We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but not a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Ranked #22 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is a good hotel but unfortunately it is not a five star but chooses to charge five star prices. We had a lovely room and the glass shower was awesome. We had a lovely large balcony which could have done with a table and a couple fo chairs On the first night it appears a group of teenagers were booked into the hotel and kept us awake until 230am with little assistance from the night staff. During the day the hotel seems very understaffed and the staff that are there are so busy they cant give you the attention you look for from a five star. The "private beach" is not actually private, it is shared with 5 other hotels and beware as the Boscolo makes out that its free to use but you still have to pay (albeit a reduced rate) to use the beach and food and drink are hotel prices. The staff however were very good. The biggest let down was the restuarant. The food was lovely but the service was absolutely appaulling. I could have got better service in the McDonalds on the sea front. We ended up, along with three other couples that night, getting a full refund because the maitre'd just seemed to have given up listening to the complaints. The staff were rude, obnoxious and we had to wait far to long for our food in a half empty restuarant. We never recieved the water we asked four times for and it took over half hour to get the bill.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a front room on the 4th floor - these have balconys, which, although the view is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

This Boscolo Exedra is not like Boscolo Exedra Roma.
Rooms vary, both superior and deluxe. Note that the bathroom is kind-of integrated with the room so bathroom lights will illuminate the room.
Swimming pool is about 12m and is dark.
Service is good (no turn down), breakfast is good, location in good (8min walk to tram, train, beach, restaurants, although all in different directions).
Wall paint and some fixtures are a bit rundown but much less than other hotels in south of france ;-) (BTW, no cigaret smoke, good)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GimCH07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel with friendly staff. The spa is a bit over rated for my taste, but the other aspects of the hotel are stylish, welcoming and enjoyable. You are unlikely to be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Guest,
We have really appreciated for taking the time to express your feedback concerning your stay in our property on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you, every day the main goal of the management and the staff of the Boscolo Exedra are to reach guest satisfaction, and learning from you that you have found the staff friendly is like an award in achieving our task. Indeed we will take into consideration the remark concerning the cost of the Spa as you know it is a unique location in Nice but we will take care of this aspect also. We hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.
Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We recently stayed at the Boscolo Exedra Hotel in Nice. The hotel is very nice, but the staff and service were great!! Hugo, an employee at the restaurant treated us like family. He is the reason we plan to stay on our next trip to Nice!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

nice 5 star hotel, about 10 minutes from train station and 10 minutes (walk) from promenade, old town as well as great shopping. Beautiful, romantic decor but lacking 5star resort amenities. Spa is just ok, definitely need a little touches and upgrades. Don't expect use kind of spas... had to go and ask for towels, relaxation area is kind of small and the spa is hard to find (lacking some better signage)

In overal it was a nice place to stay at and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Very nice hotel, the rooms are not very big but very well decorated.
Reception staff was very friendly, we have met with a manager called Philip and he has done his best to accomodate us although we arrived at 9 am after a very long drive from Germany.
He let us choose between 2 rooms, one was larger but we didn't want to pay more. Still he was very helpful and really cared about us, and treated us very delicately.
In other places usually you are told to leave the bags and come back in the afternoon to get your room.
At the bar in the evening a young man also was extremely helpful. Everyone in the staff was great.
A little expensive (we paid about 300 euros) but we will definitely come back if we are in Nice again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lenjatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This will be short and to the point.

1. A stylish hotel with a good atmosphere. Our room was a standard double and it was a good size. It was also clean and the bed very comfortable
2. Generally the staff are polite and in particular looked after our bags from check out until our flight in the evening. This last request was done graciously and without fuss.
3. Requests for more pillows were reacted to quickly.
4. Gave us an extra hour for check out.

Given the relative price I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Negresco
#17 of 203 in Nice
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel Suisse
#9 of 203 in Nice
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection

Address: 12 Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Boscolo Exedra Nice)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nice
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#17 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £108 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience elegant luxury in the French Riviera at the Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection. Our boutique hotel features an ideal location just minutes from the Promenade des Anglais, Old Town and some of the town's most pristine beaches. With our splendid amenities, signature spa and on-site Italian restaurant, we ensure an unforgettable stay in Nice, France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Exedra Nice Hotel Nice
Boscolo Exedra Hotel Nice
Nice Boscolo Exedra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing