We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #147 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Hotel Rex was in a great location - right near Rue Massena, very close to a tram stop, and just a few blocks from the beach. It is set just back from the road, so very quiet at night - which is nice since it is in a busy area. The staff was very friendly - happy to hold keys for the day and provided towels for the beach. The room is a bit small, but not uncomfortably so. Also, there was no food offered. Fantastic value.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schroederwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    125
    36
    20
    16
See reviews for
29
166
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We arrived very late at night, which was almost a problem since the door code wasn't letting us into the second door of the hotel (the first door was to get into the building), but luckily another guest came along and let us in. I'm not that great with actually keys, so that was kind of hard for us.

Didier, the new owner, tries very hard to help and please- he was very nice to us during our stay. It was a no frills hotel, including no air conditioning. We slept with the windows open, and we think (an hope) that that was how we got bug bites, and not bed bugs. The bathrooms are TINY, just as a warning- the slighly overweight may have trouble with them. We were in a triple, so instead of a kitchen, we had a third bedroom. Wifi access for more than one day will cost you.

The location was great- rue Massena has a lot of shops, restaurants and pharmacies on it. It is 2 blocks from the beach (although if you can take a day trip to Antibes, Villefranche, or Beaulieu for a beach, I would recommend it) and right next to Place Massena. It is a short walk or tram ride to the SNCF station, the bus station, and Vieille Ville.

I'd recommend this hotel if you were looking for a no-frills budget hotel with a good location.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Don't be put off by the entrance. The hotel is in one of the best shopping areas with lots of lovely cafes and restaurants. Ten minutes walk from the sea and the Old Town. Yes the rooms are on the small side but they are clean with enough room for a few days stay. The new owners were delightful and helpful. No breakfast is provided but there are many cafes nearby. We ate close to the market which is open every day including Sunday. The hotel is excellent value for money . However, Nice is a very expensive city and meals and drinks can burn a hole in your budget but it has a lovely ambience and you can walk everywhere from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtandSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2009

We loved Hotel Rex. It is situated in the heart of Nice, with many restaurants and shops nearby. The beach, old Nice, train and bus stations are walking distance. The rooms aren't huge but very well decorated and maintained. The bathroom looked brand new, we had a window overlooking the courtyard and had lovely flowers in the flower box. The bed was very comfortable and the furnishings were very unique and charming. They have put alot of effort in fixing this place up and it shows. This is the best value for our money when we compare it to all the other european cities. We paid 65 euro/night for a double room with bathroom, a great deal.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu99Winnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

A very nice hotel in a quiet and sunny backyard on the pedestrian street and Galeries Lafayette and just 5min from Old Nice/beach and 15min from train station by foot. Big bed, decent-sized room with flatscreen (all French channels...) and table/two chairs. Very small bathroom but it was there and it was clean and the shower was excellent.

Okay, so the walls are not very thick but what can you do about a pair of loudmouthed American girls who like to chat till very late...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Myself and the wife have just returned home from a 3 day break to Nice and surrounding region. Like many of our previous hotel choices we read previous reviews and based our decision on what we read. Travelling on a budget , we were more than happy with our choice. Very centrally located it is within walking distance of all the sites of the city, as well as main shopping areas, bus station and an abundance of restaurants, cafes and pubs.
First impressions of the hotel were not overly impressive however the staff on arrival were very friendly and helpful throughout the stay.. The room and ensuite were small but perfectly adequate for a 3 nite stay. There was no noise from other guests or from the nearby streets. The owners also pointed us in the direction of a nearby Italian retaurant "Ville D'este" which was just down rue Massena.

Nice is the perfect location for exploring this part of the Cote D'azur and we managed to travel into nearby Monaco and Cannes.
All in all a pleasant Easter break with the Rex a good choice to meet our needs, as budget travellers.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Loved the Hotel Rex! The front desk staff are super friendly and nice. The hotel is tiny, and the rooms are petite, but it served our needs. The location cannot be beat--right off of the Place Massena and adjacent to the old town of Nice. We had a great time exploring the city, riding our bikes on the promenade, and eating in Nice. Wow! We did not expect to eat so well in a "tourist" town, but found the city to be quite lively with locals in March. Anyway, we would definitley return to the Hotel Rex. We like luxury hotels like the Ritz, but appreciated the value, cleanliness, serivce and location of the Hotel Rex.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnyshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel le Petit Trianon
Hotel le Petit Trianon
#122 of 205 in Nice
230 reviews
Centre
Hotel Acanthe
Hotel Acanthe
#154 of 205 in Nice
236 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#35 of 205 in Nice
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#76 of 205 in Nice
181 reviews
Centre
Hotel Lafayette Nice
Hotel Lafayette Nice
#77 of 205 in Nice
255 reviews
Hotel Cresp
#131 of 205 in Nice
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: 3 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rex 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing