We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% worth their rating”
Review of Le Sejour Cafe

Le Sejour Cafe
Ranked #6 of 1,961 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: In the "Carre d'or", our restaurant is small, elegant, and friendly. Fresh products of the day, We would love to welcome you ! Reservation by phone on opening hours. ATTENTION : we take no reservation by mail less than a week ahead. OUR RESTAURANT IS CLOSED FROM 7 AUGUST TO 22 AUGUST BUT, you can go to our second restaurant MON PETIT CAFE RESERVATION BY MAIL THANK YOU
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Fantastic service from start to finish, matched equally by the quality of the food. A short menu, but even with a very fussy eater in our party it was easy to each choose perfect dishes. We will be back very soon

1  Thank AndrewJBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R G, Propriétaire at Le Sejour Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Andrew !
You can always count on Scotish people ! !!!!
(and trust)
Thank you so much for your fantastic review on TA, about all of us !
So, now you know the way to come back,
Just consider we seriously wait for you ;-)

Just notice we are closed in August
Warm regards
The whole Team of LE SEJOUR CAFE
NICE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 409 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This has got to be one of the best restaurants in the world, let alone Nice. Having travelled abroad many times, it is rare that you find a place which combines exquisite meals with outstanding staff, atmosphere and presentation, for a good price. The menu is on a blackboard as it changes regularly I hear, as to involve fresh ingredients and menu items. I had the risotto with crab and it was superb; creamy but not sloshy, tasty but not salty, and a good serving size. This was after a delectable foie gras entree, with a great culmination of flavours and good serving size once again. The "special" dessert is quite indescribable but consisted of 5 small treats including an espresso that were again magnificent. Thank you so much for what is a highlight of our trip. Your staff are energetic, friendly and attentive, and I enjoyed my night here infinitely more than any of the garbage that is along the promenade. Best wishes for the future and I hope to visit once again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wafls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R G, Propriétaire at Le Sejour Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Wafis from Australia !

We get "pink" to read your marvelous review about us !
You can imagine how everybody in the SEJOUR 's team is grateful and
wants to thank you very much.
Nicolas (le Chef), Johanna (la seconde) and Marina (la pâtissière) sont très touchés et vous adresse leurs meilleurs sentiments, auxquels bien entendu, toute l'équipe de salle se joint !

A très bientôt

Bien amicalement
Marilene, Marina, Pepito, Wim, Monica et Anthony

LE SEJOUR CAFE
NICE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We don't often eat at the No.1 recommendation of TA because they don't often live up to expectations, so we were soooo glad we chose Le Sejour for our final night in France. The menu changes daily apparently and the focus is on fresh seasonal produce. We started with an amuse bouche of liquid celery and Apple..yum, followed by salmon tartare and octopus salad. Mains were the duck...rich and flavoursome and the Tuna...cooked to perfection. A shared desert of the Citrone tart with strawberries all served with friendly, professional service and this restaurant comes Highly recommended .. Away from the typical tourist trap restaurants you find in Nice on the main pedestrian streets...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DubaiDiva50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R G, Propriétaire at Le Sejour Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Rubyscooby2009 !

Thank you very much for your splendid review about us in TA !
it was a real pleasure to know you did enjoy your meal service and atmosphere
Of course you travel a lot, and Nice is not specially the next door for you.
BUT : if you did like you must come back

See you soon !

Best regards
Marilene
LE SEJOUR CAFE
NICE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Group of seven friends felt right at home at this small, cosy restaurant with great food and smiling employees. The food was great as well, and we will make sure to book a table for next year's trip to Nice!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank liselia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R G, Propriétaire at Le Sejour Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Liselia

Thank you so much for your review on TA.
We are very grateful for it !

We wait for you next year
When you call to book, just say : "Liselia from Norway" !!!!

Best regards

Marilene
LE SEJOUR CAFE
NICE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

After having read all the excellent reviews on trip advisor I knew that this would be a good choice. I booked the restaurant on Tuesday morning for that evening and we managed to get the last table outside. I thought that being full on a Tuesday is already a good sign.

We arrived at 7.30 and were greeted by the friendly waiting staff. As soon as awe arrived we were made to feel very relaxed and given a complimentary toast and tapenade as well as an asparagus amuse Bouche. Both delightful!

There was a selection of 5 or 6 dishes we could choose from and the selections were read to us in English by the really friendly waitress. She also recommended the most amazing bottle of white wine which cost €30.

For starters I had the warm squid salad and my girlfriend had the tomato and mozarella salad. Both were presented exquisitely and tasted likewise. My main course was the tuna and Nikki had the Duck. Yet again, these dishes were cooked to perfection, presented beautifully and what I liked most was their simplicity. Nothing was pretentious or over the top, just excellent, fine tasting food. we Shared a strawberry, lemon and basil Tart which yet again was excellent yet unusual at the same time.

I would not hesitate in recommending the Sejour Cafe to anybody, if anything I would actively encourage it! after visiting nice twice a year since I was a child i can safely say its the best meal I have eaten there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tommyd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le_sejour_nice, Propriétaire at Le Sejour Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Tommy :
We are grateful for your splendid review about us, on TA.
On top, you gave the details of what you had, and it is very important for us, to understand how our clients taste our preparations.
In the meantime it is very helpful for the TA Community,

Thank you to take time to write such nice things. We always think it is a friendly "return" from you, to us,
Thank you so much
Warm regards
Marilene
LE SEJOUR CAFE
NICE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Sejour Cafe also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Sejour Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing