We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable & super duper amazing staffs!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Verdun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Verdun
Ranked #92 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Comfortable & super duper amazing staffs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Been in Nice for 3 nights during the Monaco F1 GP. As a friend have stayed here before, she recommended this hotel for us to stay. It was an antique hotel, but it was comfortable. Rooms are cleaned everyday. The location is close to the tram line and next to the Gallerie Lafayette. The room amenities are great.

The staffs are super sweet and kind to us. All of them never failed to greet and chit chat with us everytime we pass by the hotel lobby, especially Mr Ahmed. Very warm and welcoming staffs. Sure to put a smile on your face after a long day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nnadiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    128
    58
    17
    13
See reviews for
58
98
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed here with a friend in April 2014 and we had a lovely stay. On arrival, we climbed the stairs to the first floor reception (not a big deal at all like other reviewers have complained about!) and were greeted by the lovely Aline. We weren't expecting our room to be ready as we arrived in the morning (check-in is usually 2pm) but she provided us with wifi codes, invited us to wait in the hotel lounge and within no time we were in our second floor room!

Pros: The room was basic but neat and very clean. There were 2 single beds, a desk and a small ensuite with a shower, toilet and sink and given the price we paid we were very impressed. The location is excellent, being very close to the main shopping street, beach and transport links. And lastly the staff - so welcoming and helpful!

Cons: Only two - I found the beds a little hard and the towels were a bit coarse, but I was thankful to have them provided as other budget hotels would not.

So, if you're looking for a value hotel in Nice in a great location, you need not look elsewhere! Special thanks to Ahmed and Hugues for their help also.

From the two British girls that kept taking sweets from reception :)

Room Tip: Stayed in room 18 - on the second floor, no view but little outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Travellerxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Myself and two teen daughters stayed here in July 2013. We had a family room which was a room with double bed and another with two single beds. We loved the location - daughters loved being so close to shopping, beach, tram. We also loved the comfortable beds - a big plus as we had not had very good experiences in the other budget hotels we experienced in Italy (beds universally hard). The other great thing was the window double glazing which meant there was virtually no traffic noise. The staff are wonderful - and the lady at reception is particularly lovely.
We didn't bother with breakfast as there are many nice bakeries and cafes close by.
Rooms were clean but look shabby and worn. The linen was crisp and clean. Bathroom was really small - a big person would struggle to use the toilet. Airconditioning worked well. Lift is tiny and will only fit one person and one suitcase - we found it easier to use the stairs. Old style keys and easy to not lock properly. Overall we were very happy and are looking forward to staying there again

Room Tip: Ask about traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NZfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

The initial appearance may be a bit off-putting but don't be discouraged. A warm and friendly owner or staff member awaits your arrival on the first floor. The rooms are a bit dated but clean and the bathrooms (at least ours) are renovated. The cold breakfast buffet is adequate.
I give it 4 stars because of the over-the-top friendliness of the owner/staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you want to pay for luxury then there are plenty of options in Nice for you. If you want a clean hotel with a friendly staff in a good location Hotel de Verdun will be for you. The brown bed spreads are not very attractive but the sheets underneath were crisp and clean. Our bathroom was roomy and clean. The staff was very friendly and was eager to make our stay in Nice pleasant. Our room was on the street which is very busy but with the window shut you could hardly hear a thing. I hope to visit Nice again and I will book my stay at Hotel de Verdun.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Great location . The owner was very friendly and helpful . This city is like the Gold Coast on steroids . The hotel is a little old . Bathroom had been renovated , but was very small , probably only one person per use . Breakfast was ample . Photos on TA are pretty representative .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickA629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night and were happy with everything. The hotel looks tired from the outside, and yes, the reception is on the first floor so you carry your bags up one floor. But...
the hotel is in the best position, one block from the main shopping area/plaza/tram lines, and 10 mins from the waterfront. Our room was on the fourth floor (using the lift) and was spacious, with modern if small bathroom. We had a balcony overlooking the street, but closed the shutters and the glass doors, and only heard a very soft hum from downtown Nice.
The staff are welcoming in French and English, and we found both receptionists friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast was good for €8. WiFi was a little unstable.
Bed was comfy, clean and fresh. Happy to stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#99 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Centre
Hotel Lafayette Nice
Hotel Lafayette Nice
#64 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#101 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Le Seize
Hotel Le Seize
#93 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Centre
Univers Hotel
Univers Hotel
#62 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#131 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Verdun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Verdun

Property: Hotel de Verdun
Address: 49 rue de l Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Verdun 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Verdun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Verdun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing