We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive; what's the point?”
Review of Nice le Grand Tour

Nice le Grand Tour
Ranked #67 of 106 Tours in Nice
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Expensive; what's the point?”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I HATE writing a negative review but you have to tell it how it is. I was really disappointed with this tour. One reason for this is for the price, it was very expensive for what you get. The route does take you high up for some beautiful views across Nice but apart from that it is a very boring tour. I also wonder 'what's the point' as the driver didn't stop at stops passengers didn't board at. So, the tour took half the time and was disappointing. Wish I had taken the little train instead ...!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank thetraveller089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    14
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent tour”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is the best way to discover Nice and the tour is simply wonderful.
The driver was very friendly and explained us everything about the city the tour and the most important places to visit .
The view from upstairs was Magic and its a very cheap and easy way to discover the city.
I really advice this tour even if it can seems a bit expensive, you ll not regret ...

PS: in France its allowed to speak on the phone when you drive if you have headsets, so NO worries ;) ;) ;)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 26juanITO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Bus Tour”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We picked up the bus at stop just opposite the Hotel Negresco on the Promenade des Anglais. We felt little more could have been made of this tour, for instance we would have liked to have known a little more about the history of the old Hotels along the Promenade des Anglais. Stopped at the Monastery/Matisse museum stop very enjoyable stroll around the Cimiez monastery gardens, a real gem that was not advertised and we discovered by accident, but well worth searching out for and Free to!! Did not go in the museum as we felt we could not do justice to the €10 entrance fee in the limited time we had available. An enjoyable way to get your bearings around the city, but you really do have to get on the upper deck to make the most of it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavenSueSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not good value for your money”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Very poor use of your time and money. Difficult to locate the bus in the first place. Stop #1 is on the Promenade des Anglais beach if you are looking for it. Poor to no signage for stop locations. We walked to one stop 10 minutes before the scheduled pick up only to find we had missed the bus. This required a long wait as the buses only stop at designated locations once every 30 minutes. The commentary is provided through ear phones in 9 languages which was a good idea, however, very little commentary is provided about the city and it's sites. Primarily, it is music that is piped through the earphones. On a safety note, our driver spent a great deal of time on a private phone call while driving a double decker bus through the crowded streets of Nice.
Wish I had read the other reviews beforehand!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandra105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A disappointing reguge on a Rainy Day”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A rainy day in Nice, so I decided to take advantage of "Le Grand Tour". Unfortunately, I found the tour disappointing. Many of the stops were not only missing the timetable but even a sign indicating that this was a Le Grand Tour bus stop, the commentary was mostly music and the driver must have been a rougue driver as he seemed to have his own agenda: skipping important stops as well as doing the circuit in reverse. Also, at 21 Euros it seemed like an expensive way to see the city.

My recommendation is to stick with the tram.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Il_Magiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nice le Grand Tour also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Nice le Grand Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing