We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a central position”
Review of Hotel Solara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Solara
Ranked #111 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We stayed here a couple of years ago and decided to give it a try again. If possible get a room with a balcony. Great location, handy for the surrounding restaurants yet not too far to walk to either the bus or train station. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Room is adequate and clean complete with small fridge for wine etc. Given the rates for hotels in Nice, this one is about average pricewise. One slight gripe is that there's only one small wardrobe and no drawer space at all so you might end up living out of your suitcase. - best to take your own coat hangers too as we were sharing 4 between us. Only a small point and that said, we're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpletravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Solara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2010

Our room was adorable with a great view of the pedestrian streets below. We both really liked the security in the hotel as well, being that it is situated at the top of an apartment building. The owner was completely accommodating to every request we had (even letting us use his tool set at one point& helping us with buses) and was everything a hotel owner should be. Would definitely come back here again; we were both very impressed!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauranne00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My husband surprised me with a mini break and we ended up in Nice! Our hotel was right in the centre of town, surrounded by shops, bars and restaurant and amazingly 2 minutes walk from the seafront! The rooms were immaculate and the service very friendly. This is a family run hotel and nothing is too much trouble for the owner and his son. We were directed to good restaurants, lively bars and generally felt very welcome.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we will certainly go back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clochettelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

When we were booking hotels for our trip to France, we wanted to stay in small hotels with charm that were within easy walking distance of where we wanted to be. Hotel Solara fits that bill!!! This hotel is located in the pedestrian area of Nice near lots of restaurants and shopping. This hotel is unique in that it has an older elevator which is good for two passengers or one passenger with luggage. The hotel is located on the 4th floor and is reached either by steps or the small elevator. The rooms are small but had plenty of space for our large suitcases. The bathroom is small but with new fixtures and a nicely tiled wall. We got a room with a balcony and enjoyed watching the birds and smelling the good food. If you are looking for an inexpensive room and a great area, then Hotel Solara is for you!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Me and my husband stand here for a three night break in May 2009.

First of all the location is perfect. You are only a seven minute walk to the beach front and the hotel is based on a main strip.. You can also walk to the train station which was about 10 / 15 minutes away (nice slow stroll)..

The room was of a very good size with a new bathroom which although was small was ideal. We were lucky enough to have a balcony and you could see the mountains in the distance.

The staff at the hotel (i think they may have been father and son) were incredibly helpeful. They were helpful with looking after bags down to directions and maps.

The hotel was very clean and using the small lift was a very nice feature if not a little scary the first time.

We caught the bus from the airport into Nice and the hotel was a short stroll from the bus stop.

We spent one day in monaco and one day in St Rapheal which was beautiful (we caught the train to these locations)..

All in all I would efinitely go back, in fact my husband is staying here again in May 2010 for the Grand Prix.

I wouldnt recommend this hotel for people with children, however for older travellers / couples etc I would say prime location with very comfortable environment.

One let down for us (nothing to do with the hotel) was one restaurant. We had booked to eat at an expensive seaford restaurant however the service appalling and we walked out within 10 minutes.... (if you have a boat and are loaded you seemed to get preferential treatment)..

You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMMADUKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We were due to stop here from 14-18th April but as the volcano errupted...it ended up till the 23rd April. Thierry (the owner) and Jonathan (his son) really helped us out when our flight was cancelled...he kept our room open for us and he let us use the telephone and his internet free of charge to help us out. He also recommended places to visit.
We stopped in room 4 on the ground floor of the hotel for the first week and this was on the front of the hotel...the room was quite old fashioned and very noisy at night...however on the second week he let us move to room 9 and this was on the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor and also had a balcony. This room had been recently done up and was so much quieter.
The location of the hotel is close to the beach and airport bus stop and also lots of restaurants and shops. However if I were to go again to Nice, I think I would choose a hotel in the old part of Nice as this area was alot cleaner and there were nicer cafes/shops nearby.
For the money though...and the friendliness of the owners...you couldn't ask 4 more!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellieha1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I like how another reviewer said "serviceable" to describe the rooms and bathrooms. The room and bathroom were large enough, the sheets were clean and the bathroom was ok clean but things in general were just older with the room needing some maintenance/decorating attention. It was the kind of place my husband and I said "boy what we could do with a place like this". The potential is there but not met. I am not a complete germ phobe but I just had to take a cloth w/ soap and water and wash off all the light switches as they were so darkened with finger prints. We did enjoy our stay here though with no problems.

The owner was great. He helped us arrange a tour, spoke excellent English and was overall very accommodating. We asked about an earlier review mentioning bed bugs and he did not deny but said yes those things happen and went into detail of fumigating the rooms etc. to clear up the problem. And we know they do happen even in 4 star properties as travelers sometime bring them in with them.

The location just cannot be beat. In the heart of everything, yet VERY walkable from the train station (which had hotels nearby but somewhat of a dodgy area). And finally the rate was superb. A safe, reasonably clean room in a great neighborhood for a bargain price is not easy to find so we rate this hotel ok.

A Note for When You Arrive: We knew the hotel was on the 4th floor of what appears to be a residential building but expected a desk or something on the 1st floor. We pushed the outside door open to get in the building, found no signage or desk so we started climbing the stairs but then one flight up the lights went off. We found out the outside door normally stays locked so the correct procedure is to ring the bell outside (which we did not see) and they buzz you in or meet you, but since we got in without them knowing it, we were concerned about what we were walking in to! So be sure to buzz before you come in the building and learn where the light switches are if the motion does not turn the lights on.

Additional Notes:
Laundry and internet point if needed are nearby but expensive! Buy water or snacks at small grocer on the street walking from train station to hotel as nearby all Cokes and water are 3.00 each. Mc Donald's two blocks away if everything else too expensive. We loved the south of France but found it to be even pricier than Paris.

Take a tour or bus into the hill towns around the area... just lovely! Monaco was cool too just to see the wealth and amazing cars. It is only 1.00 to ride the bus there and is a BEAUTIFUL ride! And take time to sit and relax on the promenade. We did, and enjoyed it more than we would have thought.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcalmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#78 of 204 in Nice
105 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#56 of 204 in Nice
512 reviews
Hotel Albert 1er
#37 of 204 in Nice
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massenet Hotel
#97 of 204 in Nice
296 reviews
Flots d'Azur
#89 of 204 in Nice
72 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel le Petit Trianon
Hotel le Petit Trianon
#139 of 204 in Nice
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solara

Address: 7 rue de France, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £47 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Solara 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing