We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #163 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Stayed here after high prices and poor rooms at the Grand Hotel Aston.

The Rex is Just off the Messena place and near the shops, cafes, old town and beach.

The rooms are basic but fresh, clean and everything in them works.

The staff are very helpful and friendly.

An excellent base for exploring the best bits of nice. And great value!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robembleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

In the heart of the Massena tourist alley. The road closes at 11AM to make way for the pedistrians and shops. DiDi and the staff did a wonderful job of taking care of us. The hotel is in the heart of old town; so don't be dismayed by the entry and walk up to the lobby area. The entry courtyard is common to other apartments. The hotel is in a separate and secure section of the building. The staff does a great job caring for the guests, the rooms, and security. The enclosed courtyard keeps the rooms quiet.
Right out the front door is all the excitement you can expect from Nice. Blocks of shops, galleries, restaurants, and people watching. The beach (rocky) is just 2 blocks away thru the park.
This is an ideal location for seeing Nice with all the transportation connections just steps away.
Thanks again DiDi.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynxeng2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Rex for four nights in August. The location is perfect: right off Place Masena and a few blocks from the beach and Vieux Nice. The rooms face onto a quiet courtyard and are elegantly furnished. Didier and Didier were perfect hosts - they suggested excellent choices for dinner, and were happy to lend us towels and mats for the beach. We would definately stay here again. We paid 80 Euro a night - which is very reasonable for the Cote d'Azur.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justrrcgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Can't fault anything with this hotel. The room was very clean & sweet with very romantic decor. I love that it is in a classic French apartment complex. It felt more like a home than a hotel. The staff went out of their way to help you. Thanks again for the bottle opener (screw tops Wine bottles aren't as common there as in Australia). It's right in the middle of the shopping district (girls the sales in July are mad in Nice) and a short walk to the beach. Parking was a bit of a pain. Next time we'll try to avoid the costly parking houses and try our luck on the surrounding streets.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eggs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

You cannot buy character - and this hotel is a lovely find. Intimate and a brilliant example of rustic (rather than shabby) chic, this place is quiet, private, intimate, friendly and pretty.

Their are no stairs, no lift, no swimming pool, no expensive restaurant but this is in the middle of the City and 5 mins stroll to the sea with a multitude of places to eat on its doorstep.

Bathrooms are a bit small but so is the price.

Great value and we had a lovely stay. Definitely would go back for the own apartment feel to the place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wah_Jnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

And just a block or two from the beach, and from Old Nice, which is the best part of the city. It is on a walking street so there is no traffic noise or confusion. There is nobody on duty from 8pm to 8am so that felt a little insecure to me, a solo female traveller, but I got used to it. The wifi didn't work very well with my iphone in my room and I had to stand out in the hall next to the desk to use it. But Didier was so helpful in getting my boarding passes printed, and he is so friendly and warm it made up for it. The place is quite old and it feels so much more real to me than a sterile hotel does. Love this place. Book directly with hotel Rex rather than through Venere and it will cost you less.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

I wont go on about all the reasons why this hotel exceeded our expectations.

I will say that, for the price, it is much cleaner, modern and friendly that you will pay elsewhere. It's not a luxury hotel, the rooms and bathrooms are small. But they are more than comfortable rooms, with everything you need, and nothing you dont. Quiet at night and hardly any noise from the hall.

You cant ask for more in terms of location.

The thing that really did it for me was the beautiful friendly service and "no problems!" attitude by every staff member we encountered - over the phone, by email, in person. Consistent and generous.

The only downside for some visitors is the lack of wheelchair access. There are lots of stairs, so if you have any mobility issues, this is not the hotel for you.

We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Riquier
Hotel Relais Acropolis
Hotel Relais Acropolis
#57 of 203 in Nice
380 reviews
Centre
Hotel Acanthe
Hotel Acanthe
#146 of 203 in Nice
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#65 of 203 in Nice
164 reviews
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#76 of 203 in Nice
200 reviews
Centre
Hotel Le Seize
Hotel Le Seize
#108 of 203 in Nice
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: 3 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £43 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rex 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing