We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,668)
Filter reviews
1,668 results
Traveller rating
819
464
218
92
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
819
464
218
92
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelwhite decormacaroonsglass showerold townindoor poolsteam roomroad worksdeluxe roomluxury hotelbottle of champagnehotel restauranttrain stationlong weekendplace massenaspamarriott
Filter
Updating list...
582 - 587 of 1,668 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Typically when you pay this kind of money for a hotel it come with exceptional service. We did not feel that we experienced this.

The receptionist brought us to our room and as he was leaving I asked if he could book us a restaurant for dinner with in walking distance. He said "yes" and walked out. When he left I was wondering why he didn't ask me what time or any other clarifying questions. He never got back to us.

It was also simple things like being greeted as we left or when we returned. We were pretty much always ignored. It didn't set a friendly tone.

The rooms are nice enough, but definitely meant for couples as the shower is in the middle of the room. We were actually on our honeymoon, but didn't receive any recognition for it.

One of the stranger things was that there wasn't a wine opener or wine glasses in the room so we called the front to see about getting both. The told us that would be a 5 euro charge. We clarified, "to just use the glasses and opener it's 5 euros?" Yea this was the case. 45 minutes later no one ever showed up. We called back to request again and informed them we wouldn't be paying the 5 euro charge after they had forgotten the first time.

The location is great as you can walk to restaurants and the beach. If the service and staff were better and friendlier I would have given a higher recommendation. We really aren't that hard to please.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jaime F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Boscolo Exedra, we are really sorry to learn that your stay did not come up entirely to your expectations and we are taking your experience very seriously into consideration.
Unfortunately we haven’t received any information that you have been on honeymoon, otherwise our standard procedure for honeymooners includes a bottle of Sparkling Wine and Macarons.

We would like to thank you for your positive comments on our location and your rooms.

Effectively the concept of some of our room are with an open space bathroom (with a separate toilet/bidet which can be closed with a sliding door), this the way the architect has imagined the space in some rooms however we do have rooms with a separate bathroom on demand, next time please feel free to inquire about these rooms if you prefer more privacy.

Please accept our apologies for missing service attention that has been given to you. This is not according to our philosophy and we will place more attention in this matter in order to avoid such situations.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Kind regards,
Silvio Catalano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The spa alone makes this hotel the perfect choice for a stay in Nice. I am not a typical "spa person" but this one was absolutely AWESOME. The pool (which is really a giant hot tub built with beautiful tiny glass tiles!) is there perfect temperature and the sauna and steam rooms are incredible. There is even a DVD play in the sauna! They have available great and complimentary refreshments...you have to try the grapefruit juice!

The rooms and assortment of toiletries were great, but the maids daily cleaning service was a bit inconsistent and should be addressed by the hotel. She either forgot to replace the coffee cups with cleans ones or left the nespresso machine (which is a HUGE feature in the room for coffee aficiandos) disassembled on the desk.

But overall, this hotel is a definite recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillanandmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We have really appreciated that you have taken the time to express your feedback regarding your stay in our property on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you. Every day the main goal of the management and the staff of the Boscolo Exedra is to reach guest satisfaction, and learning from you that you have found the property and its services corresponding to your expectations is like an award in achieving our task.
Thank you in particular for your positive comments on our Spa (pool, sauna, steam rooms) and our large variety of bathroom amenities.
We have noted your comment with regards to the coffee cups which haven’t been replaced and we would like to apologize. We will further investigate why this has been forgotten in your room.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,

Silvio Catalano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I had a five-star visit to this hotel in April and raved and recommended to all. We returned for an event in Nice in August and it was a tale of two cities. It was my wife's birthday and champagne and macarons were promised. The champagne arrived but the macarons came only 24 hours later after 3 requests. The room, which was magnificent on the first visit, was a shoe box. On the second day we returned to the room at 4 pm to get ready for our 6 pm event and the room had not been cleaned; our complaint was met with a shrug. The bathtub was not cleaned once in the course of our 3 night stay. The electricity on the wall with the TV and only convenient electrical outlet s went out; despite two requests it was not fixed by the time of our departure. A horribly disappointing experience on the heels of an excellent one just a few months earlier. Yes, it is a busy season, but the indifference of the service in a hotel of this cost was shocking.

Room Tip: There are some superb rooms; insist on one
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Boscolo Exedra, we are really sorry to learn that your stay did not come up entirely to your expectations and we are taking your experience very seriously into consideration. We will further investigate why your room hasn’t been cleaned up to 4pm especially the bathtub in order to make sure that this will not happen again
For your birthday you have received on your day of arrival a bottle of Champage and Macarons, the next day you have asked us to receive another pack of macarons for a friend of yours. We have agreed to give you another free pack of macarons, but indeed this has been forgotten by our housekeeping department and on your reminder we have send it to you with a delay, for which we would like to apologize.
During your last stay you have received a free upgrade to a Junior Suite, which due to very high occupancy we were not able to give you during this stay and you have been staying in the room category you originally booked for, a spacious more than 30m² large Deluxe room. For being a City Hotel in the center of Nice, we think that a room of 30m² does not deserve to be called a “shoe box”.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Kind regards,
Silvio Catalano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights on a Jet2 holiday and enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We liked the style of it although some may think the all white theme a little stark. We missed not having anywhere to sit out in the sun, but then it is a city hotel. However there is a lovely shaded terrace opening on to the main street and we enjoyed the excellent breakfasts on there, only marred by occasional construction noise from near-by.

The room was lovely but the view from it was not brilliant, but again, the hotel is located in a city so options are limited. No tea or coffee making facilities but an incredible array of shower gels, shampoos, conditioners, all neatly arranged in a stand and numbered (1 to 18). We then noticed that the soap, shoe cleaning cloth, laundry bag were also numbered (highest number 26 I think). Unfortunately, this meant we noticed some numbers were missing and we were engaged for some time searching the room for them, and speculating on what they might be!

The room was kept clean and tidy, and the bed was turned down at night and some very nice chocolates left, although one night this wasn't done at all. Also the complimentary bottles of water were not left consistently.

There is a spa with swimming pool, sauna, steam room and various treatments. We didn't use the treatments but made use of the other facilities. The hotel have worked hard to make the swimming pool interesting with water pouring in from various pipes, and whirlpool jets, but at times this did give me a feeling that I was swimming in a dimly lit, flooding cellar. Still enjoyed the facility though!

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Audrey on reception was very helpful to us when we had a problem with our transfer back to the airport and rang the company for us.

Location wise it was just a few minutes walk from the main shopping street and about 20-25 minutes walk to the old town.

Overall, the hotel was excellent with just one or two little things marring it. Would happily go back again or try one of the other Boscolo hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CJHolliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We have really appreciated that you have taken the time to express your feedback regarding your stay in our property on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you. Every day the main goal of the management and the staff of the Boscolo Exedra is to reach guest satisfaction, and learning from you that you have found the property and its services corresponding to your expectations is like an award in achieving our task.
Thank you in particular for your positive comments on our breakfast, our large variety of bathroom amenities and our staff, in particular Audrey. We will be happy to let her know about it.
With regards to your comment about the tea or coffee making facilities we would like to inform you that we provide Nespresso coffee machines in all our Executive Double Rooms, Junior Suites and Suites. In our future investments we are soon going to include tea and coffee making facilities in all our rooms.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,

Silvio Catalano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a funny one.
It's not 5star. No. It's like the set to a quasi glamorous, slightly budget, 1980s American drama. The intentions are good but the finish doesn't quite live up to expectations. Very stark but not quite high end enough to really be fabulous. That's just my opinion on the cosmetics. For me, the Savoy is 5star and it oozes easy elegance and effortlessness, yet huge effort has been put in.
The service however: charming. The lady on front desk, late 30s, long brown hair, was a total joy. So friendly, informative and lovely.
Another concierge advised us that we can use the private beach attached to the hotel for E42 per day. These private beaches average for E24-30 per day so do not use this link with the hotel as you end up paying more. We went to Beau Rivage for E30 including towel, lounger and a front row pitch. NOTE: Take flips flops as the walk to the sea without them (even just our 5 yards) would be hellish! All stone beaches I'm Nice.
Breakfast was E30 so we opted out and went to Caffe Vergnano nearby (ask for an extra shot in your coffee, otherwise great).
Spa was great:pool, hydrotherapy, steam and sauna. Random but delicious freshly squeezed pink grapefruit juice as you relax - refreshing and much appreciated.
So good things and bad. I requested a closed bathroom as I was travelling with a pal and not the love of my life. We were given one but still it's an odd design - ie if you go to the loo while your friend is in the shower you see him In all his glory showering away (and singing Madonna!). Not for everyone (that particular situation, that is, not my lovely pal!)
Management take notes on booking and aim to be as helpful as possible when designating rooms.
Verdict: not worth the money some people have paid here, not 5 star, but not bad.
An above average hotel, with slightly dodgy decor, but a very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Careful of the open bathrooms, request maximum privacy
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank AMO308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Boscolo Exedra, we are really sorry to learn that your stay did not come up entirely to your expectations and we are taking your experience very seriously into consideration.
We would like to thank you for your positive comments on our spa and our staff.
With regards to the prices, we would like to inform you that we charge 32€ for the access to our Beach Partner Ruhl, including a sunbed, parasol, a towel and a bottle of water.
For breakfast we offer an extensive hot and cold American buffet with a wide variety of cheeses, salads, fresh fruits, ham, salmon and of course bread and pastries, cereals etc., we also serve scramble eggs with bacon and sausages and our price of 24€ is really below most of our competitors.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Kind regards,
Silvio Catalano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews