We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All these good reviews are accurate.”
Review of Hotel Solara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Solara
Ranked #104 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All these good reviews are accurate.”
Reviewed 1 April 2011

What a great place. We had a very pleasant stay here and definitely recommend this hotel. Very friendly and helpful folks; rooms are clean, comfortable, secure; and the elevator is large enough to carry anything you are likely to have brought on an airplane.

The breakfast served in the room allowed a leisurely way to start the day, good for those of us that take a while to get going in the morning.

This hotel is really an excellent value. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a large balcony with good street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank never_been_to_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    111
    29
    5
    9
See reviews for
29
131
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This hotel is located right on the main shopping/restaurant street, Rue de France. About 5 min walk from the train station and 2 min walk to the beach. Run by a friendly and helpful father & son. Stayed in 2 different rooms as I extended my stay. Rooms on the 4th floor overlook the shopping street. Room on the 5th floor are newly renovated with a terrace balcony. Beds are more comfortable in the new rooms. Bathrooms are really nice too.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coates77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucharest
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2011

staff is helpful, location is good
but the room is very small,old and too small bath
and not very clean room

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venetia14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

This is a budget hotel with small rooms, but the location is excellent and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorinaUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed here for about 4 nights in October 2010 and we absolutely loved it from the tiny elevator (common in many old European buildings) to the huge balcony.

Thiery and his son were friendly and helpful and Thiery was happy to answer our queries before we even arrived in France. Our room was basic but had everything we needed and the balcony was great to return to and watch the sun set. Perfect location, close to the beach, all the main attractions, bakeries, grocery stores, cafes and laundromat. On a main tourist strip but the street is closed to traffic so no problems going to sleep.

On the day that we departed, our train was canceled (strikes against austerity measures) but Thiery was more than happy for us to return and leave our luggage for the day until we could catch another train.

We have stayed in numerous hotels in Europe and highly recommend this hotel for the price, location and friendly service. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelReviewer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Simple, refurbished, good value for money and great balcony.
Very friendly staff, none of the proverbial French rudeness. (I speak French, but equally good service to English speakers). Excellent location, centrally located, everything walking distance. Small rooms but has what you need, nicely redone, great balcony to have a glass and see the sun go down. Excellent value for money in a city that tends to charge ridiculous prices for shabby rooms. Would definetly go again.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sensasix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This hotel was on the fourth floor of a building right in the heart of the main street in the new town. It was a 10 minute walk to through town to the Old Town and the waterfront. It was a very good place to stay overall. Elevator was the size of a small NYC closet though. Run by a Father/Son combo I believe. Very attentive to the rooms and cleanliness.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveaGoodPub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#78 of 204 in Nice
103 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#102 of 204 in Nice
259 reviews
Hotel Albert 1er
#37 of 204 in Nice
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massenet Hotel
#94 of 204 in Nice
296 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#56 of 204 in Nice
508 reviews
Hotel Magnan
#122 of 204 in Nice
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solara

Property: Hotel Solara
Address: 7 rue de France, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Solara 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing