We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Solara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Solara
Ranked #102 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This was a gem of a hotel located in the centre of Nice. Only 2 mins from the beach and restaurants and bars on the same street. We had a top floor room with balcony. Very quite and peaceful. Staff extremely friendly without being in your face. Gave very good recommendations on where to eat and drink. Excellent for a 2 star hotel. Would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends or family.

Room Tip: Worth paying the little extra for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizm19Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

Our 2nd stay here, just as happy as 2 yrs ago. Rooms are on floors 4, 5 scessible as you know by now via a tiny 'vator. 5th floor rooms are sparklingly renovated, and have nice balconies for €10 more. Wonderful central location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Would very much recommend this hotel. The location is superb, the fella who owns it pretty much runs it, and he's quite nice. They have a elevator so you're fine with the hotel being up on the forth or fifth floors. You don't have to eat breakfast there due to nice little coffee shops and such being just out the front door. We had a balcony and those rooms are probably a bit larger; while we didn't look out at the sea it was fun to sit out there and enjoy a glass of wine.
Again, this is a great value in a wonderful city.
Enjoy, Salida1048

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salida1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed at Hotel Solara for two nights in November. The staff are very nice and the location is excellent. The lift, though small, is a very welcome feature, as the hotel is on the upper floors of a larger building. The room was small, but adequate size and had a very nice balcony. We appreciated the small refrigerator. The bathroom was very nice and seemed to be newly renovated. The room did have a mildly unpleasant smell, that likely came from the very strange jute carpet. If the flooring was replaced and the walls painted the room would have been much more pleasant. Over all, however, an excellent value in a great location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WAtravelmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Very good location to wants to be close to the main tourists places, it is not close (but not "far away") from the train station. Specially to singles or couples who do not search for "luxury", but a simple, low price, good location e safe place to sleep, keep your luggages and take shower privately. I myself was alone and on the last floor, with a "terrace", nice view.
Do not recomend if you are with kids, specially more than one.

Room Tip: Choose those which are on the last floor with a "terrace".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WMuniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Hotel Solara is in a brilliant location for exploring Nice without having to pay inflated prices for promenade hotels. Externally the hotel has traditional Riviera louvre shutters.The rooms were tastefully decorated urban chic style with clean up to date en suites, a pleasant surprise from a 2* hotel. The terrace with Room 14, on the top floor, is huge with great views of Rue de France & distant hills. Staff are friendly & helpful. In spite of being right in the town centre above a pedestrian precinct the rooms are quiet at night. The hotel doesn't offer breakfasts but there are loads of places right outside which do. The tiny ancient lift will only take 2 people or 1 + luggage, but it's being upgraded in November 2012. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a terrace for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NippieSweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location in an old building, and is small and friendly. I really enjoyed our stay. Just remember - this is a 2 star hotel. There is nothing fancy or luxurious, aside from the fact that you get a hairdryer in the room (which seems fairly uncommon at the 2-star level). I will definitely stay here again.

One note - the street below may be a little noisy, but we turned on the AC/fan and closed the doors and slept very soundly at night. It wasn't an issue for us at all.

I agree with the others, get a room with a balcony. It is totally worth it. We had room 11 on the corner. In the afternoons, we sat on the balcony and took a break from our long days of walking around the city. Great views!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Will Work for Plane Tickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
0.9 mi away
Flots d'Azur
Flots d'Azur
#93 of 203 in Nice
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Danemark
Hotel Danemark
#78 of 203 in Nice
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#40 of 203 in Nice
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Esprit d'Azur
Hotel Esprit d'Azur
#90 of 203 in Nice
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#106 of 203 in Nice
707 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#48 of 203 in Nice
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solara

Address: 7 rue de France, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £44 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Solara 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing