We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave our room away”
Review of Hotel Pastoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pastoral
Ranked #37 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

As we booked a yr in advance they thought they could give our room away!!! Probably because we had paid a lower price!!! And they would get more by taking in a guest paying that yrs acc price then they sent us to a backpackers hostel!! No good for us we had paid our deposit and expected the room with En suite and breakfast!! The woman was more interested in tarting herself up!! Than sending us out in the worst rain they had ever seen!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Although I've heard that most of the hostels in Nice are value for money and are located in a clustered area, Pastoral was a really nice experience. It is located at 2 minutes walk from train station. There are many restaurants, McD, KFC, Subway, Indian restaurants close by as well as supermarkets for all your needs.

The breakfast provided in the hostel cost is totally amazing. You can head out to the beach which is a 10 min walk from the hostel. Value for money!

The rooms are clean and have a ensuite bathroom. There are shared bathrooms too in case you feel shortage. There is a free locker in every room.

Room Tip: Choose the 6-bed mixed dorm room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerendipityIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at Pastoral for one night while visiting Nice -- the rooms are nice enough, the service is very friendly and helpful, but what really makes it a good place to stay is the location. It's just around the corner from one of Nice's biggest shopping streets, and a short walk from the coast. Breakfast is nothing to write home about, but solid and decent -- I had no complaints. The room itself was spacious and clean, and had a strong wifi signal. All in all, a good place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigintangibles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hostel has a great location, within a very walkable distance from the main train station Gare de Nice Ville.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. One of them even offered to help me print my boarding pass for free. Storage of luggage after your check out is at EUR 1 per piece of luggage, and taking a shower after your check out is EUR 3 per person.

My friends and I chose an 8-bed room and we only stayed one night. It was very safe and the room had locker facilities. Your experience would really depend on who else is staying in the room with you. Of course, it would be better if your roommates had a good sense of hygiene and are neat.

Each room has one shower and one sink, but there are only two toilets for the whole level (if I remember correctly). The kitchen has adequate equipment and facilities, and there is continental breakfast provided. Overall a good youth hostel for a short stay.

Room Tip: The 8-bed rooms are the cheapest but for a bit more privacy you can choose the 4-bed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Good location and quite typical and traditional southern French architecture. Breakfast served. The WiFi is great here, do not need to stand in the corridor like our stays in other hotels or hostels. If you cannot stand the snooze from a stranger, then do not choose a mixed room, haha.

Room Tip: If you cannot stand the snooze from a stranger, then do not choose a mixed room, haha.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank issyy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Great location next to the train station and a tram station. Cleanliness level of bathrooms varied a little throughout our 3 night stay but as to be expected in hostels. Did have a private shower which was great and ac (great for summer in Nice) and a lovely terrace to meet other hostelers. Overall a better hostel choice!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I only stayed here one night and arrived after midnight, but the owner was very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in an 8 bed room and it was fine, the kitchen and terrace were amazing, looks like a great place to stay in the summer, which i'm sure i might do. Also very well situated with great wi-fi. Only one issue of a man in his pants telling us to be quiet (it wasn't us making noise), but that can't be helped really. Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrietSmith93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Hotel Parisien
#92 of 204 in Nice
137 reviews
Centre
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#97 of 204 in Nice
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Belle Meuniere
#139 of 204 in Nice
139 reviews
Centre
Hotel Baccarat
Hotel Baccarat
#7 of 61 in Nice
161 reviews
Centre
Backpacker's Chez Patrick  Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pastoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pastoral

Address: 27 rue Assalit | Hostel, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Price Range: £13 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Pastoral is located in the center of Nice just 5 minutes from the train station and only 10 minutes walk from the beaches and the old town. bar and club!!walking distance to all the tourist atraction.There is free WIFI access in each room so that you can keep in touch with family and friends from home while away.There is luggage storage available at the hotel in case of early or late check out.There is a communal kitchen to save on expensive meals in restaurants outside. --free wifi in room--air conditioned---free lockers in dorms- --NO CURFEWPublic parking is available closeby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pastoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pastoral Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing