We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A "Must Dine" Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jan

Jan
Ranked #3 of 1,877 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$44 - US$76
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated just behind the old port of Nice, JAN is a small restaurant that welcomes locals as well as visitors from all over the world. JAN being from South Africa adds a touch of South African heritage both on the menu and the wine list. We welcome you to be our guests for an unforgettable experience.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A "Must Dine" Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Highly recommendable!!! From the food, to the staff, to the atmosphere, to the Chef.... All well suited for a memorable dining experience. Thank you Jan!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    125
    46
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of our best dining experiences in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved everything about our dinner here.

The food was innovative, beautifully presented and delicious. The hints of the chef's South African heritage made things particularly unique.

The restaurant itself is beautifully decorated - classy but not over the top.

We enjoyed every course and the menu with matched wines was reasonably priced. The Malva Pudding was the perfect end to the meal and Jan was happy to do a menu which suited our dietary restrictions (seafood and veg only). The Clam and Langoustine Risotto was our favourite savoury dish.

The staff were really friendly but the highlight was getting to meet Jan after dinner when he came around to greet the remaining guests.

Can't wait to return!

Helpful?
Thank Vikash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killorglin, Kerry
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a lovely little restaurant with a great selection of food. I would say that they hVe. Great selection of wines but they are on the pricey side. Jan, the owner/cheof did come out to make all was good, which it was. Nice twist from French cuisine with SA influence.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smcelroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
923 reviews
575 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Cooking and service at the highest level”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The restaurant is not far from the port and was a pleasnt walk for us from our hotel. It's quite noticeable from the outside if you've looked at the photos on TA. The restaurant itself is relatively small as it only sits probably 30 - 35 people - but the tables are sufficiently separated that you don't feel cramped in.

We were welcomed and shown to a table at the back of the restaurant. The decor is simple but classy with some nice music being played in the background. The menu is simple - about 4 options for each of the a la carte courses and a degustation menu - we chose a la carte. The wine list shows the chefs influence with a selection of both French and international wines - mainly South African but we had a nice New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. A fe were available by the glass which is what we did.

Before we started the meal we had a small cauliflower velouté as complements of the chef, some Parmesan coated bread sticks and olives but a freshly made loaf of bread with butter.

For our first course we both ordered the risotto with scallops and langoustine with a champagne foam. It was difficult to fault - beautifully cooked and so tasty. Could have eaten it all night.

For mains my wife had the line caught fish if the day (which was sea bass today) which came beautifully presented with a selection of potatoes and vegetables. I had the fillet of beef which was perfectly cooked and once again looked fantastic on the plate.

Throughout the meal the service was attentive and very efficient without going overboard. Our water was topped up frequently and each dish was described to us as it arrived. All of the staff spoke good English.

We came very close to not ordering dessert as we were quite full but in the end we did make an excellent call and ordered. My wife had Eton Mess (hadn't seen this on a menu outside the UK before) which was simple, light and delicious. I had the chocolate and red berry dessert - I'm not usually into my desserts but this was top notch and one of the best desserts I've ever had - lovely chocolate fondant with a soft runny centre and some lovely raspberry and cherry flavoured accompaniments.

So overall it had been an excellent night - world class cooking and service at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neale1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“well worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Excellent food, great service. Had a perfect wine recommendation. Wanted by the glass and even so it was not on the menue the opened a bottle, perfect match with the delicous meal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RKrieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jan also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Jan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing