We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid, avoid, avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Marius - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chez Marius
Cuisines: French, Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Nice
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Avoid, avoid, avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Rotten service, terrible food, uncaring management. Fast throughput, with hustler on the pavement pulling the punters in. Generally a sign of a place to avoid.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlesAndMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    3
    3
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chez Marius Nice - Keep Away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Quality of the food very low
Will try to exagerate the bill if you are a foreigner by adding extra things on the bill
Even if the "apéritif" is offered stay away from this place - Service is very very long an horrible.
Pizzas are delivered from outside
No effort to speak english and they will make the best to not inderstand your accent
I saw a fight between a waiter and an US customer unhappy with is bill

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank samy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away of this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Service is horrible, pizza are delivered from an other place (you will see time to time persons with larges bags delivering them) and the quality of the food is very very poor.
Keep an eye on the bill as they will try to charge you extra things. If you ask for water they will try to sell you Evian even if you ask for tap water. Ask for a "carafe d'eau".
Typical restaurant to make money from the tourists that are not speaking french.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay far from this place. Doesn't make sense to pay to eat crap and get sick.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Dorade smelled rotten so we had to let on the dish, moules hardly edible, paella of three days ago, watery and chewy pizza.
Bad experience ever.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dnf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“When very slow service ruins your appetite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Together with our small son we were looking for a simple dinner after some shopping. We walked into Chez Marius just off the main laine of "tourist traps" to eat some pasta and beef with with gratin dauphinois. The place was by about 90% empty, which promised to be at least relaxing for our little one who finds it difficult to sit still for long periods of time.

The place claims to have been open since the sixties but it has luckily been renovated recently and made a decent impression.

The food we were waiting for turned out to be OK too, but it was the amount of time they took that we found to be unprecedented, disturbing and disappointing. Waiting for two tomato salads for over 20mins (in an empty restaurant) followed by waiting for ages for the main course - that was too much for us! Despite our asking about the situation of our orders we were left waiting with little information about how much longer it would take...

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Marius also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing