We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK food, reasonable prices, good service near station”
Review of Madura - CLOSED

Madura
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OK food, reasonable prices, good service near station”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stopped by after returning to Nice by train in the evening. The location is very convenient, about 3 minutes from the station and close to many hotels.

I only tried vegetarian food. The main dish (Baingan Bharta, €6,50) was not bad, but could have been better spiced. I agree with another reviewer that the samosa is not good at all.

Service was polite and efficient. Overall, good enough for a quick fill-up.

The upholstered chairs were terrible. I am convinced I had imprints of every metal spring on my rear end!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregorsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Some food is good, but the cheapness is awful”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

ACs are switched off and the main door opened to let the people on the street know who all are dining. The restaurant was empty, and I asked to be moved to a bigger table but was refused without being provided with a reason. Some dishes are prepared nicely, but some are outright horrendous. The onion naan has no onion in it except for butter and flour. A glass of lemonade is charged at 3.50 euros, not cheap it may seem. The TV plays cheesy Indian songs, not the good ones, downloaded from youtube.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WayneCorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“nice place-friendly service.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were in the neighborhood. Looked at the menu prices were reasonable. quite friendly staff. Food was Ok.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saurabh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AVOID MADURA MADHURA INDIAN RESTAURANT NICE”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A friend and I ate there for one evening in September. When we tried to pay by credit card, the first time we were told that the payment had not been accepted - which can happen with using one country's card in another country. So when they asked, I keyed it in again and this time, apparently, it was ok.
However, within 24 hours two lots of money were taken.
When I saw this on my bank statement, I wrote to the restaurant asking for the error to be put right - I also phoned. On the phone it is impossible to speak to anybody in authority while emails are consistently ignored.
As a result, I have to say that I am no longer convinced this was an error.
I would strongly advise you to AVOID. Or at least never pay by plastic!
If I get a refund then I will update this review.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JF12342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Horrible!! Avoid at all Costs!!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Hands down THE WORST restaurant I've ever experienced in my entire life!!! Horrible food and the people working here are scammers!! Avoid, avoid, avoid!!

My husband and I were looking for a late-night meal and came across Madura on our way back from the Gare de Nice Ville Train Station. Since we're both vegetarian and love Indian food we figured this would be a solid spot... boy we were wrong.

The food is average at best, completely flavorless in every regard. The curries were watery, the rice crunchy, and the samosa was the worst I've ever tried (tasted like rancid cooking oil). By far this was the most disappointing and poor quality meal we experienced during our 10 day trip in France, probably the worst I've ever had while abroad or even stateside.

The really unfortunate part happened the next day when we discovered we received COUNTERFEIT notes as change!!! The next day when we attempted to the use 20 Euro bill we received as change, a shop owner informed us that the bill was fake. It was missing a major hologram and inside thread – two details that would have been very difficult for us to notice as non-EU citizens. In retrospect it was obvious the woman who gave us change knew exactly what she was doing as she made it a point to ask where we were from while we were waiting for our food.

Stay clear of this place. It’s a tourist trap that in every regard, from the subpar food to the scammers who take advantage of unknowing visitors.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lefete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madura also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing