a bit of a walk with all your luggage, much easier in a taxi, worth paying the extra money as you will only have a 5-10 minute walk. Easy to find just keep looking up high and you will find the sign. Very pleasant owners, and will leave codes for you to enter if you are late arriving.

Room Tip: Well worth the money, if nothing else the location, right in the heart of everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KdkPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel is close to everything. The train station is only about 10 minutes walk away and take the tram to get there to the hotel is you're coming by train. It only cost 1 euro versus a very expensive taxi ride. The guys that run the hotel give very good directions in the email on how to get there once you book the room. I would not have a car when staying here because parking is a good distance away. You might as well take the train if this is the case. The hotel is 5 minutes walk to the beach and the market as well. If you like to shop (which I don't) there are tons of stores around this area and you don't have to watch for cars since this is a pedestrian zone. If you have heavy bags or a lot of them and you're solo, you may want to reconsider this hotel. There are 2 flights of stairs to ascend to get to the hotel itself and they are very narrow and there is no lift. The room was pretty spacious considering it was a single and the price is very good as well. Very clean too. I would stay here again

Room Tip: Take the tram from the train station to get here. It's 2 stops, cost 1 euro and takes 5 minutes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kickindajunk02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Great little hotel in an excellent location. You are so close to evertthing, beach, shops restaurants and yet it's nice and quiet. The rooms are clean, have air con and all the basics. The staff here are very friendly and so welcoming everytime they see you. This is such a great little hotel and a great deal for a stay in Nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Acanthe
Hotel Acanthe
#154 of 204 in Nice
244 reviews
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#82 of 204 in Nice
186 reviews
Centre
Hotel Lafayette Nice
Hotel Lafayette Nice
#74 of 204 in Nice
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#73 of 204 in Nice
142 reviews
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#96 of 204 in Nice
243 reviews
Centre
Hotel de Verdun
Hotel de Verdun
#100 of 204 in Nice
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: 3 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rex 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing