We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel de Verdun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Verdun
Ranked #94 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly staff”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My parents have stayed here every year for the last few years(sometimes 2-3 times a year), but I've only stayed the once(2009).
During my visit, they were havnig some work done, so it was a little noisy, but not overly so.
The hotel is situated just off Jean de Medicin which, from what I remember, is the main shopping area. Easy access to the beach and trams to take you to parts farther out.
The staff were very friendly, even inviting us on one occasion to share a bottle of whisky with them in the small hours of the morning.
My kind of hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomorewoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    132
    61
    18
    13
See reviews for
59
101
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The location is great,and the staff were so helpful and friendly.Ahmed and Hugh both speak English . We stayed for 9 nights and I grew fonder and fonder of this place.First impression are lots of brown and beige.The rooms were spotlessly clean and the hairdryer worked better than some 5star hotels ! Comfy bed with air conditioning in rooms.
We had breakfast most days and for Nice standards it was good value for money Buffet choice of beautifully fresh croissants ,fruit, yoghurt, cereals,hard boiled eggs, cold meats and cheese,fruit juice coffee .
The only down side is two flights of stairs to get to reception and a very small life to get to upper floors,but if you are fit to climb stairs then no problem.We will definately go back at some time in the future ,

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor if you dont like small lifts and find stairs hard to manage,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The plus side: The room that I got was quiet just as I had asked for. Staff was friendly, very helpful, and knowledgable. The breakfast was worth more than I paid. The hotel is well located in Nice. Based on my experiences, Free wifi worked better than on the average (several base stations).

The minus side: air conditioner lacked functionalities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M2la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Small hotel in central location . Close to beach , Central Plaza and old town. Many restaurants near by. Small bath room. It has elevator for luggage. Break fast is generous. Our children love the breakfast each morning. Owner,Elaine and Raul are great staff. Check in and out are quick and easy. We requested a taxi on Sunday to a train station. An older gentleman call a private driver (his friend?)to take us to the train station. He overcharged us. make sure you get on a taxi (has a meter) or negotiate a fare before get in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitesandbeache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel de Verdun has a great, central location and spacious rooms - even if the bathroom is typically French (very tiny!). This didn't bother me at all though.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel food was good and I would definitely stay here again next time I go to Nice. Very good value, we had a very comfortable stay.

The decor isn't particularly modern, but it was comfortable, clean and still very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genevieve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
185 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A cosy budget hotel with a very friendly staff in the heart of Nice, just 5 minutes of walk from beaches. It is about 15 minutes of walk from the central station and just at the stop of the tram. The room was clean and nice, the bathroom is big, room is equipped with air conditioner. Windows in the room are very good, when you close them you do not hear any noise from the street.
The breakfast costs 10 euros

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadiya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Booked in for 2 nights staying 10. So central to everything we can walk everywhere. The staff are most helpful nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast adequate all u need. Rooms very clean and serviced daily. Highly recommend for good price and great service. Annie & Muz NZ

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieBHawkesBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#71 of 205 in Nice
130 reviews
Centre
Hotel Le Seize
Hotel Le Seize
#97 of 205 in Nice
234 reviews
Centre
Hotel Lafayette Nice
Hotel Lafayette Nice
#75 of 205 in Nice
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Acanthe
Hotel Acanthe
#154 of 205 in Nice
235 reviews
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#103 of 205 in Nice
239 reviews
Star Hotel
#69 of 205 in Nice
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Verdun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Verdun

Property: Hotel de Verdun
Address: 49 rue de l Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Verdun 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Verdun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Verdun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing