We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice hotel at Nice...”
Review of Hotel Pastoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pastoral
Ranked #35 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Grenoble, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a nice hotel at Nice...”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I am quite satisfied. Environment is very good. Station is just 2mins walking. Sea beach is about 10-15mins walking. The hotel provides free wi-fi (good enough to do video chat over skype). They provided some free food for breakfast also. The security is also good (three level - ground floor door code, hotel's main entrance key, room key) and there is a locker corresponding to every bed (medium sized, big enough to keep all valuables, but not big enough for an 30 or 40 litre rucksack).

There are few bad points as well. On the first night of my stay the AC was very fluctuating. Sometimes the room was becoming hotter and sometimes colder, creating a uncomfortable situation inside the room. But remaining nights it was okay. Secondly, the private showers inside the rooms have no locks. Lastly, the bed is okay, but not very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parantapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    37
    11
    7
    11
See reviews for
1
17
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

What an experience we had in this hostel! My friend and I booked three nights and we were given a 4 bed room with a private (AND beautiful shower and sink). The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable if you like a bed a little on the harder side but not rock hard at all. The man at the front desk (owner) was absolutely amazing; he gave us tips on free parking during our stay in Nice, he also gave us little tips about stopping in small towns on our way to Monaco and these places were breathtaking to say the least! He was very helpful with everything and he was very knowledgeable. Also, there is a kitchen where you can cook and a little veranda where you can eat your breakfast with the sun beaming on you! Furthermore, we paid 15 euros a night which was super cheap and it was definitely worth the price for being one of the most expensive places in France. It is only about a 15 minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to castle hill, however, it is a nice walk and lots to see! :) I highly recommend this place, we have an amazing time and I would definitely go back if I were to stay in Nice again!

Room Tip: The smaller the dorm room the better it will be unless you are traveling alone and are looking to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danimike0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

i found the staff (a super nice, young man and his wife) to be very friendly and helpful which is what saved "hotel" pastoral from getting a "terrible". also, location was pretty good as well- very close to the train and shopping, just a 10-20 min walk to the beach. yes, a little seedy though.

calling this place a "hotel" is straight up baloney. it's a hostel. through and through. from co-ed rooms with bunkbeds, minimal amenities, shared bathroom and kitchen...let's call it what it is.

me and my teenage sister opted for the cheaper, co-ed shared option (4 beds total) and i would not recommend this to any young female. i thought the hotel would use common sense with the room assignments, but she and i were paired with 2 middle-aged men. (thought hostels were for youths?) one guy was very friendly, no complaints there. The other one seemed ok at first but was very confrontational about noise and made me VERY uncomfortable. after he aggressively confronted me about noise (and believe me, i tried to be quiet and respectful coming in) i was forced to sleep 5 feet from him. i was terrified and uncomfortable. not cool. there was no staff available and i feel if you are going to have co-ed rooms, someone should be available 24/7 so everyone feels safe. had it not been for this one issue, my experience would have been better no doubt but i cannot overlook this. i also realize this "could have" happened anywhere. worth noting, the other guests were very nice- and not scary lol. but this killed my pastoral experience.
Otherwise, the rooms were minimal, ours was clean, not dusty. showers seemed clean and new. had to share 2-3 toilets with about 20 people which was annoying. there was a terrace where people hung out, so nice social environment but the terrace closed early to not bother the neighboring residents.
all in all: sub-par establishment, should be considered a hostel, has potential to be so much better.

Room Tip: i'd recommend a private room or shop around some more. not the worst, but not the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJISALIVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Avignon, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The location of this hostel is fabulous, the staff are lovely, but the rooms are aged and a bit dusty and the bathrooms are awkwardly set up. It's nice enough for the price, but not completely comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ham Lake, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Our double bedroom had hair in the sheets, on the floor and pillows. There were worms crawling out of the tile on our bathroom floor and we had no hot water in the shower or the sink. They were able to fix the pipes and get it on the next day though. The room was extremely loud from people who were drinking in the kitchen and rooms next to us, mix that with the terribly loud noises from the streets below. We were not able to sleep all night, even with the windows shut. The rooms are very disgusting and I would HIGHLY recommend searching more before you book you trip here.

The staff was fairly helpful but seemed under the influence while we were asking for directions.

Keep searching, this place is not worth your time or money. You'll enjoy your trip more if you book otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I thought this place was really good value for the money we payed.
It was decently clean, although the shower wasn't exaclty sparkling.
There was a mini fridge in the room, and the rooms were generally well maintained.
The staff was simply excellent and had some awesome recommendations!
It was secure as every area of the hostel required a key, even though the neighborhood didn't seem like the safest.
Would definitely stay there again if need be.

Stayed July 2009

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YKMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Very welcoming hostel. The staff did more than they should to help me out( as I don't speak a word of French). Friendly atmosphere and very safe. The rooftop terrace is great for having a few beers and meeting new people. Even a laundry(€4). If I ever come back to Nice I will be staying here. Thanks again for your hospitality Pastoral crew.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny-aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#92 of 204 in Nice
245 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Hotel Parisien
#97 of 204 in Nice
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#91 of 204 in Nice
569 reviews
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#96 of 204 in Nice
243 reviews
Centre
Hotel Baccarat
Hotel Baccarat
#7 of 58 in Nice
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pastoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pastoral

Property: Hotel Pastoral
Address: 27 rue Assalit | Hostel, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Pastoral is located in the center of Nice just 5 minutes from the train station and only 10 minutes walk from the beaches and the old town. bar and club!!walking distance to all the tourist atraction.There is free WIFI access in each room so that you can keep in touch with family and friends from home while away.There is luggage storage available at the hotel in case of early or late check out.There is a communal kitchen to save on expensive meals in restaurants outside. --free wifi in room--air conditioned---free lockers in dorms- --NO CURFEWPublic parking is available closeby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Pastoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pastoral Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing