We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel - Average experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Ranked #15 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel - Average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at Boscolo end of July 2014 for 4 nights.

The entrance is very beautiful, inside is all white and calm and the lobby has a a nice aura.

I had booked a premium room which is 1 level above the normal room because I believe is guarantees you some extra attention, since you are paying more than the average room.

We arrived there at noon 12 o'clock and the room was not ready. They informed that the check in time is at 3pm (every hotel in the world has a 2pm check in, why 3pm Boscolo?).
We left and when we came back at the afternoon at around 7 pm the room they gave us was a very spacious room (which is what I paid for) but with the worst view I have even seen. I had a view of the air conditioner machines!!! For a Premium room!! Not that they other rooms can have an amazing view but at least you get to have a view of the street with the trees outside or the inner dome of the Lobby.

The room was overall clean and very spacious.
Like someone pointed out the shower is visible from the bed which means that you cannot stay with a friend or family. It is strictly couples thing. But overall big Shower. Big toilet room. Clean towels and they also had a series of nice shower gels and stuff like that.

Room service charges you 5€ just to bring you anything regardless of the cost. this 5€ does not include the tip. This is a first as I have been staying in 5 star hotels ever since I was a kid and have never seen a room service to charge you for the service they offer.

Staff was ok in being polite. Nothing special or nothing that makes you feel warm. Just polite.
they charge you €35 per day for parking which is a ripoff. 3' walk (next to the park) is a parking Garage which charged me €15 per day for 5 days of stay.

Location is ok. Not far from the see with a car and not far from the highway if you wan tot visit Cannes or Monaco.

Overall:

+Nice Hotel Design
+Spacious room
+Location

-charge of room service
-charge for parking expensive
-View of the room was terrible

The room i Stayed was 420 and if I got offered to stay in that room again I'd decline. Same should you.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 420, Terrible View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Boscolo Exedra, we are really sorry to learn that your stay did not come up entirely to your expectations and we are taking your experience very seriously into consideration.

We would like to thank you for your positive comments on our lobby, our cleanliness, our large showers, our location and our large variety of bathroom amenities.

Effectively the concept of some of our room are with an open space bathroom (with a separate toilet/bidet which can be closed with a sliding door), this the way the architect has imagined the space in some rooms however we do have rooms with a separate bathroom on demand, next time please feel free to inquire about these rooms if you prefer more privacy.

Regarding the parking price of 35€, it does not only contain the parking, but also the valet parking service with an availability of 24 hours a day to take and deposit your car as often as you like.

If you wish to have a view of Boulevard Victor Hugo, we recommend you to mention this on your future reservation, we can then do the nescessary to allocate you a room according to your preferences.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Kind regards,
Silvio Catalano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    402
    179
    76
    52
See reviews for
172
806
46
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Typically when you pay this kind of money for a hotel it come with exceptional service. We did not feel that we experienced this.

The receptionist brought us to our room and as he was leaving I asked if he could book us a restaurant for dinner with in walking distance. He said "yes" and walked out. When he left I was wondering why he didn't ask me what time or any other clarifying questions. He never got back to us.

It was also simple things like being greeted as we left or when we returned. We were pretty much always ignored. It didn't set a friendly tone.

The rooms are nice enough, but definitely meant for couples as the shower is in the middle of the room. We were actually on our honeymoon, but didn't receive any recognition for it.

One of the stranger things was that there wasn't a wine opener or wine glasses in the room so we called the front to see about getting both. The told us that would be a 5 euro charge. We clarified, "to just use the glasses and opener it's 5 euros?" Yea this was the case. 45 minutes later no one ever showed up. We called back to request again and informed them we wouldn't be paying the 5 euro charge after they had forgotten the first time.

The location is great as you can walk to restaurants and the beach. If the service and staff were better and friendlier I would have given a higher recommendation. We really aren't that hard to please.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Boscolo Exedra, we are really sorry to learn that your stay did not come up entirely to your expectations and we are taking your experience very seriously into consideration.
Unfortunately we haven’t received any information that you have been on honeymoon, otherwise our standard procedure for honeymooners includes a bottle of Sparkling Wine and Macarons.

We would like to thank you for your positive comments on our location and your rooms.

Effectively the concept of some of our room are with an open space bathroom (with a separate toilet/bidet which can be closed with a sliding door), this the way the architect has imagined the space in some rooms however we do have rooms with a separate bathroom on demand, next time please feel free to inquire about these rooms if you prefer more privacy.

Please accept our apologies for missing service attention that has been given to you. This is not according to our philosophy and we will place more attention in this matter in order to avoid such situations.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Kind regards,
Silvio Catalano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The spa alone makes this hotel the perfect choice for a stay in Nice. I am not a typical "spa person" but this one was absolutely AWESOME. The pool (which is really a giant hot tub built with beautiful tiny glass tiles!) is there perfect temperature and the sauna and steam rooms are incredible. There is even a DVD play in the sauna! They have available great and complimentary refreshments...you have to try the grapefruit juice!

The rooms and assortment of toiletries were great, but the maids daily cleaning service was a bit inconsistent and should be addressed by the hotel. She either forgot to replace the coffee cups with cleans ones or left the nespresso machine (which is a HUGE feature in the room for coffee aficiandos) disassembled on the desk.

But overall, this hotel is a definite recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillanandmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We have really appreciated that you have taken the time to express your feedback regarding your stay in our property on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you. Every day the main goal of the management and the staff of the Boscolo Exedra is to reach guest satisfaction, and learning from you that you have found the property and its services corresponding to your expectations is like an award in achieving our task.
Thank you in particular for your positive comments on our Spa (pool, sauna, steam rooms) and our large variety of bathroom amenities.
We have noted your comment with regards to the coffee cups which haven’t been replaced and we would like to apologize. We will further investigate why this has been forgotten in your room.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,

Silvio Catalano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I had a five-star visit to this hotel in April and raved and recommended to all. We returned for an event in Nice in August and it was a tale of two cities. It was my wife's birthday and champagne and macarons were promised. The champagne arrived but the macarons came only 24 hours later after 3 requests. The room, which was magnificent on the first visit, was a shoe box. On the second day we returned to the room at 4 pm to get ready for our 6 pm event and the room had not been cleaned; our complaint was met with a shrug. The bathtub was not cleaned once in the course of our 3 night stay. The electricity on the wall with the TV and only convenient electrical outlet s went out; despite two requests it was not fixed by the time of our departure. A horribly disappointing experience on the heels of an excellent one just a few months earlier. Yes, it is a busy season, but the indifference of the service in a hotel of this cost was shocking.

Room Tip: There are some superb rooms; insist on one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Boscolo Exedra, we are really sorry to learn that your stay did not come up entirely to your expectations and we are taking your experience very seriously into consideration. We will further investigate why your room hasn’t been cleaned up to 4pm especially the bathtub in order to make sure that this will not happen again
For your birthday you have received on your day of arrival a bottle of Champage and Macarons, the next day you have asked us to receive another pack of macarons for a friend of yours. We have agreed to give you another free pack of macarons, but indeed this has been forgotten by our housekeeping department and on your reminder we have send it to you with a delay, for which we would like to apologize.
During your last stay you have received a free upgrade to a Junior Suite, which due to very high occupancy we were not able to give you during this stay and you have been staying in the room category you originally booked for, a spacious more than 30m² large Deluxe room. For being a City Hotel in the center of Nice, we think that a room of 30m² does not deserve to be called a “shoe box”.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Kind regards,
Silvio Catalano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights on a Jet2 holiday and enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We liked the style of it although some may think the all white theme a little stark. We missed not having anywhere to sit out in the sun, but then it is a city hotel. However there is a lovely shaded terrace opening on to the main street and we enjoyed the excellent breakfasts on there, only marred by occasional construction noise from near-by.

The room was lovely but the view from it was not brilliant, but again, the hotel is located in a city so options are limited. No tea or coffee making facilities but an incredible array of shower gels, shampoos, conditioners, all neatly arranged in a stand and numbered (1 to 18). We then noticed that the soap, shoe cleaning cloth, laundry bag were also numbered (highest number 26 I think). Unfortunately, this meant we noticed some numbers were missing and we were engaged for some time searching the room for them, and speculating on what they might be!

The room was kept clean and tidy, and the bed was turned down at night and some very nice chocolates left, although one night this wasn't done at all. Also the complimentary bottles of water were not left consistently.

There is a spa with swimming pool, sauna, steam room and various treatments. We didn't use the treatments but made use of the other facilities. The hotel have worked hard to make the swimming pool interesting with water pouring in from various pipes, and whirlpool jets, but at times this did give me a feeling that I was swimming in a dimly lit, flooding cellar. Still enjoyed the facility though!

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Audrey on reception was very helpful to us when we had a problem with our transfer back to the airport and rang the company for us.

Location wise it was just a few minutes walk from the main shopping street and about 20-25 minutes walk to the old town.

Overall, the hotel was excellent with just one or two little things marring it. Would happily go back again or try one of the other Boscolo hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluebarnabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We have really appreciated that you have taken the time to express your feedback regarding your stay in our property on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you. Every day the main goal of the management and the staff of the Boscolo Exedra is to reach guest satisfaction, and learning from you that you have found the property and its services corresponding to your expectations is like an award in achieving our task.
Thank you in particular for your positive comments on our breakfast, our large variety of bathroom amenities and our staff, in particular Audrey. We will be happy to let her know about it.
With regards to your comment about the tea or coffee making facilities we would like to inform you that we provide Nespresso coffee machines in all our Executive Double Rooms, Junior Suites and Suites. In our future investments we are soon going to include tea and coffee making facilities in all our rooms.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,

Silvio Catalano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a funny one.
It's not 5star. No. It's like the set to a quasi glamorous, slightly budget, 1980s American drama. The intentions are good but the finish doesn't quite live up to expectations. Very stark but not quite high end enough to really be fabulous. That's just my opinion on the cosmetics. For me, the Savoy is 5star and it oozes easy elegance and effortlessness, yet huge effort has been put in.
The service however: charming. The lady on front desk, late 30s, long brown hair, was a total joy. So friendly, informative and lovely.
Another concierge advised us that we can use the private beach attached to the hotel for E42 per day. These private beaches average for E24-30 per day so do not use this link with the hotel as you end up paying more. We went to Beau Rivage for E30 including towel, lounger and a front row pitch. NOTE: Take flips flops as the walk to the sea without them (even just our 5 yards) would be hellish! All stone beaches I'm Nice.
Breakfast was E30 so we opted out and went to Caffe Vergnano nearby (ask for an extra shot in your coffee, otherwise great).
Spa was great:pool, hydrotherapy, steam and sauna. Random but delicious freshly squeezed pink grapefruit juice as you relax - refreshing and much appreciated.
So good things and bad. I requested a closed bathroom as I was travelling with a pal and not the love of my life. We were given one but still it's an odd design - ie if you go to the loo while your friend is in the shower you see him In all his glory showering away (and singing Madonna!). Not for everyone (that particular situation, that is, not my lovely pal!)
Management take notes on booking and aim to be as helpful as possible when designating rooms.
Verdict: not worth the money some people have paid here, not 5 star, but not bad.
An above average hotel, with slightly dodgy decor, but a very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Careful of the open bathrooms, request maximum privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AMO308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Boscolo Exedra, we are really sorry to learn that your stay did not come up entirely to your expectations and we are taking your experience very seriously into consideration.
We would like to thank you for your positive comments on our spa and our staff.
With regards to the prices, we would like to inform you that we charge 32€ for the access to our Beach Partner Ruhl, including a sunbed, parasol, a towel and a bottle of water.
For breakfast we offer an extensive hot and cold American buffet with a wide variety of cheeses, salads, fresh fruits, ham, salmon and of course bread and pastries, cereals etc., we also serve scramble eggs with bacon and sausages and our price of 24€ is really below most of our competitors.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Kind regards,
Silvio Catalano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here as a couple for a night in January. With its grand exterior and stylish décor inside the lobby, we both instantly liked the hotel. We liaised with a very helpful receptionist who quickly showed us to our room, even though we arrived a little earlier than the advised check-in time. Our room was beautiful - spotlessly clean - and had a decent sized balcony which looked over the main street. The Boscolo Exedra is within easy walking distance from many shops, restaurants and the beach. We dined at the hotel's restaurant and visited the spa during our stay - both were great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We have really appreciated that you have taken the time to express your feedback regarding your stay in our property on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you. Every day the main goal of the management and the staff of the Boscolo Exedra is to reach guest satisfaction, and learning from you that you have found the property and its services corresponding to your expectations is like an award in achieving our task.
Thank you in particular for your positive comments on our lobby, our rooms, our staff, our spa and our restaurant.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,

Silvio Catalano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Negresco
#14 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection

Property: Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Address: 12 Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Boscolo Exedra Nice)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nice
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#17 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#22 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience elegant luxury in the French Riviera at the Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection. Our boutique hotel features an ideal location just minutes from the Promenade des Anglais, Old Town and some of the town's most pristine beaches. With our splendid amenities, signature spa and on-site Italian restaurant, we ensure an unforgettable stay in Nice, France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Exedra Nice Hotel Nice
Boscolo Exedra Hotel Nice
Nice Boscolo Exedra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing