We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,670)
Filter reviews
1,670 results
Traveller rating
819
465
218
93
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
819
465
218
93
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelwhite decorglass showermacaroonsold townindoor poolsteam roomroad worksdeluxe roomluxury hotelbottle of champagnehotel restauranttrain stationlong weekendplace massenaspamarriott
Filter
Updating list...
580 - 585 of 1,670 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

from the moment we arrived things were grim.

no one on door to help with luggage. husband had to wait in the car, half on street, whilst I organised the valet. when a doorman was around, he bored or aloof. not polite. not welcoming. more like a bouncer.

reception desk had plenty of people but unprofessional and the young woman who 'greeted' us seemed barely interested. sat down during the check in. told us our room was over an hour late, should be ready in 10 minutes then looked back at her computer and said nothing more until I prompted her to indicate perhaps there was somewhere we could have a refreshment?? oh yes...

the duty manager (?) explained that the room was late as they had aircrew in the night before. so? it's a hotel! you're supposed to have guests in the night before! our drinks were complimentary. too right.

so, after a shambles at arrival, uncommunicative reception staff, we finally got to our room.

the bathroom floor was filthy. not dirty. filthy. I'll attach a photo where I wrote my initial in the grim by the toilet with a baby wipe. we asked for the bathroom to be cleaned. two hours later it was still filthy. we asked again (9pm now). two cleaners arrived. had an ineffectual wipe at it with a camp cloth and said it would have to wait until tomorrow when they had a machine?? what about a brush and some detergent? black mould around the bathtub, too. disgusting for a hotel of any class.

we sat on the cafe/restaurant terrace to have a drink while we waited for friends. crisps stale.

our daughter had a roll out/fold out bed. so bowed that we had to put her mattress on the floor.

the room was grubby. no character. like a white concrete box with some random furniture thrown in.

there was no sound proofing of door or windows (our friend's room didn't even have a window!) so throughout the night we heard other guests returning and street noises from 6am.

lighting? either all on like a football stadium, or darkness. no bedside lamps. no sense of atmosphere or intimacy.

breakfast? I can't even be bothered to go on with the comedy of let downs and forgotten drinks, seating. blah.

room 308. deluxe. don't do it. this is the worse hotel we have stayed in during our month in France. saving grace? 2 friendly/normal staff members out of the perhaps 20 we saw in our stay.

we left after just one night and went to the Hyatt - a real 5* hotel. there was no cancellation charges after we showed the 2 friendly/normal morning receptionists the photos of the bathroom floor...

Stayed: August 2014
6  Thank lauradavidgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Boscolo Exedra, we are really sorry to learn that your stay did not come up to your expectations and we are taking your experience very seriously into consideration. We have already contacted you by email to clarify the situation.
We apologize that you have had to wait for 10 minutes for your room to get ready and we hope you have enjoyed the drinks that have been offered to you as apology for the delay.

Concerning the room, a deluxe room with separate bathroom of 34 square meters, facing the boulevard and booked at a special rate we found your comment on the room not corresponding to reality especially on the design which usually is much appreciated by our guests and the company that has reserved your party which is a frequent client of the Boscolo Exedra, with repeated guests who have always appreciated our hospitality and the style of our hotel. All our rooms have windows, therefore we do not understand your remark that your friends where staying in a room without window.
We regret that you have found some stains in the marble of your bathroom, that gets darker but it is not dirty as it is a natural surface that changes in time and with 10 minutes of treatment with the correct product, done after your departure, the original color returned. We agree with you that we have not been attentive and reactive enough to treat this immediately in the afternoon of your arrival. Regarding the mold, there is no excuse from our part, we should prevent in advance this effect, please consider that our bathrooms are treated on a regular bases in order to prevent such a situation. As already anticipated to the company that booked your room, we have already provided a refund of a part of your hotel bill as a gesture of apologize.

We hope that in the future you will have the possibility to revisit our property to experience a better stay.

Best regards,
Silvio Catalano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Beautiful hotel in the city center, located in a quiet neighbourhood and close to everything. Extremely elegant and luxurious, spectacular design. I loved the white color that was dominating the interior. Lovely art pieces in the lobby.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank norajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We have really appreciated that you have taken the time to express your feedback regarding your stay in our property on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you. Every day the main goal of the management and the staff of the Boscolo Exedra is to reach guest satisfaction, and learning from you that you have found the property and its services corresponding to your expectations is like an award in achieving our task.
Thank you in particular for your positive comments on our beautiful hotel, our location and our elegant and luxurious design.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,

Silvio Catalano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in August 2014.

PRO'S - Great central location. 15 min walk to seafront and old town. Stylist modern looking hotel. Breakfast - seemed a little chaotic at times but offered an excellent choice of options.
Very Clean.
CON'S - Reception staff mixed levels of service. Ladies on the reception desk weren't very helpful and didn't seem to pay much attention to our needs. The male staff on the other hand were very helpful. Consistency of service required. Housekeeping didn't always replace used toiletries. Called reception one evening to help fix problem with safe, but no one answered phone for 5mins, had to actually walk down to the reception to sort the problem out. Bed was a little too firm for our liking but others may like this. Shower unit in the middle of the room was a little strange, we were ok with this but mates sharing a room might find this a little voyeuristic!

Summary - Good location, clean rooms, but not 5 star level of service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

We have really appreciated that you have taken the time to express your feedback regarding your stay in our property on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you. Every day the main goal of the management and the staff of the Boscolo Exedra is to reach guest satisfaction, and learning from you that you have found the property and its services corresponding to your expectations is like an award in achieving our task.

We would like to thank you for your positive comments on our location, our design and your breakfast choice.

Effectively the concept of some of our room are with an open space bathroom (with a separate toilet/bidet which can be closed with a sliding door), this the way the architect has imagined the space in some rooms however we do have rooms with a separate bathroom on demand, next time please feel free to inquire about these rooms if you prefer more privacy.

Please accept our apologies for the missing service attention of our female receptionists and for not picking up the phone. This is not according to our philosophy and we will place more attention in this matter. Please be assured that we will talk with our receptionist in order to avoid that such a situation happens again.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Kind regards,
Silvio Catalano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at Boscolo end of July 2014 for 4 nights.

The entrance is very beautiful, inside is all white and calm and the lobby has a a nice aura.

I had booked a premium room which is 1 level above the normal room because I believe is guarantees you some extra attention, since you are paying more than the average room.

We arrived there at noon 12 o'clock and the room was not ready. They informed that the check in time is at 3pm (every hotel in the world has a 2pm check in, why 3pm Boscolo?).
We left and when we came back at the afternoon at around 7 pm the room they gave us was a very spacious room (which is what I paid for) but with the worst view I have even seen. I had a view of the air conditioner machines!!! For a Premium room!! Not that they other rooms can have an amazing view but at least you get to have a view of the street with the trees outside or the inner dome of the Lobby.

The room was overall clean and very spacious.
Like someone pointed out the shower is visible from the bed which means that you cannot stay with a friend or family. It is strictly couples thing. But overall big Shower. Big toilet room. Clean towels and they also had a series of nice shower gels and stuff like that.

Room service charges you 5€ just to bring you anything regardless of the cost. this 5€ does not include the tip. This is a first as I have been staying in 5 star hotels ever since I was a kid and have never seen a room service to charge you for the service they offer.

Staff was ok in being polite. Nothing special or nothing that makes you feel warm. Just polite.
they charge you €35 per day for parking which is a ripoff. 3' walk (next to the park) is a parking Garage which charged me €15 per day for 5 days of stay.

Location is ok. Not far from the see with a car and not far from the highway if you wan tot visit Cannes or Monaco.

Overall:

+Nice Hotel Design
+Spacious room
+Location

-charge of room service
-charge for parking expensive
-View of the room was terrible

The room i Stayed was 420 and if I got offered to stay in that room again I'd decline. Same should you.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 420, Terrible View
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Boscolo Exedra, we are really sorry to learn that your stay did not come up entirely to your expectations and we are taking your experience very seriously into consideration.

We would like to thank you for your positive comments on our lobby, our cleanliness, our large showers, our location and our large variety of bathroom amenities.

Effectively the concept of some of our room are with an open space bathroom (with a separate toilet/bidet which can be closed with a sliding door), this the way the architect has imagined the space in some rooms however we do have rooms with a separate bathroom on demand, next time please feel free to inquire about these rooms if you prefer more privacy.

Regarding the parking price of 35€, it does not only contain the parking, but also the valet parking service with an availability of 24 hours a day to take and deposit your car as often as you like.

If you wish to have a view of Boulevard Victor Hugo, we recommend you to mention this on your future reservation, we can then do the nescessary to allocate you a room according to your preferences.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Kind regards,
Silvio Catalano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Typically when you pay this kind of money for a hotel it come with exceptional service. We did not feel that we experienced this.

The receptionist brought us to our room and as he was leaving I asked if he could book us a restaurant for dinner with in walking distance. He said "yes" and walked out. When he left I was wondering why he didn't ask me what time or any other clarifying questions. He never got back to us.

It was also simple things like being greeted as we left or when we returned. We were pretty much always ignored. It didn't set a friendly tone.

The rooms are nice enough, but definitely meant for couples as the shower is in the middle of the room. We were actually on our honeymoon, but didn't receive any recognition for it.

One of the stranger things was that there wasn't a wine opener or wine glasses in the room so we called the front to see about getting both. The told us that would be a 5 euro charge. We clarified, "to just use the glasses and opener it's 5 euros?" Yea this was the case. 45 minutes later no one ever showed up. We called back to request again and informed them we wouldn't be paying the 5 euro charge after they had forgotten the first time.

The location is great as you can walk to restaurants and the beach. If the service and staff were better and friendlier I would have given a higher recommendation. We really aren't that hard to please.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jaime F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exedra, General Manager at Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Boscolo Exedra, we are really sorry to learn that your stay did not come up entirely to your expectations and we are taking your experience very seriously into consideration.
Unfortunately we haven’t received any information that you have been on honeymoon, otherwise our standard procedure for honeymooners includes a bottle of Sparkling Wine and Macarons.

We would like to thank you for your positive comments on our location and your rooms.

Effectively the concept of some of our room are with an open space bathroom (with a separate toilet/bidet which can be closed with a sliding door), this the way the architect has imagined the space in some rooms however we do have rooms with a separate bathroom on demand, next time please feel free to inquire about these rooms if you prefer more privacy.

Please accept our apologies for missing service attention that has been given to you. This is not according to our philosophy and we will place more attention in this matter in order to avoid such situations.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay on the French Riviera.

Kind regards,
Silvio Catalano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews