We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Flavours, but very small portions”
Review of HANgout Restaurant

HANgout Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 1,892 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gastronomic cuisine revisited by Takayuki Kamiya from japan, modern and sleek simple decor
Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Flavours, but very small portions”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We made reservations based on tripadvisor reviews and took the degustation menu.
As amuse we had a Gazpacho which tasted very good. Then came 2 starters, one Salmon tartare and scallops with courgette. I have to say the taste was really good but portions were the size of a amuse. Main course was beef with onions and soya which again tasted wonderfull.
Dessert was ok. But at the end of our meal we were a bit disappointed, almost 40 Euro for a 3-course dinner is a normal price if the portions are normal size. Here the portions were to small.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holida Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takayuki K, Directeur général at HANgout Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi we are sorry about your disappointment but i just would like to point the fact that we cannot please every one and we are aware of this regarding the quantity for 38€ set menu we only working with fresh product and quality which as a cost example for the menu fresh salmon and scallops to starts is more about a degustation and quality not quantity the filet of beef and some fresh cherry desert with homemade ice cream and as you said the quality is there and thanks for that so i hope you ll give another chance and you can let us know if you come back about this experience @ HANgoût

regards jean michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    133
    50
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We highly recommend. The menu offers a fixed price and al a carte choices. I wanted the filet which was on the fixed price and they didn't hesitate to make it available. This is fine dining in Old Town but away from the noisy pedestrian area. At the same time, you feel like you're in a place that's been there forever. Our waitress, Chloe, knew every person that walked by with a loaf of bread from the bakery on the corner. Really special place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and price”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Definitely better than other 4.5 stars we tried yesterday.
Very nice serving and very good food coming from an Italian.

Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent fine dining restaurant”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It was so good we ate this restaurant twice in three days on our recent visit to Nice in May.
The staff were excellent, very helpful and knowledgable.
Jean Paul the co-owner was very attentive and welcoming and Chloe was very pleasant, friendly and funny.
The food can only be described as fine dining, delicious and original. We highly recommend this restaurant and consider it excellent value for high quality food.
We can't wait for our next visit to Nice when we will definitely be re-visiting this superb restaurant again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really tasty”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent food & service, menu was really different!! Loved the chocolate soup!! Wouldn't be surprised if received a Michelin in the future!! Well done!

Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyNZCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HANgout Restaurant also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to HANgout Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing