We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hotel Solara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Solara
Ranked #104 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I've stayed in many hotels in Nice and this one beats them all for practicality, locality, service etc. If you are going to Nice for a few days and just need a base with a modern, clean room...no frills but everything you need, then this hotel is simply perfect.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzarinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    111
    29
    5
    9
See reviews for
29
131
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I would not recommend this hotel if it did not have the 5th floor rooms with terraces. They DO make a difference. The rooms are very small but have what you would need for a shorter stay in a city. And again you will spend most of the time on the terrace/balcony. Stayed in a single room (Room number 12). Hotel is clean, bathroom is small, separate shower cabin in the room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shipping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We stayed here a couple of years ago and decided to give it a try again. If possible get a room with a balcony. Great location, handy for the surrounding restaurants yet not too far to walk to either the bus or train station. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Room is adequate and clean complete with small fridge for wine etc. Given the rates for hotels in Nice, this one is about average pricewise. One slight gripe is that there's only one small wardrobe and no drawer space at all so you might end up living out of your suitcase. - best to take your own coat hangers too as we were sharing 4 between us. Only a small point and that said, we're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpletravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Our room was adorable with a great view of the pedestrian streets below. We both really liked the security in the hotel as well, being that it is situated at the top of an apartment building. The owner was completely accommodating to every request we had (even letting us use his tool set at one point& helping us with buses) and was everything a hotel owner should be. Would definitely come back here again; we were both very impressed!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauranne00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My husband surprised me with a mini break and we ended up in Nice! Our hotel was right in the centre of town, surrounded by shops, bars and restaurant and amazingly 2 minutes walk from the seafront! The rooms were immaculate and the service very friendly. This is a family run hotel and nothing is too much trouble for the owner and his son. We were directed to good restaurants, lively bars and generally felt very welcome.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we will certainly go back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clochettelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

When we were booking hotels for our trip to France, we wanted to stay in small hotels with charm that were within easy walking distance of where we wanted to be. Hotel Solara fits that bill!!! This hotel is located in the pedestrian area of Nice near lots of restaurants and shopping. This hotel is unique in that it has an older elevator which is good for two passengers or one passenger with luggage. The hotel is located on the 4th floor and is reached either by steps or the small elevator. The rooms are small but had plenty of space for our large suitcases. The bathroom is small but with new fixtures and a nicely tiled wall. We got a room with a balcony and enjoyed watching the birds and smelling the good food. If you are looking for an inexpensive room and a great area, then Hotel Solara is for you!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Me and my husband stand here for a three night break in May 2009.

First of all the location is perfect. You are only a seven minute walk to the beach front and the hotel is based on a main strip.. You can also walk to the train station which was about 10 / 15 minutes away (nice slow stroll)..

The room was of a very good size with a new bathroom which although was small was ideal. We were lucky enough to have a balcony and you could see the mountains in the distance.

The staff at the hotel (i think they may have been father and son) were incredibly helpeful. They were helpful with looking after bags down to directions and maps.

The hotel was very clean and using the small lift was a very nice feature if not a little scary the first time.

We caught the bus from the airport into Nice and the hotel was a short stroll from the bus stop.

We spent one day in monaco and one day in St Rapheal which was beautiful (we caught the train to these locations)..

All in all I would efinitely go back, in fact my husband is staying here again in May 2010 for the Grand Prix.

I wouldnt recommend this hotel for people with children, however for older travellers / couples etc I would say prime location with very comfortable environment.

One let down for us (nothing to do with the hotel) was one restaurant. We had booked to eat at an expensive seaford restaurant however the service appalling and we walked out within 10 minutes.... (if you have a boat and are loaded you seemed to get preferential treatment)..

You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMMADUKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#76 of 204 in Nice
102 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#108 of 204 in Nice
259 reviews
Hotel Albert 1er
#38 of 204 in Nice
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massenet Hotel
#95 of 204 in Nice
296 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#56 of 204 in Nice
507 reviews
Hotel Magnan
#116 of 204 in Nice
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solara

Property: Hotel Solara
Address: 7 rue de France, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Solara 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing